We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful family retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trevalgan Holiday Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trevalgan Holiday Farm
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful family retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our family have stayed here the last 3 years and are booked to return again is year! 11 of us go each year and its become a home from home! The location is fantastic with a bus that runs at regular intervals daily in to St Ives and home again! There is ample parking and plenty of room for the children to run around. This is self catering accomadation with plenty of take away options available locally. We also place a Tesco home delivery order to arrive just after us which saves on the hassle of taking food or picking some up upon arrival(milk, tea and coffee is provided). St Ives beach is wonderful and there is so much to do in the surrounding area. A wonderful place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We first found out about Trevalgan Farm because we had a small child (age 2) and wanted somewhere to stay that catered for children and where parking wasn't a nightmare. We did an Internet search and when we saw the quality of accommodation for a good value price, plus play barn full of toys, we booked straight away. We were not disappointed on arrival, the accommodation is clean and tidy and the location is beautiful. We stayed in the Hayloft and from there you have a perfect view of the sea beyond the farm. The farm is a working beef farm so there is plenty of activity to watch, again, great for my boys (now I have 2 aged 2 and 4) .
On arrival we were met by Russell who is also the farmer. Both he and Melanie, his wife, are very friendly and welcoming. They provide a box of toys for the children and this saves bringing lots of toys with us. They also provide a pint of milk and tea and coffee so you can have a much needed cup of tea after your journey without having to unpack the car!
Travel cot and high chair are provided as part of the accommodation and there is also access to an all terrain buggy and carry rucksack. These are stored in the Games room along with table football and table tennis table.
As well as lots of cattle to watch, there is also a pets corner which includes ducks, chickens, cockerel, rabbit and the 2 most gorgeous Pygmy goats. Our boys loved spending time there. The pets corner is next to the play barn which is great come rain or shine, equipped with loads of toys, books, puzzles and Dvd's and to be honest, once the children are in there it is hard to get them out again!
When the weather is good there is a garden with outdoor children's toys such as house and slide. Lots of garden furniture is also provided so you can watch the children play and have a sunbathe and cup of tea or glass of wine!
Trevalgan Farm is about 10 minutes drive from St Ives and when we want to go to the beach we drive to Lelant Saltings where there is a park and ( train) ride. The view from the train as it travels the short distance along the coast is wonderful and the train station in St Ives is right next to Porthminster Beach. The other St Ives beaches are only a short walk away as well.
We enjoyed staying there so much that we have now been 4 times and are planning to go again next year. I thoroughly recommend Trevalgan Farm.

Room Tip: The Hayloft has great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jofreemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieTrevalgan, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. We are genuinely delighted you have enjoyed your stays at Trevalgan and we look forward to welcoming you back next April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamberhurst, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Myself and my family (2 generations) have been staying at Trevalgan Holiday Farm since the early 1990's (often 3 times a year, April, August and October). We have stayed in all the apartments and can honestly say we all love staying there. The accommodation is home from home, and always clean and tidy. They are dog friendly (in the ground floor flats), there is a handy bus in the campsite opposite (in the summer months only) into St Ives, saving the hassle of parking. An on-site games room with pool and ping pong tables(which my children have always enjoyed). An Ideal location for walking the coastline and touring West Cornwall. Just a 5 minute drive into St Ives with all there great Takeaways, (Pell's is a must). We honestly feel like it is our second home at Trevalgan and hope you enjoy it too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Travalgan Farm a number of times for 2 weeks with our dog Barney.
These lovely barn conversions with original granite walls have been furnished and equipped to a very high standard.
Surrounded by rolling farmland with fantastic sea views, children and adults alike will enjoy this idyllic farm location within walking distance from the renowned St Ives resort.
Melanie and Russell run such a warm and relaxing holiday farm, the standards are very high and location so central for daily exploring.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.9 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sandbank Holidays
Sandbank Holidays
#8 of 27 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalgan Holiday Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalgan Holiday Farm

Property: Trevalgan Holiday Farm
Address: Trevalgan, St Ives TR26 3BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four 4* rated holiday homes on our working farm in a spectacular setting just 2 miles from the centre of St. Ives. Carefully converted from former farm buildings they are tastefully furnished and well equipped with fitted kitchens, fridges, ovens and microwaves, flat screen TVs, DVD players and ipod docks. Linen is provided and like electricity and heating it's all included in the price. Our farm trail joins the coastal footpath so we're a haven for walkers. Trevalgan is also extremely child friendly with a pet's corner & indoor toddler play barn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevalgan Holiday Farm St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing