We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful chic apartment with friendly hosts”
Review of Seaforth B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaforth B&B
Ranked #6 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We found this place througha recommendation at very short notice, and struck gold. Seaforth is a B&B but the lower ground floor is an apartment decorated just as we would like our own house, rustic chic with walls painted in shades of grays, quality vases and antique furniture with nods to its seaside location such as a huge bowl of shells.

There is a lovely bedroom,bathroom, lounge and large kitchen/dining room and its right in the centre of St Ives. Carl was very helpful adn there is also wifi and a decent TV in the lounge and another in the bedroom.

The only negatives are you have to park in the train station car park, but the hotel has permanent places so there is no payment required. We had two young children and we were concerned we would break something, I guess this place was not really designed with children in mind, but we had no accidents. The children slept in the main bedroom and we slept in the lounge , the boiler in the kitchen was rather noisy and seemed to be on 24 hours a day and we could hear it when we went to sleep. But I mentioned this to Carl and he said they had a plumber booked so hopefully no longer a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 406 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

Chanced apon this little gem of a b&b on arrival in St Ives in March of this yesr. It was very much an ad hoc visit, as we wandered around looking for somewhere to stay, a  litle note on the front door of Seaforth inviting a call took my eye  I'm really  glad I rung the number, what a marvelous house ! We were so knocked out with  the general ambience and decor and decided after a brief amble  around the town to get a bottle of wine and stay in our room for the evening. Most boarding houses are just functional ways of getting somewhere to  stay for the night. Carl  and Debbie out offering something a bit different they were welcoming, knowledgable and really helpful with regards visiting the Tate and Barbara Hepworth exibitions. Our room was most impressive two huge bay windows 
breathtaking view of the beach  a supersize double bed, fridge and the sort of decor straight out of the style magazines. They have gone to a lot of trouble to create an atmoshere.  in the morning seduce us with a trail of candles to the dining room with 'Buddah Bar ' playing on the CD. Great cooked breakfast  including a scrambled egg atop a crumpet! a nice  touch.  The whole house is peppered with object d'art, paintings and a gargantuan mirror in the hall really commands attention.
   
All in all highly recommended if you want an atmospheric stay in a boarding house with real style  

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zolaczakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights over the Valentines celebrations. On our bed was a big heart shaped decoration finished off with liquer chocolates in the middle.. It made the day more special. We had free entrance to the Tate Gallery and Barbara Hepworth which was a huge saving and a must for art lovers. Our breakfast was again fantastic and I highly recommend this boutique B&B to any traveller to St Ives.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozziedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The title says it all so there's not much more to say but I'll try.
Debbie and Carl are the perfect hosts, nothing is to much trouble for them with smiles that I am sure last all year round. Advice and recommendations of where to visit are spot on and the road map they leant us was certainly needeed.
Breakfast is wounderful with a full English cooked to perfection and with fruit and cereals if thats what you prefer.
The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated with a view of the habour.
The only thing that ruined it was I would have prefered a bit more sun but it was November and not even Debbie or Carl could help with that although it was the only thing they couldn't help with.
We will definately be visiting again and are already making plans for 2 more trips, one will also be with the 2 children.
Book as soon as you can and you won't be disappointed.
Thank you very much Debbie and Carl

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameseate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

On some rare occasions you discover a gem like this place, and you are actually reluctant to share it with anyone, in case it becomes too popular and gets overrun. This charming B&B is situated close to St Ives station, and a short walk to anywhere in town. We stayed in eight different hotels/B&B's during our recent U.K tour, and this was by far the nicest place. Debbie and Carl and wonderful hosts, and really went the extra mile to ensure our stay was pleasant, the room with a view was magnificent, and we just didn't want to leave. Next visit to the U.K and we will definitely be scheduling another visit to beautiful St.Ives, if only to be pampered again at this lovely property (nice breakfasts too, by the way)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Every aspect of this B&B is excellent, from the location, to the views to the breakfasts. But in particular the helpfullness and friendliness of the owners really sets this place apart. Nothing was too much and they went out of their way to not only make our stay comfortable, but also help us make the most of our time in St Ives. As someone who turned up without concrete plans for my stay, Debbie and Carl were full of reccomendations, tips and even helped us with booking trips! I'd certainly recommend this place to anyone who wants a good holiday!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Mister_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

There is not too much that needs saying about this B&B other than it is fantastic! The hosts are lovely, the rooms beautiful and the view from the bedroom windows is breathtaking! We could have sat in the bay window with a glass of wine forever watching the tide come in and go out. Wonderful breakfast too!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngDav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No4 St Ives
No4 St Ives
#7 of 102 in St Ives
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaforth B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaforth B&B

Address: Sea Forth Skidden Hill | Cornwall, St Ives TR26 2DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $70 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaforth Boutique B & B Offers you amazing seaviews from your room overlooking St Ives Bay and the surrounding beaches.All of our rooms have fridges providing you with water and fresh milk for your complimentary tea and coffee making facility,or to chill your favourite wine or beer.We offer a choice of freshly prepared cooked breakfasts.Our Guesthouse is less than a mins walk from the seafront, superb restaurants,bars and art galleries. You also have the wonderful Barbara Hepworth Museum, St Ives Museum and The Leach Pottery which are all worth a visit.Seaforth is the perfect base to explore the southwest coast and all it has to offer. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaforth Hotel St Ives
Seaforth B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing