We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutely amazing!!”
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husbands family and had the best weekend. The hotel is incredibly clean,modern and comfortable. On arrival We were greeted and taken up to our room,which was the Trelyon suite. The room was magnificent with a lovely big comfy bed,big and private roof terrace with sun loungers and a beautiful,clean bathroom. Our room also had a bottle of still and sparkling water,selection of teas,hot chocolate,fresh milk and coffee. We had the light suppers on both nights and I thoroughly enjoyed both of them. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make you feel completely comfortable. The atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful, even the choice of music was lovely. The cocktail menu is the biggest one I've ever seen!! The hotel itself is absoloutely immaculate and would definitely recommend staying there and the views are breathtaking. I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NataloiMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 383 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's rare these days to find true customer service, but you will find it if you stay at the Blue Hayes in St.Ives - I say "if" because it books up very early, and the repeat bookings (as you can see from other reviews on here) surely speak for themselves. This was my first visit, but I too plan to return. I like details and facts when reading reviews, so here's what I can report : Car Park - there is a space allocated for each room, so you are assured of a space. The sloping car park is compact, but when compared with the car parks at other hotels in town, the amount of space is generous. 4x4s and larger cars no problem. Rooms : The room reviewed here is the Lowarth, good for the single traveller but also suitable for a couple. Windows open. Shower and bath with good water pressure, hot water always on tap, Double bed, feather pillows, excellent quality top and bottom sheets and separate duvet. Enormous bath towel, hand towel, flannel, bath mat. Good lighting, dimmable, switches reachable from the bed. Flat screen TV with most (perhaps all?) freeview digital channels. Tea (varieties), cafetiere coffee (regular and decaff), hot chocolate with kettle and caramelised biscuits. Hair drier, vanity mirror with light, shaver socket (dual voltage). Plenty of storage space with built-in wardrobe (hangers), shelves in bathroom. Breakfast : all served at table, no self-service. Usual cereals, juices, fruit, yoghurt but the range of cooked items available is very extensive indeed, all of very good quality and beautifully cooked. Tableware and utensils all Villeroy and Boch. Communal Areas : Spacious lounge areas, one with TV, one with views across the bay, out on to a terrace. Well stocked bar with a huge range of cocktails, freshly made by a very skilled bar tender. Well kept gardens, with water features, leading down to a gate on to the coast path (short walk to St.Ives). However, all of that would be of little meaning without the passion for excellence in customer service demonstrated by the proprietors. If you have high expectations and high standards, this is probably the place for you - I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midcheshreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is an absolute beauty! Situated just above the coast path in St. Ives, it is everything you could want in a small private hotel. Tastefully decorated in shades of blue, cream, and soft white, the coimmon areas provide a sense of space, tranquility, and relaxation. Sitting on the terrace looking out on the water, you could imagine yourself on the Riviera, a truly Mediterranean atmosphere. The rooms provide you with all the amenities, and more. We were in the Trelyon Suite which had a terrace with a water view, table, chairs, umbrella and loungers. The breakfasts are without parallel. They have to be enjoyed to be believed. The choices are endless and expertly prepared. The proprietor and staff make you feel so comfortable. Knowledgeable and helpful with all manner of requests, Malcolm and his staff have a winning combination. This is a definitely a destination to return to again and again. Blue Hayes is conveniently situated within walking distance to St Ives Harbour and restaurants.
Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: The Trelyon Suite has a huge terrace. The Master Suite looks directly on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our third stay at Blue Hayes, after our previous visits,we wouldn't have thought it could get any better, wrong !
We arrived earlier than expected,and as arranged with Malcolm,we were parking the car at the hotel,and returning later to access our suite,however,as soon as we drove onto the forecourt,Malcolm greeted us and invited us to have breakfast,which was a wonderful gesture,and very welcome !
This year we stayed in a different suite, ( Godrevy ) we had previously stayed in the Trelyon suite,which has it's own terrace,and is really beautiful,the Godrevy suite,is just stunning,beautifully appointed,( as are all the suites ) decorated in creams and pale blues,it is a large, airy,lovely room,dual aspect,with two of the windows having wonderful sea views.
The hotel is,as I have previously reviewed,immaculate, and absolutely beautiful.
If you read my previous reviews of Blue Hayes,I cannot add anything more,Malcolm is a superb proprietor,but more than that,he is genuinely interested in his guests,and is very caring.
We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary again whilst there,and yet again we had a personalised card and champagne in our room,these are the thoughtful gestures that Malcolm makes, remembering special occasions from our previous visits.
I cannot fail to mention Sue again,what a wonderful lady ! Sue greets everyone like friends returning,and will always "go the extra mile " to ensure that you are happy,and like Malcolm,is genuinely interested in the guests.
Jade and Stephanie are two really lovely young ladies,who work tirelessly in the dining room or on the terrace,serving meals and also work on reception.
Malcolm and all his staff,( I apologise for not mentioning them all by name ) continue to make Blue Hayes,something VERY SPECIAL, (we have now booked in for next year and following years ! )
If you want somewhere, wonderful,magic,immaculate,friendly and perfect,then choose Blue Hayes,you WONT be disappointed !!

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful,Trelyon Suite has it's own terrace,Master,Bay,and Godrevy suites all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitty093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spent three days in the Blue Hayes Private Hotel, and we simply could not have asked for better accommodations. Malcolm, the proprietor, has spared no expense nor overlooked any detail in his extensive three year renovation of this beautiful property. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary, and we arrived to find a large greeting card and a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne. The view from our suite was stunning. The location, a 10 minute walk up the paved footpath from St. Ives was perfect. The included breakfasts were delicious and generous with an extensive selection. We cannot overstate the attention we received from Malcolm and his staff. They know what it takes to make their guests in this six suite hotel feel welcomed and pampered. Visiting with Malcolm, himself, was worth the trip. If you have a chance to visit the Blue Hayes we highly recommend it. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abby1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A lovely hotel. We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved every minute. We were greeted as Mr and Mrs on our arrival and welcomed by champagne in our room. The Treylon suite was perfect and it was great to have the privacy of our own balcony. A really quiet get away and we barely noticed the other guests. We were able to park the car in the hotel's car park. St Ives was easily accessible by the coastal path.The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts are truly fantastic and catered brilliantly for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. Breakfast was enjoyed with fantastic views of St Ives and the sea. Expensive but well worth the money as a treat.

Room Tip: Trelyon has a private balcony (but not much of a sea view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachandmart186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A lovely place. Things couldn't have been better. Malcolm and his staff are true professionals in taking care of their customers. All aspects from our room to food served were brilliant. We will definitely be back, the sooner the better. Would recommend this little piece of heaven to everyone in need for a relaxing vacation with great oceanic views and nature, good food and arts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing