We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, cheap, cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
1 review
“Friendly, cheap, cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading the reviews on this site, myself and my five friends were regretting our decision to book the holiday village through the sun holiday scheme. We arrived, the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful with sorting our accommodation. We were in a bronze chalet due for refurbishment, but it was clean, airy and we found no faults after our close inspection. There was no shower, but that was easily solved with a trip to reception for an adaptor. The evening entertainment wasn't amazing, probably due to the schools still being in session, but the staff were friendly and did their best to include everyone in the audience.
Going to town cost £2 per person in a 6seater taxi we got from reception or £4 return on the bus, takes about 10minutes, so not as far as people made out on here.

I can't fault the place, at the end of the day we wanted somewhere pleasant close to st Ives and that's exactly what we got. You can't expect to pay hardly anything then stay at the ritz. I'd stay there again, we all really enjoyed our stay at st Ives holiday village.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amypo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    215
    131
    75
    231
See reviews for
495
174
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset,UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned home from our Mon-Fri holiday with JFH @ the St Ives holiday park.
I would have loved to say we enjoyed our stay & our accommodation was fantastic,unfortunately I cant.
On our 4pm arrival our accommodation wasn't ready & had to wait untill nearly 4.30pm which in itself was not a problem & we realy didn't mind the wait.
Once we got to our lodge the outside the lodge was filthy,inside looked ok but kettle was half full of water the bread bin,washing up bowl & kettle were dirty as was the shower tray.
There were also cobwebs in the shower cubicle & a bit of a plant growing through the skirting board!

It was booked for 4 adults yet only had seating for 3,1 single chair & a 2 seater sofa that was like sitting on a slab of concrete.
My daughter badly injured her finger's when they got trapped under the seat of the dining chair she was sitting on, she moved her chair forward the seat popped off & her fingers got caught underneath,she was in agony.

The lodge was dismal & extremely poorly lit.
Everyday you woke up & it was very depressingly dim,even with all the lights on.
I think the bulbs must have all been 10watts.
It realy was depressing.

We are NOT fussy people & always holiday with Sun holiday tokens.
We look at it that we pay for budget accommodation as we just use accommodation as somewhere to eat & sleep & never use on site facilities as we are out in the morning by 8am & dont come back untill nightfall so no point in upgrading.

But this was dismal.
Outdated accomodation/fixtures & fittings.
But we have been to Ilfracome,Trelawne Manor & combe martin & all of their accommodation is very outdated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetlady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. The lodges on the St Ives Holiday Village only take full week bookings not short breaks, so we can assume from that you were not staying in a lodge.

It is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home, however, I will be contacting through the Tripadvisor messaging service to discover precisely where you where staying and see what we can do to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Ives hotels

uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed july 1 2013 the chalet had been clean and was addequte but the windows were filthey so were the roofs.the steps very slippy has my son found out when fell down them not much on the site and need a car to get about was quite but needs a lot of updating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We explain in our brochure and on the website that St Ives is a car drive away - that we are not actually right in St Ives

With regard to the accommodation, no doubt you noticed that the park is in the midst of a complete rebuild. Many of the older chalets are being demolished and replaced with fantastic new lodges. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in Woodland Lodge 301, and booked a year ago with our dog. We payed an extra £40 for her but on arrival we were told that we should say if we are bringing a dog, I did try to say but we were made to feel like we had done wrong! That said - the lodge we had was number 301 - right on the roundabout, and was detached in its' own grounds. It was clean, tidy, quiet and we had a great week, with an en unite to double bedroom. The bedrooms were downstairs and always very cold, and every time we walked upstairs the floorboards creaked. Every night I heard the floor boards creak, while we're all in bed with all doors and windows locked. Also we kept smelling matches, and had a total power cut on thevThursday am. The electrician said that he didn't understand the reason for it as no-one else had any issues. On Friday pm (28 June) I was hoovering downstairs and saw a tall dark shape from the corner of my eye 3 times, and on Sat am my extremely sceptical brother said he was awakened at 4 am to the sound of a child running up and down stairs over his room - and our dog was sitting at the bottom of our bed looking up! I emailed John Fowler holidays to ak if hey had had any other comments, but they haven't replied, so if you fancy a haunted week (nothing bad happened!) request 301 at St Ives Holday Village! Take your camera, you never know! This is a true report - we never felt threatened!

Room Tip: 301 for a haunted stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review - we really appreciate it.

I am fascinated by your "hauntings" - this is the first time I have heard of any such happenings at our St Ives Holiday Village.

The fact that you did not feel threatened prompts me to speculate as to whether you actually brought the extra person with you from Cheshire.

There is a simple way to test that theory - come back and stay with us again. At least you will know what to expect next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend Break free break. Our accommodation (a detached 1970s style chalet) was clean, the woodland setting is beautiful (we saw fox cubs and rabbits). There is a bus which runs all day from the site to either St Ives or Penzance. I can understand that during cold wet weather it must be difficult to keep the chalets free from damp as there is a canopy of trees overhead, however this wasn't a problem last weekend. I can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't pay for the pass, but the staff I spoke to on reception were polite and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgmdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After travelling over 6 hrs we arrived at 3.10 check in was supposedly 4pm accommodation was not available until 4.40 awaiting cleaning. On arrival the bungalow was surrounded by a mass of weeds/stinging needles which we had to keep our 2 yr old grandson away from, broken picnic table just left broken on grass verge next to our bungalow, curtains hanging off rail, windows filthy, large cobwebs everywhere, toilet dirty, under bed extremely dusty, spiders in lighting, glasses dirty, oven left over food and grease still in grill (chips etc, beds like sleeping on a blank of wood, furniture pull out bed was very old, worn and smelly. Asked for a cot, but did not fit in any bedroom rooms too small. Restaurant/takeaway food not available until 6pm. This was very upsetting as we were looking forward to our first holiday with our grandson - would never step foot in any of John Folwer's Holiday Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeyL186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues, discover why they had such poor holiday and see what we could do to help. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and can only assume that perhaps their stay was not as bad as they first indicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed in St Ives harbour for the last few years, but the property was not available this year and I was made redundant! We decided to book here through the Sun holidays, but later upgraded to a week stay. My parents also joined us. We managed to get two chalets together. On entering the chalets, I was expecting them to be the same as 20 years ago, when I first stayed here. I must say, in many ways they are, but the leather sofas and flat screen tv were great and many appliances were new in the kitchen. The cooker was very basic and needs replacing, but we never even used it!
We have always stayed places but never taken our three children to the clubhouse. We went every night and played bingo and watched the entertainment and that is what made our week. The kids loved the games and especially the Stripey entertainment team. These are young people who work their socks off to entertain, but are also excellent entertainers and very friendly. Paul is an excellent vocalist and Anne Marie is a gifted dancer. They deserve the credit for any good reviews on this site as they re-introduced us as grandparents and parents to the power of the traditional family holiday. A budget holiday with 5 star entertainers. Go Stripeys- Good old Freddy the Fox!

Room Tip: If you want 5 star accommodation, be prepared to pay 5 star price and go elsewhere. However if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAPP127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Property: St. Ives Holiday Village
Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing