We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Staff were friendly and very helpful, food was excellent, bed was comfortable, could not fault the hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear harleighhouse

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

Your feedback is of such great value as we continue to grow and improve in what we do here and it is a powerful motivating tool for all the team.

I hope we may welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    364
    225
    137
    64
See reviews for
217
844
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Absolutely wonderful stay at this hotel, despite being under refurbishment, the management have gone to great lengths not to cause any disruption to the guests. Our room was one of the unfurbished ones, however very clean and comfortable and the staff could not do enough to help if you had any concerns. We loved our stay and are keen to retun in the Spring and will be excited to see the new Spa and sample more of the chef's wonderful cuisine. Location superb, felt right at home despite being a large hotel, willing staff what more could you want - looking forward to returning in the New Year.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Kath010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this site. It is gratifying to read that some of our hard work is being noticed and also that you had a genuinely enjoyable stay with us.

I do hope to welcome you back in the New Year when I am certain you will notice further improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

You can never know, when booking a hotel, just what you're letting yourself in for. This was true for us when booking our break at the Porthminster, we needn't have worried. From the reception staff, to the young ladies who cleaned our room, everyone was friendly and helpful without being over familiar.

Our room was beautifully refurbished with a king size four poster bed & good size en suite bath/shower. Everything was very clean. From our balcony the panoramic view over Porthminster beach & the whole of St Ives was breathtaking. The pillows & duvet are goose down filled & the bedding soft, comfortable cotton, towels large, white & fluffy.
For me, the only down side was that the bed was a little too soft, causing a bit of backache, but thats my weekness, my husband slept like the proverbial log.

There is a breakfast selection to suit everyone, served in the refurbished dinning room overlooking St Ives bay (we were lucky enough to see dolphins feeding just off the beach one morning). The dinner menu is imaginative, veried & for the most part, delicious. We only booked bed & breakfast but elected to dine in the hotel most nights, as the food was so good.

It's in a great location both for St Ives harbour & town, just a few minutes walk down the hill, & access to touring routes. The car park is small but, somehow, it works.

We will certainly be going back to this gem of a hotel & would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear wanderer123_10

I am indebted to you for this great feedback. I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Should a future visit be of interest I would welcome the opportunity of providing a firmer bed. All our beds have luxury 'toppers' which can indeed feel quite soft!!

My huge thanks again and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had a great few days here and hope to return. Didn’t get in the car until it was time to go home. Took a train to Hayle one day and walked back, walked to Zennor and took the bus back, also walked the St Michael’s Way to St Michael’s Mount, bus back. PM me if you want details.

The location and views are perfect. We were allocated an unrefurbished room, its sea view spoiled by scaffold poles, so asked reception to move us and they quickly did. Our bed was very comfortable, the pillows better than most; we slept well until the people above got up – the floors are creaky! The shower was excellent, although anyone much over 5’10” would struggle to stand under the fixed head and the amount of water it used made no concessions to eco warriors.

All our restaurant meals were first class; there was a wide-ranging menu with several new dishes every day, a skilled hand was at work in the kitchen, and service was friendly and efficient. Try and get a window table, at least if there’s daylight when you’re eating.

Breakfast was good too, if not offering as wide a choice as you might be used to. There was no cheese or cold meat, for example, and the selection of bread and pastries was limited. Not that we minded, and it is, after all, a fairly small hotel. Cooked breakfasts, included in the B&B price, were good.

Staff members were consistently impressive. Special mention to Sarah on reception, restaurant supervisor Mark, and Bill on building maintenance, not forgetting the unseen and unsung kitchen staff and chambermaids.

Criticisms?

• Well, parking can be a bit of a pain. If you use the main car park, you have to hand your keys to reception, so they can move your car if necessary. The alternative is down a steep hill to the overflow car park.
• The electric towel rail was far too small for our bathroom – it was hard to fit the enormous towels on it, let alone get worthwhile heat. The mirror light didn’t work and the single ceiling light was hopeless for shaving or make-up application.
• Bedroom light levels were too low for comfortable reading, with just five 25w bulbs for our very spacious room. 12w low-energy lamps would give twice the light for half the running cost. Thanks to arumat’s review, we were forewarned and took a supply of bulbs with us! There were both BC and SES fittings in our room. All had candle bulbs but would take bigger ones.
• I checked before booking that I’d have Internet access but the service was appalling throughout our four-night stay. Most days, it was ok, if a bit slow, when I took my laptop to reception. But it was unusable or very flaky in our room. They know this is an issue, so perhaps it will get fixed fairly quickly, but it certainly gave me some serious problems.
• Lastly, there a few areas where we felt insufficient attention had been paid to detail. Nothing important, just niggles like no information on using the telephone (e.g. how to call reception). The room needed a spring-clean– it was generally very clean but hidden horizontal surfaces such as the drapes over our bed had a fairly thick layer of dust. If I were the manager, I’d be carrying out a thorough survey and making lots of little improvements.

Would any of those stop us returning? Absolutely not, at least as long as they keep the prices reasonable. Don’t hesitate to book.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear DaveH

Thank you for your review, I am very cheered to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the main aspects of hospitality, comfort and food were to your entire delight.

The elements which were found wanting are, however, of much concern to me as it is these details that are of so much importance and are what help to set a great hotel apart from a good one.

Whilst the low level lighting is being addressed in our refurbishment, we are also ensuring that the most appropriate bulbs are being used in each light with imediate effect.

Of your comments the attention to room detail is the one which causes me the most alarm, quite simply this is unacceptable. Whilst I can see now how the failing occurred, this does not make it acceptable. I have now taken steps to avoid this in future, I am confident this will avoid future failings in attention to detail in our rooms.

The ongoing saga of our guest Wi-Fi is quite possibly the single most frustrating thing I am dealing with at present! We have spent a small fortune on this provision and it has been thoroughly dissatisfactory. The latest issue was that Apple products were not compatible and it was whilst fixing this that our IT company broke the router. Both these issues have now been addressed, not that this helps you now!

For now, thank you again so very much for this feedback, you have my personal assurance that when you revisit us next year you will witness even further improvements at our hotel.

My thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Managed to get a great deal. The Team are great, fantastic place to stay and good base to visit St Ives from. Would recomend the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Silverwestie

Thank you for writing your review, I am very pleased that you had a fantastic time with us!

I do hope we may be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

When I think of what I would like in a hotel that I am planning to stay at I think of: a friendly and efficient welcome, a quiet room to ensure a good nights slepp and some peace and quiet, I like unobstrusive courtesy, good food and cleanliness. Added to that I llike value for money. We got all of the above.
We went to St Ives for no other reason than a break, to relax and to walk along the coast path.
The hotel is perfectly sited with great views, close to the beaches, to the town and to the coastal path. Once we arrived we didn't use our car until we left - but we did use good buses.
Our welcome was efficient and courteous. The meals were wonderful. The staff were friendly, helpful and slick. The room was comfy, quiet and clean.
I gave 1 mark down for cleanliness ONLY because the path to the beach through the hotel gardens hosted a very small amount of litter and for me it marred the perfection of the place.
This is a great place and we got excellent value for money. I'm delighted we went, and if we went to St Ives again, I'd certainly try this hotel first.
My only gripe is ... why oh why the need for background music in the lounge and restaurant? Music is such a personal thing that it is not something that can be chosen for you. The good thing is that when I asked for it to be turned down and off the staff were wonderfully obliging. There were other guests who agreed with us. It wasn't Metallica or the like - it just seems unecessary. The place is so peaceful, why break the peace. Other wise ALL GOOD ..... and if that is the only gripe, it can't be bad!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzurisanaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear mzurisanaCoventry

Thank you for this great feedback, it is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Opinions are often divded on the provision of back ground music, we have very recently switched to a locked iPod which plays at a constant low level volume - prior to this there had been a tendancy for it to be played a little too loudly, I am pleased that we addressed this for you at the time and in future I do not think we'd have the same issue again.

Hopefully you will come back and see us again, this time with no musical interuptions!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel is on the main road as you go toward the centre of St Ives, so you can't miss it. We didn't experience any noise from the traffic and our room was on that side of the hotel. The building has been there years by the look of it and has an old style elevator still. The main areas like the reception and corridors look a little dated mainly because of the carpet and wallpaper. But it's big and this is all left behind once you enter a newly refurbished room. They've made them feel more modern but simple compared to the rest of the hotel. The work is still going on with other areas like the pool, but we didn't see this. The rooms are cosy and have everything you need and the bathrooms are really nicely fitted.

The restaurant is on the floor below the main entrance and has also been re-done. Large windows look out down on to Porthminster beach and it's a great view for breakfast. There's a great selection of hot or cold food for breakfast and the staff are very attentive. The dinner menu changes every night, but there is another menu that stays the same and they do a good offer on the courses. The food was very good, had a bit more to it than the usual hotel restaurant and again the staff are good. They advise to book your table for dinner, we did and the room wasn't actually full as it's quite large.

The car park it opposite the building and they do fit in a lot of cars. Can be a tight squeeze, but they ask that you leave your car keys with the reception and they have a man that moves all the cars around when there are a lot of guests, or when there's a special event.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the best thing about the hotel is it's location. Looking out across the beach and then it's less than a 10minute walk into the main area of St Ives. So it's easy to enjoy the town without experiencing any of the noise from the teenagers that roam the waterfront at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sn00pycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Sn00pycat

I am very grateful to you for taking the time to provide this feedback, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope, very much, to be able to personally welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HRS, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing