We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”

Tregenna Castle Brasserie
Ranked #80 of 148 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
SouthWest
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Once again we've had a super meal at this lovely hotel ( despite them apparently having lost our reservation), with attentive waiting staff and a nice soothing atmosphere with the piano gently playing in the background....pity about the noisy kids on the next table.
THEY took away the 5th star.
Everything else was lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Brasserie, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your second glowing review and return visit to our Restaurant!
We are pleased you found the atmosphere soothing, and that you enjoyed the piano music.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    42
    18
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“what an inspiration.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once again we opted for lunchen at the Tregenna estate. Another warm welcome and a spiffing good lunch. We then had a gentle half hour walk around the grounds to work off some of the scoff. The gardens are well looked after, i saw a gang of maybe 10 men doing a great job. Im sure we will see you again, maybe for dinner next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunboat4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Brasserie, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your smashing review and stupendous rating. We are ever so chuffed that you recent dining experience was extraordinary and that your stroll through the estate was joyous. Our groundskeepers work very hard to maintain such a high standard, each of them works as if they are a one man gang! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amateurish service”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

On the way in to St Ives I saw a large sign for this place so thought I would walk up through the town. Google maps seemed to suggest it was all one estate. Went through the marked gate by the sign and up the path, but it only led to some accommodation, went back around and just more of the same, no signage as to whether there was any way to the restaurant. Ended up back on the road after checking google, walked for a while and came to a gate, locked, with a sign saying go another 300 metres. Finally got on to the estate and still no signage for the restaurant. It was another half mile to the building. would it hurt to provide some clue as to where things are if your facilities are on a large estate?

The building is in decent shape and the location overlooking St Ives is good. I suspect any reputation the place has is built on this.

We had booked a large party with fixed menu. We were put in a side room which was ok, though lacking in atmosphere. I could have done without the piano muzak stylings of recent hits that was playing though dinner, apparently on repeat.

The major disappointment was the food. The vegetable soup tasted of nothing at all and was tepid, this and the fact the croutons had turned to slop suggested it had been sitting somewhere for quite a while before it reached the table. The main course was supposed to be a truffle gnocchi with a selection of vegetables. They had substituted green beans for nearly everything else and managed to achieve a dish which had a single note of flavour from the first bite to the last. Whoever made the apple and berry crumble managed to forget all of the berries and someone else forgot to bring it out while it was hot. They managed to ensure the crème anglais on the top was super chilled straight from the fridge though. Both myself and my colleague had upset stomachs the morning after.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Brasserie, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I can gauge from your review that you may well have already been annoyed, before you set foot in our restaurant, at your inability to locate our hotel. The route to the hotel is sign posted, perhaps not as clearly as is necessary. The distance from the main gate to our front door is no more that 400 metres.
By definition, our reputation is based upon the opinions of our patrons.
I am sorry that you did not care for your meal, having spoken to other members of your party, upon their departure, there did not appear to be any problems with the food.
Our Executive Chef is a little confused with some of your comments; the truffle gnocci was served with spinach and rocket salad. Each of the other main courses came with their own vegetables, there were no side orders of veg, unless you asked for it.
Once again, I am sorry that there were issues that spoiled your dining experience and that you had difficulty finding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely well kept grounds with amazing views on a clear day and the place is full of charatcter, The restaurant serves excellent food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teignmothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Brasserie, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and fantastic rating. Thank you also for your compliments I hope that we will have the pleasure your company again, sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food not very good”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Overcrowded dining room, with insufficient staff to service tables. The 2 men who dealt with us were appalling, bad, long and awful service. A for the food, it was edible and quite frankly that's the best I can say of it. The prices and menu descriptions were nowhere near what the customer actually got. I don't like being told that the crane flies would be served up with my dinner or if not defiantly with breakfast - what a ridiculous state of affairs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HyacinthofTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Brasserie, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I can only assume that your experience with us was so negative, in your opinion, that you felt compelled to write two vitriolic reviews. I am very sorry that your time with us made you feel that way.
Regarding your comment about the crane flies; whilst it may have been a silly thing to say, it was meant as a joke. I asked the waiter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tregenna Castle Brasserie also viewed

 
Carbis Bay, St Ives
 

Been to Tregenna Castle Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing