We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rude reception staff and the smallest room ever for nearly £300.00”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, rude reception staff and the smallest room ever for nearly £300.00”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in July 2010.
Great location on the hill with a short walk down to the Harbor and beautiful views from the breakfast room in the morning, BUT
We checked in on the sat, and my e mail confirmation stated that the balance of the stay was :
Total cost: £135.00
Tariff: Room and Breakfast
Deposit Received: £67.50

Needless to say, upon check out, the rather rude receptionist said that i was silly to think the balance would only be that much and that i should have read and checked the e mail properly, to which i replied,' The hotel e mailed me the tarriff, why would i question it!
There was no response to this., she then proceeded to cross out the figure on my e mail and charge us double.

We got the keys for our room and to say it was small was an understatement! I walked in and fell over the bed, our view was a wall and the space, well...there wasn't any.
Clean and tidy yes, but more a room for a single person and certainly not what i would expect for the money we ended up paying!

Overall a fab wedding and a lovely location but we certainly wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertstravellerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Dear HertstravellerHerts,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed the 'fab wedding', the views from our restaurant plus of course, our spectacular location.

What a shame we managed to spoil your experience by charging you more than you had expected for your two night stay!

I can understand why this would have been annoying for you and I'm extremely disappointed that the receptionist came across as rude at check out.

As you are aware the booking was for a standard non-view room at the rate of £135 per night for bed and breakfast - your email confirmation of 1st April stating this rate.

As you would also be aware, you had originally booked for 1 night at this rate, before then increasing the booking to 2 nights. Naturally the original daily rate was subsequently extended to the 2 nights, I am sorry that we did not make this more clear to you at the time.

Anyway, I am most dismayed that we did not deal with the matter to your satisfaction and therefore if you would care to contact me directly I would be delighted to attempt to put things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    375
    242
    147
    75
See reviews for
244
896
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We had our wedding ceremony and reception on 12th June at the Porthminster Hotel and it exceeded all our expectations in every way. The staff were fantastic - they couldn't do enough to help to make sure our day was special. The food was spectacular - we had a buffet wedding breakfast followed by jelly set in sandcastle buckets for our beach theme. The bbq in the evening was also superb.
The hotel is being refurbished and there was a fear that the building work would spoil things. There were builders (working on a Saturday!) outside the suit when the bridal party were getting ready and a couple of fences put up at the side of the hotel but it didnt't impact on the day. The rooms have been designed to a high standard which makes the view to Porthminster beach and St. Ives absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ems999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Having stayed here last year and having to give a bad review i was encouraged to re-visit and experince the hotel again.

Well...what a difference.....
The refurbishment works are almost complete in the public areas and rooms.
Had a sea vew room again which was wonderful, the refurbished rooms are clean, look pleasant and are well decorated.

After a bad experience in the restaurant last time - it has been completely transformed (I recognised some of the staff - they must have been re-trained as there attention to detail and customer service has improved some 1000%)

Outside swimming pool has been cleaned up and looks inviting enough to swim in.

I would like to thank the hotel manager for being persistant in standing up for the hotel during the bad reviews it had, and to compliment him and the staff for their hard work and customer service.

Well done

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank normanpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Location: Not perfect for getting into town, but absolutely wonderful for Porthminster Beach. Do beware that the walk to town is downhill, which of course means that the walk back to the hotel is uphill and could be a struggle for some.

Room: It appears that they are refurbishing some rooms in the hotel. We got a refurbished room which was very nicely done, but was in a strange part of the hotel. It almost felt like a basement (lots of stairs to get to it!) and had no view what-so-ever. The window was actually textured glass so you couldnt see out or in. We peeked in one of the sea view rooms and they were more dated, but better location. So take your pick.

Etc: The pool was under construction and the fitness centre was closed. If this is important to you, you may want to check to see if these are open before you visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

A largish hotel in a good position overlooking the beach and only a short walk from the centre of St Ives. The dining room has a panoramic view of the bay and the food is good. However, our room was very poor - no air-conditioning, the window in the bathroom would not open (paint sealed) and there was no other ventilation. Also the toilet seat was loose. The bath towels were massive but only one would fit on the small radiator and the one small hook on the bathroom door wouldn't hold the other one.

To add to this poor experience, we returned from a performance at the Minack Theatre (highly recommended) at 11.20 pm to find the hotel locked up. There was no response when we rang the bell nor was there any reply when I phoned the hotel number. Fortunately after 20 minutes the restaurant manager, who was going home, came out through the front door and we were able to get in. Also fortunately, she had a key to the locked reception so we were able to retrieve our room key. We find it incredible that a hotel of this size should lock its doors so early and have no one available to open it. It was obvious that we were still out because we handed our key in when we went out. Next morning the manager said that someone shoud have been available to open the door and that he would have a word with him!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrockerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear jcrockerm

Thank you for your review. As I expressed at the time the failure of our Night Porter to ensure that all our guests were safely back at the hotel before securing the building was a totally unacceptable failure on his part. This has now been dealt with appropriately.

Again I express my apologies for his eagerness to secure the building and the knock-on implications this then had for you. I am also sorry that I clearly did not do enough to put the matter straight for you whilst you were with us, if you would care to contact me I would be delighted to now attempt to make amends for this unacceptable inconvenience on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

On arriving in our room we found complimentary cakes and bottled water. Also provided was tea making facilities. Bottled water was supplied free each and every day.
food was excellent quality
The waitresses were helpful and chatty and nothing was too much trouble for them. The view of St.Ives Bay from the dining room was stunning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Having got married at the weekend and unable to go on our honeymoon to Thailand due to the volcano eruption we decided a trip down to St Ives would be good and decided on 2 nights at the Porthminster which we thought was going to cost us £115 per night, just above our budget.

We arrived just in time for dinner on Wednesday night which was delicious if a little over cooked. the dining staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful and the views from the dining room were spectacular. A couple of drinsk were enjoyed in the bar after dinner and then off to bed.

Sadly we were woken at 6am by the builders arriving to start on the renovations that we weren't aware of. So much for the delicious lie in in the really comfortable bed.

That evening I have booked a table at the Porthminster Cafe which really was out of this world. The decor is 'beach chic', lots of wonderful smelling flowers every where. The service was immpeccable, friendly yet not over the top and the food was sensational. Delicious fresh Cornish fish and beef.

Friday morning we were again woken up early again by the buidling work. Went to check out to discover the £115 that we had originally been quoted was per person per night and completely blew our budget out of the water. Throughout the stay we felt we were getting good value for money and the hotel was fairly priced, however getting the bill at the end of the stay really was a bitter pill to swallow. We live in London and had stayed in a 4* hotel for our wedding night which was cheaper than the Porthminster.

The duty manager was helpful and kindly reduced our bill by £150.

Overall a lovely hotel, great location, fantastic service but get a deal if you're going to stay as £230 a night is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristallTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear KristallTips

Thank you for your review.

I am alarmed that you were disturbed by our refurbishment programme which has been specifically designed so as not to impact upon our guests. It is also disappointing to hear that you do not feel you received value for money given this fact.

I am delighted that the Duty Manager did the right thing in reducing your bill; I do hope this retrospective room rate of £155 was acceptable, given the quality of the room and service received.

I do hope you may consider a future stay with us; should this be the case please let me know personally so I may extend to you every courtesy. If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing