We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped, comfortable and convenient stay...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Living Area
Double Bedroom
Double Room
Double Bedroom
Bunk Room
Bunk Room
Double Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
The View From Every Bedroom
Decked Seating Area
Decked Seating Area
Porthmeor Beach
Storage Shed
Alfresco Dining
Porthgwidden Beach
Primrose Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
475dandm
Greater Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped, comfortable and convenient stay - made travel easy with kids”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Primrose Cottage is a tastefully renovated and well equipped cottage, with thoughtful inclusions to make it very child-friendly. It would equally be very comfortable to groups without children. We appreciated the small gifts provided, comfortable rooms, proximity to the beach and shops and car parking spaces. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, tastefully decorated and well equipped - extra touches for kids were appreciated
Liked least: Not suitable for the elderly (due stairs) and disabled
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h k
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldnt wish for anymore. Fantastic”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Every thing you would ever need in a great location.
Thank you we had a great time.
Home from home but by the sea.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidl135...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Briliant”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had great weather a perfect week was had because not only were we in st ives but primrose cottage is an ideal place to stay for exploring anywhere in cornwall

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidl135...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had great weather. And to top it all off a great place to stay. Made everything perfect. Primrose cottage is the place to stay plenty of space and the ideal way of exploring st ives. We would certainly stay there again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic week away!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have returned from a fantastic week away with the family in St Ives, staying at Primrose Cottage.

At the time of booking, we were amazed at the excellent value for money that this place offered, especially when factoring in that there's space for 2 cars at the front too. In the past we've had to find long term parking in St Ives.

Upon arrival the place didn't disappoint. There was a lovely welcome hamper provided (which was much appreciated after the long drive), and the place was just amazing. Very clean, brilliantly furnished and most of all, very homely.

We had an amazing week and would not hesitate to book again. We have stayed slightly closer to the town centre before but on days of good weather the walk was good.

Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eloisebra...
England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage with seaviews & parking!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've just had a wonderful week in St Ives. Primrose Cottage is fantastic, the photos don't do it justice. It's fully equipped with everything you need, it's modern and sparkling clean and has lovely seaviews over Porthmeor beach. The welcome basket was a lovely touch when we arrived, just what we needed after our journey down. My 5 year old son, adored the bunk beds (and Wii). Plus, parking for at least two cars was an added bonus. We were really lucky with the weather and had sunshine the whole week - every day was a beach day! In all, we all can't wait to come back and stay, this time with our new baby too :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seaviews, parking, modern, home from home touches
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back. Have already enquired for our next stay. Love it”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Home from home. Very clean, fresh, bright and well maintained. The photos on TripAdvisor don't do it justice - it's nicer in reality. High speed broadband wifi was very useful. Bathroom & heating system top notch. Great sized and well equipped kitchen. Handy location with easy walk to the Tate & Porthmeor or down into the main town. The mattress quality & the duvet/linen on double bed could be better and it's annoying having to climb over your partner to get out of bed with the wall one side but it's all spotlessly clean and you've got to expect some quirkiness staying in St Ives little cottages. Our daughter loved the single room - very cute for kids. The windows were all brilliant uPVC sash which were safe for kids and very good at keeping out the weather when it rolled in off the atlantic. We were lucky with stunning weather most of the week with a couple of rainy mornings - the cottage felt cosy, bright and welcoming through it all. Handy shop opposite and another just up the road. Can walk to the co-op for really fresh fruit, veg and bread down over Windsor Hill and then through to the cinema. Having 2 comfortable parking spaces in St Ives is a real plus and quite rare in general. As I said, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: The main double bed
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing