We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some have made out but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #23 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We travelled here in April last year and must be said we had an enjoyable week at a very good price. Arrived early and were able to gain access to our chalets a couple of hours earlier than the stated time, which was good. First impressions of the park is that it was very much like any other large holiday park in the UK, though in a pleasant woodland setting.

The chalet itself was ok, we booked 2 silver chalets. One had new sofas, the other had a very old sofa that was on it's last legs and a couple of small bucket type armchairs. Other than this there was a large dining table and chairs, well equipped kitchen and 2 decent size bedrooms. Bed wasn't particularly comfortable, and it was sometimes a struggle to keep the chalet warm for any great period of time. Shower room was fairly standard and pretty clean though getting enough hot water for more than 1 shower was also very tough... we also found it difficult to get the water temperature to a point between scalding and freezing though ended up managing it each time. Double glazing was a bonus, we did see chalets that must have been bronze or budget level and they did look pretty miserable from the outside. Parking also wasn't easy. 2 spaces outside a courtyard of 3 chalets doesn't go, so would sometimes have a bit of a trek to the car.

Facilities on site were decent enough, the pool was good with a waterslide and a sauna. Unfortunately it was shut for a few days though I gather this was due to an incident caused by a guest rather than the park's fault. The shop wasn't cheap and wasn't always well stocked. I didn't find the bar that expensive, and service there was good. Takeaway food was standard fayre and not too bad, but overpriced in my opinion. Entertainment was mostly pretty good and we all enjoyed it! Half the games in the arcade were out of order when we visited. The play area wasn't large but was good, my little girl enjoyed it.

Overall I'd go back if I could get a cheap deal. St Ives is really good and the park is well located to visit many places, and it really isn't as bad as made out.

Room Tip: Don't go for budget/bronze accommodation if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fair review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments - everyone will be pleased to read your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

To be honest, the pictures they show on website etc do not reflect the reality of the site, which is a shame as I would of known what to of expected and avoided the heart sinking disappointment.
The chalet was ok seeing as we brought our dog, we had issues with various things but to be fair maintenance did attend quite promptly. For a sun holiday the chalet was quite acceptable however one tiny heater made it very very cold. Had to move it between rooms.
Outside of chalet looked run down, dirty windows, cobwebs everywhere, and as it rained all week the path was very very slippy resulting in myself slipping over. Seemed little point in complaining as all chalets looked identical.
The indoor pool was cold but ok, no one else using it so changing rooms were clean.
The entertainment area was very dated and entertainment below average, you could see they were trying but very repetitive and very little for adults.
All I heard all week was people saying they were very disappointed and were leaving early. We managed to stay to the end of our holiday after much discussion but only by leaving park early in morning and not returning until evening.
Staff in shop clearly didn't want to be there and one assistant could barely drag herself from her mobile phone to serve me.
Staff use golf buggies to get around and clearly have little consideration to pedestrians walking, they race around like idiots and we witnessed two actually racing each other.
It rained all week which always puts a downer on things but I would imagine its a dreary place no matter the weather. Please visit and make your assumption but do not be fooled by the pretty pictures of the chalets. They are not a true representation of 90% of the park.
The manager states that people return year after year, I can only assume these people have relivity low standards and expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah83724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park.

If the park was really as bad as you say then thousands of families would not return to us year after year.

We are a family business, having been in existence for well over 50 years. We are well renowned for our customer service and this is borne out in our extremely high repeat bookings – we can boast clients who have been with us for up to 30 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place was family friendly, a little run down but fine for a short, last minute break in Cornwall. Our lodge was clean, with everything we needed. Sure, we could nitpick but ~£200 for 7 nights... I'm sorry you negative guys but come on, what do you expect?
The real test is "would we go back?"... "probably" is the the closest answer we could give.

Incidentally I really wanted to express my admiration for the "Stripeys" We stayed the last week of the season which included Haloween. These guys did a first class job, some real talent effortlessly shown. Good luck for the 2013 season!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lsf_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such an excellent review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. It is such a shame that an international company, such as Tripadvisor, publish these reviews without first checking their validity. I think the writers and the publishers should realise that this helps no one.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would say that my experience with John Fowler holidays is overall average this entertainment is amusing. However the accommodation was very poor. Couldn't shut or open windows properly and they were very old. It was very mouldy and damp only one small electric heaters for 5 of us. We found an empty bottle of vodka in the bedroom and a proper door on the bathroom would be an idea. The outside of the chalet is slippery and a bit dangerous exposed brickwork and it was covered in moss alsothe roof had vegetation on it. I did not visit the pool andI found the shop was expensive and empty.I'm definitely a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richieb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week stay and it was fantastic..The chalet was clean and tidy no damp or mould anywhere.Plenty of hot water and heating.A big thankyou to the management for replacing the kitchen light fitting so that it was brighter to see to cook.A big big thankyou to the stripeys sammie,kaci,frankie,lucy and james you were all so friendly and work very hard to make peoples holiday a good one.For the people who moaned about the same people doing the game shows all the time there was nothing stopping you putting your hand up.
A big thankyou also to Mat who made us feel very welcome.The pool attendants were amazing and very friendly.The heater broke but was fixed within a day.We have booked again for next year and that will be our 5th year running.Great places to visit in the area Playzone being one of them only 10 minutes down the road.once again thankyou to all the stripeys and the staff.looking forward to seeing you all in 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baznkriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at St Ives holiday village for a week and would like to tell everyone how pleasant it was. Firstly the staff are so helpful with welcome packs being handed out upon arrival, all questions we had were answered with enthusiasm and experience. We were dubious about the accommodation after reading so many negative comments on this site. We stayed at 195 which is a Treva Croft bungalow and were overwhelmed by our accommodation. It was clean, warm, double glazed and had a flat screen tv in both bedrooms and the lounge. The bungalow was really well equipped with decent cutlery and all the pots and pans we have at home, there were even board games and cards supplied for when the tv got boring! It was nice to be able to sit outside on the decked area around a bench table as well as having 2 garden chairs to use if we wanted to sit elsewhere.

From talking to some of the other holiday makers not all of the units have the same equipment, although no one had anything really negative to say and all enjoyed their stay!

The park itself is in a fantastic setting and is so quiet in late evening / early morning and the woodland walks are amazing. Such a good base to explore the best of Cornwall. The entertainment is great but if you want a quieter night, the Watermill public house is situated less than a mile away with great food and drinks. Scarlets is just a bit further on and have a great offering of Organic breakfasts and great Tapas in the evening.

Really glad I didn't let the negative reviews of this place affect my judgement as if I had I would have missed a really good and friendly place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask if the staff can recommend a better maintained / higher quality unit and if so ask for that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james_1977_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. It is such a shame that an international company, such as Tripadvisor, publish these reviews without first checking their validity. I think the writers and the publishers should realise that this helps no one.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

With a party of twenty two of us staying at this park half term week what a greatt week it was.We stayed in the WOODLAND LODGE .What a lovely huge accommodation,clean ,tidy and warm heaters all around.Beds were a bit hard but never mind.Entertainment staff friendly and helpful. Pity people didn't take part in the games at night in stead of moaning ,how much more harder to the staff have to work apart from dragging people up to take part .Park does need updating but there are lot of lovely places to see while you are in Cornwall so it's a small price to pay.At the end of the day it's what you make of the holiday that counts.Keep up the great work entertainment staff ,see you next year .Also all the park staff well done.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay in WOODLAND LODGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
16.3 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: $60 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing