We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A holiday treat”
Review of Moomaid of Zennor

Moomaid of Zennor
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: We are a small family business making ice cream and sorbet on our farm just 5 miles away. Fresh milk from our 100 cows, Rodda's cream and the finest ingredients are mixed by hand for a rich and luxurious ice cream. We love coming up with new, exotic flavours like Pina Colada and our famous Shipwreck ... We also serve freshly ground coffee and homemade cakes and cream teas plus our legendary sundaes - perfect to enjoy on our small terrace overlooking the harbour. Open year round, from 10 till late over summer. Also parlour on Porthtowan Beach.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A holiday treat”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited on the last day of our Cornish holiday and was not disappointed. 2 fabulous sundaes for us - toffee & banana and a berry mess - and a sprinkles cone with raspberry ripple for our daughter. We sat out on the veranda watching the harbour and devouring the calories. Delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_Darbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    45
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I visited Moomaid in February with my daughter. My Daughter had an ice cream and I had a coffee both were of excellent quality and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back again next time we are in St Ives!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane333_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best ice cream on the planet?”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The answer to the question is yes it is.

It's amazing, in fact I'm not ashamed to say that during a 3 day trip we visited 6 times. The honeycomb ice cream is just heaven. It's almost like some sort of addictive substance has been put in it. They also sell tubs to take home. If I didn't live 3 hours away from St Ives and had some sort of freezer for the car I could have easily bought all their stock up!

The shop has a fantastic vantage point looking out of the harbour towards the lifeboat station. Very nice place to sit with a coffee and ice cream watching the world go by.

You must visit if in St Ives.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Camille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Moo-velous!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a cream tea and latte and was welcomed by kindness and a smile. Sit outside for a fantastic view of the wharf. Value for money. Truly marvelous!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mushyspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best sorbet ever!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the lemon sorbet from the Moomaid and ate it on the lovely balcony overlooking the slipway and the harbour. It was delicious. A really great find.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank frillyhatnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moomaid of Zennor also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Moomaid of Zennor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing