We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Helpings!”
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

For the second time in less than a year my mother and I stayed at this beautiful private hotel. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we stepped out of the car. Our Bay Suite room was as calm and as lovely as the first time. One of the major attractions of the hotel, apart from its proximity to St Ives Bay, is the relaxed oasis it provides. Once again the staff were delightful, the breakfast amazing in both choice and quality and the whole atmosphere one of peace and style. Thanks to Malcolm and his wonderful hotel it is our intention to stay again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: All of the rooms look fabulous, but the Bay Suite is spacious, light and has stunning views of Godre...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Blue Hayes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 369 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

I booked a two night stay at this hotel for my partners birthday.
From the sec we pulled up in the car we could not have been made more welcome by Malcolm had his small team.
After taking a walk around the town we took the short walk back up the coast path to the hotel.
Again the door was opened for us and we were taken up to are room.
The room was large had stunning views and as for clean the only word is out standing...
The rest of the hotel was to the same stunning standard.
We used the bar area both nights before walking into town great drinks with even better views .
The 1st morning we had breakfast in the room while looking over the bay no better way to start the day.
If you check this place out and feel its expensive remove that from your thoughts and go straight to the booking page that's if you can get a room.
Hotel...stunning
Views.....stunning
Staff....outstanding
Food ....outstanding

A must place to visit and stay..

Room Tip: You will be happy with any...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our seventh visit to St Ives & Blue Hays has been the best hotel we have stayed in. From the warm welcome of all the staff & Malcolm himself, nothing was too much trouble, the entire hotel was spotless, the carpets were to die for. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice all cooked fresh & to perfection. A 10 minute walk into St Ives makes this hotel really convenient. We hope to come back again in the future. Many thanks Russell & Janet Emm. (Wiltshire).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet_emm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here this weekend for special birthday treat and had the most fabulous time. The welcome was so warm and friendly and the hotel is spotless, perfect in every way. Had the best 2 nights sleep ever as the mattress and pillows were so luxurious. It felt like no one had been in that room before because it was so clean! The breakfasts were fantastic, and the views over the bay just made it so special. We were in the Garden Suite and our mission now is to go back again and again until we've stayed in each suite - and then start all over again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susan44W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our return visit a couple of weeks ago to the Blue Hayes Hotel and the Blue Hayes team was, as expected – fantastic! The same high standards and friendly staff were there for us. Malcolm (the owner) especially was his usual helpful , happy and funny self, nothing is too much trouble. Even the foggy and misty weather for the first part of our stay could not dampen our enjoyment. A whole year on, and the light coloured décor and carpets were as new and the breakfast seemed even better than before (didn’t think that was possible). We’ll be booking early for our next visit, so not sure if we should be recommending it here as we don’t really want the completion…..
See you next year Blue Hayes.
Angelo and Julie

Room Tip: Avoid the Bay Suite, Its ours !!!...........:)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is our sixth stay at this oasis and what can I say; the standard remains the best you can get.
Words can't express what you can expect on arrival and throughout your stay.
Attention to detail, cleanliness, comfort, views, friendliness are of the highest standard with breakfasts to die for.
Nothing is too much for Malcolm and all of his staff, with your every need catered for in an exceptional manner; I think they must be psychic as you only have to think and it's there.
The fact there is no 24 hour room service or night porter is not an issue which the inspectors who limit the star rating should consider when rating this gem.
Although the hotel doesn't serve dinner, being in a location with numerous gastronomic delights, there is much to explore in the town, just a couple of minutes away.
We have booked our next visit for later in the year and can't see a time when we won't spoil ourselves at least twice a year in the future.

Room Tip: Bay suite has great views that can be enjoyed whilst relaxing in a chair without getting up from you...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying here on numerous occasions and have yet to be anything other than amazed by it. Owner Malcolm and his excellent team run a tight ship that gives guest an experience they will never forget. Everything from the very warm welcome to the decor of the house and well manicured gardens lend themselves to very relaxing stays and idyllic breaks whatever the weather. This is one place I will return to again and again and would definitely recommend as a place to escape to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Every room is excellently appointed and perfect for any needs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnetteJ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
774 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#4 Family Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing