We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trevalgan Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet park”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just stayed here camping for 2 nights, lovely park and quiet with suitable amenities, well equipped play park and nice walk across the fields to St Ives, camped in Newquay just a week later and that site was very noisy and we wished we were back here...will definately return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank hipster1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette O, Owner at Trevalgan Touring Park, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    35
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
155
202
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I love St Ives but we also like to be in the countryside which makes Trevalgan perfect: It is set in beautiful, peaceful countryside on the coast but slap bang on the doorstep of St Ives. Whilst there are a lot of families who use the site we have never once had any problems with the noise of kids or anything else - everyone seems to be friendly and respectful. the pitches are generously sized and nowhere is too far from the central facilities, whose green credentials are impeccable as they have their own borehole for water and have a solar hot water system and I believe PV panels for some of their electricity with plans for more sustainable power on the way.

A huge bonus is the bus which runs hourly in the morning, afternoon and night (although there are gaps: I think the on at about 11am is the last one in to St Ives until some time in the afternoon and similar on the way back so do pay attention to the timetable). It's well-priced and the last bus home is about 11.15 pm so you can enjoy an evening in St Ives. If you miss the bus you can drive to the rugby club, park cheaply and get a bus down from there (also very reasonably priced). the bus in during the day drops you outside the Tate at Porthmeor beach, just a few minutes walk from the harbour - you couldn't ask for better.

Facilities at the site are excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The site is always spotless and beautifully maintained. We also gained a friendly visitor in our time there: One of the farm cats seemed to do the round of people having BBQs in the hope of a freebie!!

the only reason it doesn't get five stars is because it isn't cheap. You do get what you pay for, and St Ives is generally expensive anyway, but it does seem comparatively much more pricey than other places we stay in Cornwall for similar quality. Still, in the St Ives area I don't think you can do much better.

Room Tip: The pitches round the edge back onto Cornish Hedges and make a good natural windbreak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spettifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our first time to this site and won't be our last, we booked very late in the yr and was slightly taken Back by the price, but after arriving we all agreed it was well worth the money.
Staff are very friendly and warm welcoming, facilities are great plenty of showers single and family, music playing and very vey clean! In the same block is the washing and laundry facilities which are also of great standard.
The kids had great time in well equipped games room and park and enjoyed it!
We had a fully serviced pitch which came with electric running water and light, which was fantastic. The pitches are vy well portioned too.
We had a problem one night with some very very noisy neighbours, to which the staff were great and very discreet.
I can not comment on the coast walk due to bad weather we had whilst staying but will give it a go next time.
The bus service is very convenient and handy due to the price of parking in St Ives.
Looking forward to returning next year in better weather
Highly recommend to anyone

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited this campsite for a very brief stay in August (more on that in a minute). Excellent first impression, friendly staff in a reception area which has a shop attached for essential items, plus tourist information.

Was given a great pitch on the playing field so we could see the children play on the adventure playground which they loved. Shower block is cleaned all the time, music in the loos and plenty of showers, basins and facilities. Washing up and laundry as well.

A short drive into St Ives, can't comment on the walking as we never made it that far!

We were so looking forward to our stay but the weather was horrific and our tent let us down BIG TIME so we had to pack up after one night and go home, children were so upset and so were we - will be back (and keep an eye on the weather forecast next time) with a new tent!

All in all a great family park in a great location - excellent staff, thanks for the refund x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poised01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.2 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
618 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalgan Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalgan Touring Park

Property: Trevalgan Touring Park
Address: Trevalgan, St Ives TR26 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Trevalgan Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent family touring and camping site in an area of outstanding natural beauty just 2 miles from St Ives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevalgan Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing