We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you invented a B&B it would be the Mullet”
Review of Grey Mullet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Mullet
Ranked #91 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I've stayed here twice and I love it to bits. It has all the best qualities of a B&B and so far as I can see, none of the bad ones. It's right in the middle of St Ives, 10 seconds walk from the harbour, in an old old building (18C) and festooned with hanging baskets etc. It features in many a postcard.

The breakfast is typical B&B, but good quality everything (except the coffee, steer clear!) spotlessly clean and at £30 a night for a single I have no complaints. Will be back there again and again . . . I hope!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ChicChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

Great location right in the center of St. Ives. Minutes walk to beaches. If you're able-bodied, it's an easy walk from the train and bus stations, even with luggage. Rooms are clean and sufficiently spacious. I would definitely recommend the Gray Mullet to anyone traveling by bus or train, with only one reservation... the staff and owners are not very helpful at all.

If you arrive at breakfast even 1 minute past the allotted breakfast time (which I think is from 8:30-9:30), they won't even serve you toast. Also, they take away all the breakfast cereals and juices at 9:30 ON THE DOT. So don't be late for breakfast!!!!

Overall, I would stay at the Grey Mullet again just because of its great location and nice rooms, but if you're looking for great B&B hospitality, definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank exdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

If you're looking for a little gem, go here. Fantastic b&b. Marion was brill and a lifesaver after everything else that had happened to us in one week (too long to go in to). But everything you could want was found here, rooms were lovely and clean, en-suite, tv and tea/
coffee facilities. Breakfast was yummy!

Fantastic location, right in the heart of it, harbour and beach on the left, shops on the right, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

Cannot fault it. You won't be disappointed if you go here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank happyhols0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

Based on rave TripAdvisor reviews, we expected better. Our rooms were tiny and uncomfortable, and even in October the street noise was hard to take. Breakfast was good, though. Next trip to St Ives we'll stay on the other side of town away from the tourist center, despite the uphill trudge.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank JuliaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Set absolutely in the heart of St Ives, 30 seconds from the harbour front and beach, this is an incredibly picturesque and very comfortable hotel. Bathrooms are newly refurbished and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Also a big plus is that they don't take children under 15 so no screaming to wake you in the morning. Guests can come and go as they please. As regards driving / parking issue, you can't drive or park anywhere in St Ives - this is part of its charm - so please don't allow this to put you off. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2005

My wife and I toured Cornwall by car in September, staying in a number of B&B's across the county. For the St. Ives area we booked two nights in The Grey Mullet but left after the first.
The location of this guest house is certainly does not make it ideal for a motoring holiday. Car parking is only available in public, 24 hour fee paying car parks that are usually full. Public parking is more readily available toward the outskirts of the town but carrying suit cases up and down the steep, narrow streets was not our idea of a holiday! The management accepts that there is a car parking problem but disclaims any responsibility even though available parking is listed a a positive point on their web site.
We also found our double en suite room on the ground floor to be cramped and noisy.
To summarise, this was the worst B&B we used during our holiday and we will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NSEManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Shoreham by Sea
16
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We stay every year at The Grey Mullet and love its warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff are all so helpful. They have a small cottage at the rear of the guest house which is superb for a romantic quiet get away. The food is excellent! We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.7 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Mullet

Address: 2 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Mullet 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Grey Mullet Hotel St Ives
Grey Mullet St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing