We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

The Rum and Crab Shack
Ranked #35 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great little spot. Came three nights in one week for their awesome strawberry daiquiris... lovely spot up out of the hustle and bustle with views over the harbour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelgal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    228
    79
    43
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely cracking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This place is awesome. Great atmosphere, service attentive but laid back, perfect timings between courses and wonderful food. The first time I visited this week I went for whole brown crab and a glass of Diplomatico, today crab claws, seafood platter and a pint of Red Stripe. Looking for excuse to go again...mind you, prices are decent so maybe the fact that I'd probably poison my family if I attempted the same at home is reason enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crack a crab in this funky restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Relaxed quirky eatery serving good seafood and fab choice of rum ! Personal service as the owner remembered us from our visit year before ! My son loves getting in amongst the crab and the gumbo is particularly good with a glass of crisp white wine ! It's not gourmet dining it's good wholesome food honestly made ! Great for families couples alike ! Another great plus is view from window across harbour !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ATheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best bars we've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We came across this place during our Cornish honeymoon, and we visited every day we were in St. Ives, even paying for a £60 round taxi trip to have one last meal here after we had moved on.
The selection of cocktails and rums on offer are second to none, the staff are all really friendly, knowledgable and attentive, and the food is always freshly prepared, really tasty and served promptly.

The place has a really laid back atmosphere, excellent playlist and with great views of the bay, it has to be one of the best bars in the UK, never mind St.Ives.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honestjohn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad, but disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Heard good things about this place and was recommended by a friend.

I had the spider crab which had barely any meat in, which to be fair that might be a case of me ordering badly. However I honestly think there was probably 1tbsp worth of meat in there for over 30 mins of work cracking shells!

My partner had gumbo which didn't have much flavour at all, the prawns and crab in the gumbo were lovely but the sauce was pretty non-descript.

Great chips though...also the Rum is a good way to finish off the meal. Also we had a really helpful waitress.

Feel this place needs to up its game with so many brilliant restaurant's in close proximity!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SenatorClayDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rum and Crab Shack also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Rum and Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing