We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People running it need to learn some people skills !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trevalgan Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good site & good location but NOT made to feel welcome by unfriendly staff, felt like we were not wanted - even when booking in ! A little on the expensive side - not as enjoyable as when we stayed last year with previous owners. Will try somewhere else next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nigelnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette O, Owner at Trevalgan Touring Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

You have chosen not to mention that you were asked on numerous occasions during your stay to put your dog on a lead having had this request very clearly explained to you on arrival (while your dog did appear very friendly you allowed it to freely run around the camping pitches without any regard for the neighbouring pitches or the young children nearby). When asked to put your dog on a lead again on the day of your departure by myself both you and your wife decided to shout very loudly at me in a very threatening manner and, without any provocation, your wife insulted me in a very personal way on two occasions. We are more than happy that you have decided not to return as you certainly will not be welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Comfortable but countryside views obscured making it bland. Worse, when we paid for electricity we couldn't use (no adapter), surly staff would not contemplate a refund (on that service only) and would not even permit charging of phones. (Sat in games room to charge phone for twohours surrounded by screaming children)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank jonathangoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette O, Owner at Trevalgan Touring Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Trevalgan Touring Park. Unfortunately we are unsure what you mean by the countryside views being obscured as we are set in an AONB and surrounded by open farmland and bracken/gorse covered hills with the north coast cliffs less than half a mile away. Many of our pitches do benefit from sea views but unfortunately this is not guaranteed for all due to the typography of the site but all pitches have inland views. With regards to mobile phone charging - we are unable to offer this as a service to guests but we more than happy for the sockets in the hallway of the amenities block or the games room to be used free of charge for this purpose. When you booked you requested an electric hook-up facility and in fact you were provided with a multi-serviced pitch on arrival. We do ask that you check your booking requirements carefully and inform us of any discrepancies and we cannot be held responsible if you did not bring the required equipment with you. We hope you enjoyed your visit to St Ives and that you find your next camping experience more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just stayed here camping for 2 nights, lovely park and quiet with suitable amenities, well equipped play park and nice walk across the fields to St Ives, camped in Newquay just a week later and that site was very noisy and we wished we were back here...will definately return.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank hipster1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette O, Owner at Trevalgan Touring Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I love St Ives but we also like to be in the countryside which makes Trevalgan perfect: It is set in beautiful, peaceful countryside on the coast but slap bang on the doorstep of St Ives. Whilst there are a lot of families who use the site we have never once had any problems with the noise of kids or anything else - everyone seems to be friendly and respectful. the pitches are generously sized and nowhere is too far from the central facilities, whose green credentials are impeccable as they have their own borehole for water and have a solar hot water system and I believe PV panels for some of their electricity with plans for more sustainable power on the way.

A huge bonus is the bus which runs hourly in the morning, afternoon and night (although there are gaps: I think the on at about 11am is the last one in to St Ives until some time in the afternoon and similar on the way back so do pay attention to the timetable). It's well-priced and the last bus home is about 11.15 pm so you can enjoy an evening in St Ives. If you miss the bus you can drive to the rugby club, park cheaply and get a bus down from there (also very reasonably priced). the bus in during the day drops you outside the Tate at Porthmeor beach, just a few minutes walk from the harbour - you couldn't ask for better.

Facilities at the site are excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The site is always spotless and beautifully maintained. We also gained a friendly visitor in our time there: One of the farm cats seemed to do the round of people having BBQs in the hope of a freebie!!

the only reason it doesn't get five stars is because it isn't cheap. You do get what you pay for, and St Ives is generally expensive anyway, but it does seem comparatively much more pricey than other places we stay in Cornwall for similar quality. Still, in the St Ives area I don't think you can do much better.

Room Tip: The pitches round the edge back onto Cornish Hedges and make a good natural windbreak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spettifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first time to this site and won't be our last, we booked very late in the yr and was slightly taken Back by the price, but after arriving we all agreed it was well worth the money.
Staff are very friendly and warm welcoming, facilities are great plenty of showers single and family, music playing and very vey clean! In the same block is the washing and laundry facilities which are also of great standard.
The kids had great time in well equipped games room and park and enjoyed it!
We had a fully serviced pitch which came with electric running water and light, which was fantastic. The pitches are vy well portioned too.
We had a problem one night with some very very noisy neighbours, to which the staff were great and very discreet.
I can not comment on the coast walk due to bad weather we had whilst staying but will give it a go next time.
The bus service is very convenient and handy due to the price of parking in St Ives.
Looking forward to returning next year in better weather
Highly recommend to anyone

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited this campsite for a very brief stay in August (more on that in a minute). Excellent first impression, friendly staff in a reception area which has a shop attached for essential items, plus tourist information.

Was given a great pitch on the playing field so we could see the children play on the adventure playground which they loved. Shower block is cleaned all the time, music in the loos and plenty of showers, basins and facilities. Washing up and laundry as well.

A short drive into St Ives, can't comment on the walking as we never made it that far!

We were so looking forward to our stay but the weather was horrific and our tent let us down BIG TIME so we had to pack up after one night and go home, children were so upset and so were we - will be back (and keep an eye on the weather forecast next time) with a new tent!

All in all a great family park in a great location - excellent staff, thanks for the refund x

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poised01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 1 seul bloc de sanitaires, donc n'allez pas sur un emplacement trop éloigné sinon vous risquez d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
1.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,774 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 21 in Penzance
435 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 78 in Newquay
1,910 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalgan Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalgan Touring Park

Address: Trevalgan, St Ives TR26 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Trevalgan Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent family touring and camping site in an area of outstanding natural beauty just 2 miles from St Ives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevalgan Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing