We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Disappointing Grey Mullet.”
Review of Grey Mullet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Mullet
Ranked #89 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2005

My wife and I toured Cornwall by car in September, staying in a number of B&B's across the county. For the St. Ives area we booked two nights in The Grey Mullet but left after the first.
The location of this guest house is certainly does not make it ideal for a motoring holiday. Car parking is only available in public, 24 hour fee paying car parks that are usually full. Public parking is more readily available toward the outskirts of the town but carrying suit cases up and down the steep, narrow streets was not our idea of a holiday! The management accepts that there is a car parking problem but disclaims any responsibility even though available parking is listed a a positive point on their web site.
We also found our double en suite room on the ground floor to be cramped and noisy.
To summarise, this was the worst B&B we used during our holiday and we will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NSEManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 62 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Shoreham by Sea
16
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We stay every year at The Grey Mullet and love its warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff are all so helpful. They have a small cottage at the rear of the guest house which is superb for a romantic quiet get away. The food is excellent! We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Very good value for money and very pretty. We had a lovely room with four poster bed. Situated really close to harbour, St Ives truely lovely place to stay with good restaurants and pubs and beautiful beaches.

8  Thank Chorleyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

This B&B is ideal for a couple of nights away. St Ives itself is a wonderful place and the B&B is very central. Although we did have a little trouble finding it and parking.

The decor is slightly dated but extremely clean and the owners were very accomodating. I would definately reccommend it although if you are over 5'9 you may want to duck going up the stairs as to avoid a head injury. The breakfast was fantastic and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
331
Reviewed May 21, 2004

The outside of this B&B is so picturesque that it was the picture for St. Ives in my guide book of Cornwall. It is an old stone cottage with flowering windowboxes and an unbeatable location just a few yards from the wharf. It is also only a short walk to the beach and the Tate Gallery. I stayed in the single room which was small but very clean and comfortable and had its own bathroom and shower. Breakfast was delicious. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
114
Reviewed January 31, 2004

Quaint little B and B with really homely old furnishings. Staff were really nice and friendly and breakfast was great with a good choice and pretty dining room. Bathrooms were small but adequate. Our room had a view of the outside cobbled street which was nice - other rooms have view of the sea. Excellent location in the centre of town but no parking on site. We managed to park the car really close by as there are a few public car parks in town.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blaublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.7 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Mullet

Address: 2 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Mullet 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Grey Mullet Hotel St Ives
Grey Mullet St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing