We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Cook House St Ives - CLOSED

The Cook House St Ives
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dunstable, England
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We walked straight in as it was early evening and were offered a table upstairs with a harbour view. Well, if you got up off your chair it was a harbour view but pleasant enough. There was a group who were seated after us who seemed to be familiar with this restaurant and the staff and provided the entertainment! We both had noodles with chicken and the sauce was over powering, the chicken was fine but not enough vegetables. The service was good and the atmosphere was friendly. It was a shame as with a little care the dish could have been very nice. Perhaps the chef will read the reviews and refine the stir fry dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Far better places to eat in St Ives - nothing special”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

One of my top annoyances is when something is off the menu and the waiting staff fail to mention this when giving you the menu. It is annoying to set your heart on something and then be told that item is off. It also wastes time as the customer has to find something else to eat. This happened in the Cook House. The replacement item ordered were called "Thai fish cakes". These were nearer to Co Tyrone than Thailand as they were largely constituted of potato and had probably had little contact with any seafood during their creation. The Thai crab egg noodles were very poor, very little crab in there and the only flavour in the noodles was of Thai sweet chilli sauce, come on guys it costs little to add fresh garlic and chilli to your meals. Very poor, there are far better places to eat in St Ives and I would give this crowded little place a swerve until it improves it's food offering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DrLawBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“First class meal”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Me..my wife. .my 9 year old son with autism and my mum visited on Wednesday 25th Sept and all had fish and chips amd my son had chicken and chips..nothing was too much trouble for the 2 lovely staff..would we visit again. .of course we will.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Midlandsman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best place in st ives”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This small eatery is the best place me and my family have ate in, the decor is warm and the staff are so friendly. The food some is of the best weve tasted and the menu is very good a must if you visit the area a big 5 stars to the cook house

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cessbuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went for lunch and asked for the harbour view upstairs rather than in the dark downstairs table offered. The tables seem a bit too crowded for comfort and we had to pull our chairs in uncomfortably to allow other guests to get to their seats. The staff were friendly and the service was quick (it wasn't very full) but they were a bit too pushy about drinks for me. The food was ok and the mussels on the luchtime special were reasonably priced. I don't think it's a restaurant for a special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cook House St Ives also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing