We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family holiday cottage with great views...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
27 reviews
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Living Area
Double Bedroom
Double Room
Double Bedroom
Bunk Room
Bunk Room
Double Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
The View From Every Bedroom
Decked Seating Area
Decked Seating Area
Porthmeor Beach
Storage Shed
Alfresco Dining
Porthgwidden Beach
Primrose Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise40
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday cottage with great views and ideally situated in the heart of St Ives.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous family summer break in an excellent holiday home, within a few minutes walk from the beach, town and harbour of St Ives.

The house itself is extremely clean, tastefully decorated, spacious and suited perfectly for a family with 3 kids of any age or as in our case 2 kids (12 & 10) and Grandma.

The kitchen is well equipped with all mod cons (dishwasher, microwave, large fridge/freezer, washing machine, etc) and all the pots and pans you will ever need. A nice touch on arriving was the scones, jam and clotted cream. Tea & coffee, milk, kitchen roll and all essentials are also provided.

The lounge and dining area is plenty roomy enough for 5 people to sit and as well as the tv, there is also a wii and iPod for extra entertainment.

Upstairs there are 3 bedrooms, one double and 2 single (one with a bunk and one with a single bed) and a big bathroom with separate bath and shower.

I would defiantly recommend this cottage if you are planning a family trip to St Ives and I would most certainly stay there again in the future.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAllan_1...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantasticaly equipped cottage in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

An absolutely beautiful cottage in the heart of St Ives. The cottage has quite obviously recently been refurbed and to a very high standard. The owners have produced a chabby chic theme, which compliments the cottage and attention to detail is fantastic - a real home from home!
Luxurious bathroom, great corner bath ideal for unwinding and reading a book! Kitchen is well equipped and cosy living room and bedrooms.
Welcome pack on arrival of scones, clotted cream and jam was particularly appealing!
A real bonus too was the outdoor shed which had a number of children's items for the beach including body boards, buckets, spades etc - was great not to have to pack all this!
Would strongly recommend - fantastic value!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokers78
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage with beautiful sea views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The cottage is absolutely gorgeous. It is stylishly decorated and extremely clean. There are lots of beautiful touches which make it feel much more like a home than a holiday let. The welcome pack with scones, jam and cream was very well received after a long drive!! The cottage is very close to the town centre and the most beautiful beaches and it was certainly a treat to sit in bed in the morning with a cup of tea and look at the sea!! We were sad to leave our lovely cottage by the sea and will definitely be back!!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie G
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home accommodation in an ideal location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a fantastic long weekend in this beautifully decorated, clean and fresh accommodation. We were stunned by the views of the sea from the bedroom windows and were impressed with the classy decor that created a holiday feel. The owners had done lots to make us feel immediately welcome, including leaving fresh scones with local jam and clotted cream, and packets of chocolate buttons for the kids. There was milk in the fridge for our convenience, although a newsagents which sold everything you might need was a stones-throw away. We also found it useful to have access to the shed which contained buckets and spades. The accommodation was warm and comfortable and the harbour and beach with a broad selection of restaurants were very easy to walk to, even with 2 small children in tow! I can't wait to go again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Being so close to the sea
Liked least: The rain on our first morning
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachb76
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage with views of the sea and so close to everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed with our 5 year old son and 5 month old baby and had a wonderful time, the cottage had eveything we needed and was immaculate. St Ives has great beaches and so close!!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lailalou0...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family retreat by the sea!!Shabby chic gorgeous cottage��”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Primrose cottage is truly gorgeous , it's shabby chic/ modern decor is just perfect,
The owners really have gone out of there way to cater for everyone's needs It makes a perfect family get away by the sea or romantic couples break away heaven! The welcome trug with the mist Scrummy huge scones fresh local clotted cream & strawberry jam , fresh coffee ect was such a reall unexpected treat !!
We can't wait to come visit again , if you ever want to sell it please can I have 1st refusal Charlotte xxx

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage, Fabulous Location, Everything you need.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Primrose Cottage for 3 nights in the Easter Holidays. The Location of this cottage is brilliant. We parked the car at the front of the property the day we arrived and didn't get in it again until we left. The cottage itself is top quality and spotless. Everything you need is there and on arrival we were greeted with a welcome basket with coffee tea, milk and amazing fresh scones with clotted cream and preserve, what a welcome! The rooms were all well appointed and we didn't want for anything the owners have considered everything, and everything is of good quality. The sofa was comfy, the ipod and docking station was a lovely touch and the kids were pleased with the wifi and the wii. Also had a DVD player. We stayed during a really cold spell and the heating and hot water were more than efficient. The beds are comfortable (one double, a bunk bed and a single) so we had really good nights sleep after all the sea air. The best thing about this cottage is the location. Within a couple of minutes you really are at the beach and the Tate Gallery, and a couple of minutes in a different direction you are at the harbour.(both steep hills so may cause a problem to those with walking difficulties) the costal path is really close.
All of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay here (2 adults 2 children aged 10 and 13) and wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location and the quality
Liked least: nothing it was all great
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$110
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing