We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cafe!”
Review of Olives Cafe

Olives Cafe
Ranked #30 of 148 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Postcode TR26 1NX
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited here last week, had a lovely lunch. Really lovely staff, great food (nice presentation, not your usual limp lettuce with a few crisps) food comes with fruit (huge chunks of pineapple and orange) and salad (that is green and fresh and lovely!) Cakes looked lush but we were so stuffed from salady goodness we didn't have room. Effortlessly shabby chic. I would eat lunch there every day but the 9 hour round trip would be dreadful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OwlH00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    48
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Myself and my other half visited Cornwall for a week and on our first day we visited St Ives. We love it there! I desperately wanted a Cornish cream tea and we spotted a sign for Olives just up the hill from the harbour side. The place was small but cute and the cakes on their counter looked fab! We sat at a 4 seated table because my other half is over 6ft tall. He struggles to get his legs into a 2 seater plus there were already 2 couples sat at 4 seater tables and the staff were happy to serve us there. We ordered our cream teas which were fantastic when they arrived. A family of 4 came in and there were only 2 seater tables left. So as I took my first bite of my scone we were asked to move to accommodate the family of 4. I would have been happy to move if I wasn't eating. The other 2 couples had finished eating yet we were the ones asked to move. And once we had moved one of the other couples said they were leaving so the family took their table anyway! It's a shame because our cream teas were lovely. Just bear in mind you might be asked to move if you sit on a 4 seater table. No matter your size or if you're eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LightWaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty handy friendly”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Friendly staff we relented to a small cake which was very lovely sal says the cappuccino was like at spoons but we like spoons coffee too

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneVeryWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great little cafe, friendly staff and an excellent cream tea - scones to die for - a real gem! A bit off the beaten track behind the harbour but well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Donna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cream tea off the beaten track”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Found this place by accident really and popped in for a spot of lunch. The salads were very nice and very filling and the cream tea scone was delicious. A rather snug little cafe but very nicely done and quaint.

Unfortunately, nobody had any room left to try any of the fabulous looking cakes on the counter but never mind, maybe next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elithommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olives Cafe also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Olives Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing