We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay, friendly staff and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay, friendly staff and good value for money”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel. The hotel did have a problem with their boiler during our stay, but staff were most helpful under the difficult situation they found themselves in. This did not spoil our stay and we will be returning. The hotel is ideally situated for walking into St Ives, food is very good and nothing is too much trouble for the staff who we found very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are very luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobbin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    375
    242
    147
    76
See reviews for
244
897
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2011

It was our first visit to the Porthminster Hotel and did not know what to expect.
The food was very good and also the service and the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The general cleanliness was very good. We were lucky to have had one of the refurbished rooms, which was very tastefully decorated and very modern. Our stay was very enjoyable and we would visit this hotel again.
Liz & Dennis Spearing

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alesha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We had a fantastic weekend break in February. The food was wonderful and the complimentary tea and coffee very welcome. All the staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Our room overlooked the sea and was very comfortable. The goose down pillows were an added luxury. We could not fault the hotel in any way. We will definately be returning there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scampi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

arrived mid afternoon to a warm and informative greeting. room on the road side but no excessive noise. room and communal areas all recently refurbished to a high standard and kept very clean. excellent breakfast with stunning views from the restaurant. would certainly go again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortbreakers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We booked a double room for our wedding anniversary, and were delighted to find that we had the most wonderful view of St Ives Bay from our window.We could hear the waves crashing onto the beach below, it's wonderful to drift off to sleep to that sound.The bed was extremely comfortable,and the bathroom was well appointed with lovely toiletries and huge fluffy towels.
In the book about the hotel, which lists all the amenities, I enjoyed reading about the history of the building. The restaurant where we had our superb breakfast had a huge picture window overlooking the beach below. I could have sat there for hours.
The walk into town took 10 minutes or so, and we enjoyed visiting all the little art galleries and studios.We bought two paintings!We will definately be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniapgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Arriving for what promised to be a wet weekend in cornwall was turned in to a perfect getaway and a real treat by the staff at the Porthminster/Harbour hotel and wonderful St Ives. The changes that were well under way on my last visit appear to have been wonderfully implemented, the bar and restaurant being the star attractions of the hotel, truly stunning views from which to sip an early evening (and well earned) glass of wine. The management seem to have all in order and nothing was too much trouble, we were again made to feel very much at ease and truly welcomed by the reception staff and the restaurant service was fantastic. The food is served in a beautiful environment, really classy. There are lots of great places to eat in St Ives but really it's hard to beat the restaurant for ambiance in the evenings and breakfast is a joy looking out over the sea. Locally I visited Cape Cornwall for the first time on teh advice of the management and it was truly stunning, I promised myself I will pack my golf clubs next time to have a go at the course there! Of course St Ives has the usual gift shops, art galleries/shops etc and it all made up to a lovely visit, nice and quiet out of season with great food, dramatic views, cosy pubs and the best bed i have ever slept in!! Top stuff and I will visit (yet)again..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlowmuddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

St Ives is a special place for me as its where we used to go on family holidays as a child,it has many fond memories. My husband bought us this weekend away as a Christmas present. To stay in a hotel of this caliber was a real treat. Nothing was too much trouble, incredible service and excellent food, I would not hesitate to recommmend it to anyone wanting a little 'us' time with a loved one, we were so relaxed that we didnt want to come home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickOC1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing