We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Polmanter Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We are fairly new to caravaning and this is by far the best site we have stayed on.
The ambience of the site, the quality of the pitches and the toilet blocks, especially the private cubicles, were all excellent.
We ate once in the restaurant and it was a generous portion and top quality.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 389 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

2nd visit here.well maintained,clean and very friendly park with swimming pool and restaurant/bar(the meals are huge and good value)very dog friendly.The shower blocks and toilets are spotless.Only a couple mile drive in to St ives(a bus stops outside park).There is also an on site shop and games room.Well worth visiting.The pitches are of a very good size also.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevjip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We try to visit this site most years, we live just outside of bristol and it takes about 4 hours to get there, but is well worth the stay. Its a lovely site with great views as well as excellent amenities, ie shop on site, outside pool, childrens play area, tennis courts, mini golf course, laundrette, toilet/shower blocks one that is recently new and very nice. there is a bus that takes you down to the town/beach and back again depending on time of year for a small fee. However there is a lovely walk you can take down to the town through the fields and down some winding rural road as it is all down hill and we usually catch the bus back up. The site is not cheap to stay on but it is very nice and the staff are excellent and very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philandlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We've stayed at Polmanter for the last 10 years every Summer, only missing last Summer because instead we were busy getting married at the lovely Tregenna Castle nearby!

I couldn't fault Polmanter, 10 years camping and 10 happy years. We're back again this Summer, on a serviced pitch for the first time (damn those iPhones and their lack of battery).

The toilet facilities cannot be faulted, clean and lovely. The on site bar and restaurant are good, the takeaway a little random in it's opening times, the pool is lovely.

The view, on a good day, from the park is amazing - you can see all the way down to St Ives, the bay and the sea.

The bus service which services the park is excellent, although we have seen the price increase considerably over the 10 years we've been going - I suppose that's the same as bus services everywhere.

Overall we've never considered anywhere else in St Ives, and unless something drastically changes I don't think we ever will.

Go (if you can get a booking - it's a very popular park) and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The best pitches are in Morvah and Levant near the new toilet blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have come here for the past 3 years....every time has been a pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helliebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Polmanter for 4 nights this week and it was pretty empty so we had a good choice of plots. The views were excellent, the toilets and hot showers were very clean and well looked after and the price was good value.
Only a 30 minute walk to St Ives and a nice local pub round the corner for dinner.
All in all an excellent time camping at Polmanter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LozzaKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at Polmanter for a week just prior to the school holidays starting. The site is well run and friendly. We had to change pitches, as when we pulled the caravan onto the pitch we found it at such a slope that we would not have been able to peg the awning down! However, this issue was resolved rather swiftly and we ended up at the top part of Rosewall. These pitches probably have the best views of the sea on the whole site. They are multi serviced and hardstandings, however they do look at little more hastily put together than the rest of the site. There was no proper division between the hardstandings and the small amount of grass inbetween, and although this may have been more costly and time consuming to do, the end effect of it would have been worth it.

While in the area we had a good look around at other sites and can safely say that Polmanter was by far the best we had seen!

The pool area is great, and even though we didn't have very good weather, as it is heated the kids were still in there nearly every day. We found the food at The Stable bar to be excellent and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdenEndWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
4.4 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
23.4 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 79 in Newquay
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#3 of 79 in Newquay
459 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 21 in Penzance
435 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polmanter Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmanter Touring Park

Address: St Ives, St Ives TR26 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Polmanter Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful countryside overlooking St Ives, Polmanter Touring Park combines award-winning facilities with a warm Cornish welcome. Our family has run this 5-star caravan and camping site for almost fifty years. This experience, along with our own love of camping, means that we know about all those little touches that make a holiday extra enjoyable – and effortless. Whether you’ve spent every summer under canvas, or are just gently introducing your young family to the fun of camping, you can create your ideal holiday at Polmanter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polmanter Touring Park Hotel St Ives
Polmanter Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing