We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was not as bad, as others had made out!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ives Holiday Village

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was not as bad, as others had made out!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked a 4 night away at st Ives holiday village on the 9th July 2012 - 13th July 2012, and my i start by saying that i had drove all the way from Cambridge to Cornwall - and we was far from impressed, we arrived at the site at round about 3pm knowing we could not clock in till 4pm, so while we waited we had a quick look round the site (although there was not much to see or do) However while we was waiting we had a walk round the woodland walk (which should be known as the muddy, get dirty walk) you would sink in the mud walking through the walk, we stepped about 6 steps in and turned around and had to go and fine something else to do! some went and had a drink while we waited, the only staff we saw that day was the grumpy women at reception, however it was 4pm so we went to collect are keys to clock in and i have to say we stayed in a gold and my other family stayed in a silver and the silver was 10 times better, although everything worked in our cabin apart from the shower and the lack of heating and working radiators, mine nor my family's accomadatoin smelt damp or was unclean both cabins where clean and tidy when we arrived, That evening we went to the family entertainment and that was great, the staff really interacted with my kids, my only other dought was the swimming pool as that was open at from 10 - 12 and then 2 - 3?, the park was rubbish looked like it was going to break any time soon, and the other thing was the arcade, there was no 2p games there and to be honest most of the amusements where out of order, the park needs a compleate makeover, the broucher is a book of lies theonly thing thats in that book that is not a lie is "due for referbisment" untill it has a make over and looks half decent i will not be going back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom79186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an interesting review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and our entertainments team will be especially delighted to read your thoughts.

With regard to the woodland walk, the paths have been left exactly as nature has created, and will, of course, be muddy when the weather is wet. To change this with the addition of concrete or tarmac, would totally ruin the ambiance of the park, which I feel sure would upset many of our regular guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    211
    131
    75
    228
See reviews for
486
173
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,076 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,031 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and although we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves we did have a damp issue and had several little bugs in the bathroom but i suppose this is to be expected considering we backed onto the woods.Its a very rustic type place and when we complained to john fowler about this they were excellent and refunded us 25% of our payment.Would stay again.This place is really handily placed for st ives paradise park and the tyringham arms up the road which is a great pub!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. Your comments have been passed to all departments. .

With regard to the damp smell we are well aware of the reason but sadly there is very little we can do about it. It is such a shame that some people will occupy a holiday unit and not open a window for the duration of their stay. This was probably the case with the previous occupants of the chalet you stayed in. Cooking and sleeping with windows closed will slowly take its toll - especially in Devon and Cornwall where the atmosphere is usually very humid. I think we all know what happens when a property is not regularly aired.
However, we hope that it did not spoil your holiday and we really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We travelled here in April last year and must be said we had an enjoyable week at a very good price. Arrived early and were able to gain access to our chalets a couple of hours earlier than the stated time, which was good. First impressions of the park is that it was very much like any other large holiday park in the UK, though in a pleasant woodland setting.

The chalet itself was ok, we booked 2 silver chalets. One had new sofas, the other had a very old sofa that was on it's last legs and a couple of small bucket type armchairs. Other than this there was a large dining table and chairs, well equipped kitchen and 2 decent size bedrooms. Bed wasn't particularly comfortable, and it was sometimes a struggle to keep the chalet warm for any great period of time. Shower room was fairly standard and pretty clean though getting enough hot water for more than 1 shower was also very tough... we also found it difficult to get the water temperature to a point between scalding and freezing though ended up managing it each time. Double glazing was a bonus, we did see chalets that must have been bronze or budget level and they did look pretty miserable from the outside. Parking also wasn't easy. 2 spaces outside a courtyard of 3 chalets doesn't go, so would sometimes have a bit of a trek to the car.

Facilities on site were decent enough, the pool was good with a waterslide and a sauna. Unfortunately it was shut for a few days though I gather this was due to an incident caused by a guest rather than the park's fault. The shop wasn't cheap and wasn't always well stocked. I didn't find the bar that expensive, and service there was good. Takeaway food was standard fayre and not too bad, but overpriced in my opinion. Entertainment was mostly pretty good and we all enjoyed it! Half the games in the arcade were out of order when we visited. The play area wasn't large but was good, my little girl enjoyed it.

Overall I'd go back if I could get a cheap deal. St Ives is really good and the park is well located to visit many places, and it really isn't as bad as made out.

Room Tip: Don't go for budget/bronze accommodation if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fair review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments - everyone will be pleased to read your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

To be honest, the pictures they show on website etc do not reflect the reality of the site, which is a shame as I would of known what to of expected and avoided the heart sinking disappointment.
The chalet was ok seeing as we brought our dog, we had issues with various things but to be fair maintenance did attend quite promptly. For a sun holiday the chalet was quite acceptable however one tiny heater made it very very cold. Had to move it between rooms.
Outside of chalet looked run down, dirty windows, cobwebs everywhere, and as it rained all week the path was very very slippy resulting in myself slipping over. Seemed little point in complaining as all chalets looked identical.
The indoor pool was cold but ok, no one else using it so changing rooms were clean.
The entertainment area was very dated and entertainment below average, you could see they were trying but very repetitive and very little for adults.
All I heard all week was people saying they were very disappointed and were leaving early. We managed to stay to the end of our holiday after much discussion but only by leaving park early in morning and not returning until evening.
Staff in shop clearly didn't want to be there and one assistant could barely drag herself from her mobile phone to serve me.
Staff use golf buggies to get around and clearly have little consideration to pedestrians walking, they race around like idiots and we witnessed two actually racing each other.
It rained all week which always puts a downer on things but I would imagine its a dreary place no matter the weather. Please visit and make your assumption but do not be fooled by the pretty pictures of the chalets. They are not a true representation of 90% of the park.
The manager states that people return year after year, I can only assume these people have relivity low standards and expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah83724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park.

If the park was really as bad as you say then thousands of families would not return to us year after year.

We are a family business, having been in existence for well over 50 years. We are well renowned for our customer service and this is borne out in our extremely high repeat bookings – we can boast clients who have been with us for up to 30 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place was family friendly, a little run down but fine for a short, last minute break in Cornwall. Our lodge was clean, with everything we needed. Sure, we could nitpick but ~£200 for 7 nights... I'm sorry you negative guys but come on, what do you expect?
The real test is "would we go back?"... "probably" is the the closest answer we could give.

Incidentally I really wanted to express my admiration for the "Stripeys" We stayed the last week of the season which included Haloween. These guys did a first class job, some real talent effortlessly shown. Good luck for the 2013 season!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsf_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such an excellent review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. It is such a shame that an international company, such as Tripadvisor, publish these reviews without first checking their validity. I think the writers and the publishers should realise that this helps no one.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would say that my experience with John Fowler holidays is overall average this entertainment is amusing. However the accommodation was very poor. Couldn't shut or open windows properly and they were very old. It was very mouldy and damp only one small electric heaters for 5 of us. We found an empty bottle of vodka in the bedroom and a proper door on the bathroom would be an idea. The outside of the chalet is slippery and a bit dangerous exposed brickwork and it was covered in moss alsothe roof had vegetation on it. I did not visit the pool andI found the shop was expensive and empty.I'm definitely a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richieb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay and it was fantastic..The chalet was clean and tidy no damp or mould anywhere.Plenty of hot water and heating.A big thankyou to the management for replacing the kitchen light fitting so that it was brighter to see to cook.A big big thankyou to the stripeys sammie,kaci,frankie,lucy and james you were all so friendly and work very hard to make peoples holiday a good one.For the people who moaned about the same people doing the game shows all the time there was nothing stopping you putting your hand up.
A big thankyou also to Mat who made us feel very welcome.The pool attendants were amazing and very friendly.The heater broke but was fixed within a day.We have booked again for next year and that will be our 5th year running.Great places to visit in the area Playzone being one of them only 10 minutes down the road.once again thankyou to all the stripeys and the staff.looking forward to seeing you all in 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baznkriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.7 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Property: St. Ives Holiday Village
Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing