We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can Count on The Old Count House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Count House
Ranked #50 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Bury
1 review
“You Can Count on The Old Count House”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My wife and I first stayed at The Old Count House some five or six years ago, having found the hotel on the Internet. We knew St. Ives quite well but had never stayed there.

When arriving at a hotel for the first time, one is never quite sure what to expect. My first impression was that the building had character and charm, with a good degree of history.

The hotel is well situated, overlooking the town and bay, close to the sports complex and main car park and within comfortable walking distance (ten minutes) of the town centre and beeches using a public footpath, provided one does not mind steep hills and steps. This is excellent exercise, especially on the return journey. For those preferring a slightly gentler route, there is a longer walk to the town and beeches along the roadside. There is also a regular bus service between the main car park and the town centre.

Being situated in a small square with houses and guest accommodation on both sides, parking at the hotel sometimes requires a good degree of skill, especially if one has a large vehicle. I have never failed to find a free parking place.

We found thr proprieters, Ken and Cheryl Canning, as charming as the property, so much so that we have returned each year (exzcept one) since our first experience.

The rooms are, perhaps, a little small because they have been altered to accommodate en-suite facilities and one has to make some allowances for what is possible and practical in such an old building. The rooms are kept clean and comfortable.

The hotel is primarily a bed and breakfast establishment and there is a wide choice of items on the menu. One is expected to complete a form stating one's meal preferences on the previous evening. Having forgotten to do so on the odd occasion has made no difference and we have still eaten a most satisfactory meal. As regards lunches and evening meals, there are several fine cafés and restaurants in St. Ives.

We have come to know Ken and Cheryl quite well over the years, sharing with them a good sense of humour, an appreciation of good food and wine and, for Ken and myself, a love of Jazz music.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Old Count House.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Daffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    18
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stevenage
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We have just returned from a lovely weekend stay at The Old Count House.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and felt at home throughout our time there, our room was bright and very clean with a lovely en suite bathroom.
We found breakfast to be of a high standard and enjoyed the hospitality we were offered.
The location was perfect for access to the town and transport links.
Ken and Cheryl are very good hosts and we would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

  • Liked — the friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We would like to highly recommend the Old Count House.( and my husband and I are quite fussy where we stay)

Since 2001,we have stayed at the Count House on several occasions.Each time has been a truly memorable experience.

The owners Ken and Cheryl offer very warm and friendly hospitalilty, which is second to none.

The Old Count House is beautifully maintained. It is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Ken tirelessly maintains the decor year on year, which sympathetic to the age of the property.

The rooms are immaculate and very homely.The beds are comfy. The bathrooms, again are beautifully clean and well presented.

Each morning the breakfasts are lovely and Cheryl will always accomodate guests with different dietary requirements.

If you want to self cater,there is a great self contained flat with beautiful views over St Ives Bay.

You will always get a relaxed nights sleep as the Count House is situated away from the bustle and noise of the centre of the town.

It is a 10 minute walk from town centre and there are glorious views on the way to the town. Coming back up the hill is great exercise. For the less adventurous there is a bus every 10 minutes to and from the town.

While there is no bar and food at night, this should not deter guests, as there are some fabulous places to eat in the town.We love trying the different restaurants that pop up each time we visit and is all part of the fun ( we prefer it to be honest as at least you don't have to put up with loud guests who have had to many sherries at dinner!)

We love staying at the Count House for many reasons and would thoroughly recommend it.

Every stay is truly memorable, full of laughter and friendship and cherished moments, which is what a holiday should be about. These wonderful memories will stay with use forever.

The Count House is another jewel in the crown of one of the most beautiful places in the UK , ST Ives.

We are counting the days until we return..........

Julia and Kevin Regan, Derbyshire

  • Liked — The warmth and friendliy atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Treasuredfriendships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Just returned from yet another relaxing holiday at the Old Count House. As always we received a warm welcome from Ken and Cheryl, and we were soon able to unwind in the comfortable surroundings of our bright and clean room. Parking is available at the property - a big asset when staying in St. Ives. There is an extensive choice of items available for breakfast, and the cooked breakfasts are beautifully prepared with great table service. The exclusion of pets and young children makes this a good place for a quiet retreat and there is a lounge and conservatory available for the guests to use. The guest house is in walking distance of the town, but buses are available close by for those who need them. We particularly enjoy leaving the car behind and making use of the excellent bus and train services which operate through this part of Cornwall. Ken and Cheryl are always keen to ensure that their guests are happy and have everything they need. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Liked — quiet peaceful atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuppas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, East Sussex
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We had a most enjoyable holiday at St Ives which was enhanced by the very friendly and welcoming service received by the proprietors of the accommodation that we were staying at: The Old Count House. Cheryl and Ken were very easy going and helpful and made the most delicious breakfasts. If you have any problems or issues they are always available to help you.

The room was very comfortable, especially the bed where a good nights sleep was had every night which is surprising when it isn't your own bed!

The accommodation is situated in a very quiet location which is a stones throw away from the hustle and bustle of the lovely St Ives harbour. Would recommend!

  • Liked — The Bed and then the Breakfast after bed! As wel as the friendly service.
  • Disliked — The hill up to the accommodation!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripple_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rathlena
Rathlena
#37 of 102 in St Ives
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#31 of 102 in St Ives
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlill
Carlill
#44 of 102 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Count House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Count House

Property: The Old Count House
Address: 1 Trenwith Square, St Ives TR26 1DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Count House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Old Count House Hotel St Ives
The Old Count House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing