We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic time!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Polmanter Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have just come back from a very nice week at Polmanter Touring Park. We camped in our very spacious pitch with electric hook up.The facilities on site from the family shop, the large (clean) shower blocks, heated (clean) pool, and a very friendly club house is all that a family could wish for. (Even though we did not win the Bingo) ..ahh well, bingo Bob is a good host !!
This site altough maybe a little more expensive, however the cost is insignificant to the value and quality you receive from all the staff.
First class, well done to Polmanter Touring Park.

Room Tip: Book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloeethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 388 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Need I say more.

it is without a shadow of a doubt the best campsite we have ever been too. The attention to detail is just stunning. It might cost a bit more than usual but it's worth every extra penny if you want a perfect camping experience. One other thing. Try the friendly Pie pub round the corner called the Halstown inn. We had a lovely evening there doing their pub quiz and enjoyed great pub grub.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SimonandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Got back from Polmanter today and I would warmly recommend it to you all.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, special mention to the shop staff and reception who were great.

It's a large site with a good mix of caravan/tourer/camping pitches. We stayed on a multiserviced pitch (water/electric/drainage/tv point) and it was good to be able to see and choose your pitch on their web site before booking. All the pitches were a good size and some were absolutely huge. It was a little windy and wind breaks would be a good idea, though the hedges between many pitches helped for this and creating privacy.

Site facilities include:

Shop - Sells everything you are likely to need from playing cards to hoses and bottled gas, and also food including fresh daily bread and papers e.t.c.

Pool - Very clean and well looked after, with sunbeds. We had six days of sunshine out of seven. Fantastic and the pool was a lovely place to cool down.

Pub/Conservatory - Food was faultless. Think basic pub grub done well. If this was my local I would eat out a lot more. Takeaway also available.

Two play areas with one for the smaller and one for larger children. Look out for the sloping table tennis table! There is also tennis at a small fee (£3 an hour). Playroom too but I didn't visit so not sure what was in it.

Lots of showers/toilets/ washing up facilities in I think 3 buildings around the park though I only used two. Spotlessly clean and in excellent repair. No queueing even though the park was busy. Family shower rooms also available.

Though the park is about 10mins drive out of town (and parking in town is a nightmare) there are two paths down to the town which are about 30 minutes steady downhill walk. These are quite rugged walks at the start though they end on country back roads. And the godsend is that the walk is all down hill. As an earlier post said it makes you feel you earned the tea and cake (or pasty).

There is a bus to and from town straight to the park gate which means you can leave the car at the park, walk down and get the bus back. Fare was £1.40 and well worth it to save the walk back.

There are plenty of places to eat around the park and in town and we didn't have a bad meal all week. Seek out Seagrass restaurant in the town - well worth a visit - superb food.

In short this is a great park either for a relaxed stay, you could easily stay on the park all week and just enjoy the sea view, or as a base for touring around West Cornwall.

Room Tip: Use the online map to book a pitch away from the playground and showers for the quitest night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ItIsOnlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

What a wonderful site massive pitches, very clean, a lovely little club house and pool area, laundry and 3 shower blocks. The bus service into St Ives was brilliant. We had wonderful weather for the whole week. The shop is great and stocks quite a lot of essentials. The service was great from the welcome to the people in the shop driving my groceries to my pitch as I'd bought quite a lot. Thanks Polmanter for a wonderful stay. Oh try the local pub for some yummy pies lamb and mint and fish pie were gorgeous!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chamberlainspragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a great time at Polmanter. The facilities are very clean and the pub serves great food. Disapointing that scooters are not allowed as the Children's bikes are just as dangerous, and it would be great if the shop opened a little later as it offers everything. The shop is much better than the local co- op. Some of the staff were friendly, but I'm not sure children are everyones cup of tea!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frost10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Excellent camping site excellent facilities stayed there last month and last may too loved it so bad going again tomorrow for a week x fab wouldnt falt anything xx

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izbee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Spent 7 nights here during Whitsun School Holiday so as expected the site was full, mostly with families in a mix of Tents, Motorhomes and Caravans.

Our party consisted of 2 adults 3 children and 1 infant. We were made to feel very welcome by all staff at all times. The communal facilites we're spotless and well appointed.

The site shop was wel stocked and the prices were reasonable, ice block hire was a nice addition.

The campsite pub was excellent having a good choice of local real ales and standard lagers, a decent cask cider wouldn't go amiss though. Entertainment in the pub consevatory was consistently good and well run. Food served in the pub was very good.

Very well looked after Heated Outdoor pool.

The Pitches are all large well drianed and a lot are fully serviced. most are bounded on 3 sides by hedges giving privacy and heping as wind breaks. The site is windy and additional windbreaks and decent tent pegs are a must.

So why only 4 stars and not 5 - well i'm afraid that's due to night-time noise. There are a lot of children on site of all ages (including my 4 !!!) however despite the playgrounds supposedly closing at 2100 they were still being used by teenagers as gathering areas well into the night, and despite the best efforts of the night staff the problem did not go away.

But on the whole a very good site, excellent for families and a good base for Exploring the West of Cornwall.

Room Tip: Book Early for busy school holiday dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aginoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
984 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 20 in Penzance
434 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 79 in Newquay
1,910 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polmanter Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmanter Touring Park

Address: St Ives, St Ives TR26 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Polmanter Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful countryside overlooking St Ives, Polmanter Touring Park combines award-winning facilities with a warm Cornish welcome. Our family has run this 5-star caravan and camping site for almost fifty years. This experience, along with our own love of camping, means that we know about all those little touches that make a holiday extra enjoyable – and effortless. Whether you’ve spent every summer under canvas, or are just gently introducing your young family to the fun of camping, you can create your ideal holiday at Polmanter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polmanter Touring Park Hotel St Ives
Polmanter Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing