We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only Camp Site in St Ives (for us!)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Polmanter Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We've stayed at Polmanter for the last 10 years every Summer, only missing last Summer because instead we were busy getting married at the lovely Tregenna Castle nearby!

I couldn't fault Polmanter, 10 years camping and 10 happy years. We're back again this Summer, on a serviced pitch for the first time (damn those iPhones and their lack of battery).

The toilet facilities cannot be faulted, clean and lovely. The on site bar and restaurant are good, the takeaway a little random in it's opening times, the pool is lovely.

The view, on a good day, from the park is amazing - you can see all the way down to St Ives, the bay and the sea.

The bus service which services the park is excellent, although we have seen the price increase considerably over the 10 years we've been going - I suppose that's the same as bus services everywhere.

Overall we've never considered anywhere else in St Ives, and unless something drastically changes I don't think we ever will.

Go (if you can get a booking - it's a very popular park) and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The best pitches are in Morvah and Levant near the new toilet blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have come here for the past 3 years....every time has been a pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helliebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Polmanter for 4 nights this week and it was pretty empty so we had a good choice of plots. The views were excellent, the toilets and hot showers were very clean and well looked after and the price was good value.
Only a 30 minute walk to St Ives and a nice local pub round the corner for dinner.
All in all an excellent time camping at Polmanter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LozzaKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at Polmanter for a week just prior to the school holidays starting. The site is well run and friendly. We had to change pitches, as when we pulled the caravan onto the pitch we found it at such a slope that we would not have been able to peg the awning down! However, this issue was resolved rather swiftly and we ended up at the top part of Rosewall. These pitches probably have the best views of the sea on the whole site. They are multi serviced and hardstandings, however they do look at little more hastily put together than the rest of the site. There was no proper division between the hardstandings and the small amount of grass inbetween, and although this may have been more costly and time consuming to do, the end effect of it would have been worth it.

While in the area we had a good look around at other sites and can safely say that Polmanter was by far the best we had seen!

The pool area is great, and even though we didn't have very good weather, as it is heated the kids were still in there nearly every day. We found the food at The Stable bar to be excellent and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdenEndWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stay at Polmanter for a week, before we arrived we booked on line and was able to see the park and choose our pitch, when we arrived the staff at reception where friendly and welcoming, once we had pitched our tent and took a walk around the camp site we found everything described on the website to be at an excelent standard.

The wash rooms where clean and tidy, the swimming pool was a good size and all the entertainment and facility where of an excellent standard, we would recommend this camp site to any young family or older couple as there is everything for everyone, and we will be booking again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylorfamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great location.

Reception staff extremely welcoming.

Huge pitches most of which are divided by well clipped four foot high hedges. Drinking water and waste water points are plentiful.

I’d advise looking at their website, choosing a pitch and then ringing to ask whether it suits your requirements (eg.. flat, not under a tree and sea views). The staff are very helpful.

Looking at the site plan on your screen, Morvah and Rosewall are the highest points and can get very windy. The right hand corner of Morvah which abuts Rosewall is up on a hump, so even higher.

Most pitches which face the left hand side of your screen will have a sea view (there are houses inbetween the site and the sea so it’s not uninterrupted). The site slopes gently away from here and most pitches are flat but motorhomes will need levellers on some pitches. Giew and Geevor are probably the most sheltered fields as they are lower.

Rosewall is hardstanding (don't think there was any grass at all) with motorhomes parked in terraces – not very appealing really. It looks like a car park.

The facilities are outstandingly clean. The pool area is inviting as is the conservatory by the Stable bar – a pleasant place serving local beers and average food. Five minutes walk down the road will take you to the friendly Halestown Inn – a speciality “pie pub”. That is worth a visit.

The shop is your basic campsite shop. Tesco in Carbis Bay is 5-7 minutes drive away.

If you’re relying on freezer blocks - each block freeze is 50p so if the weather’s hot and if you have four and you’re changing them twice a day, this can mount up substantially over a fortnight. Customer’s own blocks cannot be frozen.

The site is beautifully maintained so much so that it appears manicured and for me, this has destroyed any natural beauty of the site. It was quite a relief to go through the gate into the small field to walk down to St Ives. The constant mowing and hoovering of pitches can be very noisy too. The cleaning of each pitch as it is vacated is great but if the hedges and shrubs could be allowed a little more ‘freedom’ it would be less like camping in someone’s back garden.

I recommend this site because of the facilities and obvious hard work of the owners but for the reasons stated above, it just doesn't appeal to me.

Room Tip: Look at website 'pick a pitch' and then phone. Morvah and Rosewall are the highest (windie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Exmoorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Just came back from another trip to Polmanter, some 20 years after I last visited. Great to see how the campsite has improved & we really couldn't fault it. The kids really loved all the facilities & the staff were very accommodative. Thanks for a great visit. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Pre-book your space & change it if you are not happy with the allocation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy2996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,733 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
24.9 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 79 in Newquay
454 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 20 in Penzance
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polmanter Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmanter Touring Park

Address: St Ives, St Ives TR26 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Polmanter Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful countryside overlooking St Ives, Polmanter Touring Park combines award-winning facilities with a warm Cornish welcome. Our family has run this 5-star caravan and camping site for almost fifty years. This experience, along with our own love of camping, means that we know about all those little touches that make a holiday extra enjoyable – and effortless. Whether you’ve spent every summer under canvas, or are just gently introducing your young family to the fun of camping, you can create your ideal holiday at Polmanter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polmanter Touring Park Hotel St Ives
Polmanter Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing