We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but very noisy plumbing on higher floors!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Maybe I am being slightly harsh by only giving 3 out of 5 overall however for me a hotel is all about getting a good night's sleep. The hotel's public areas have been decorated to an extremely high standard and sitting in the bar looking over the bay you feel like you are staying in a 5 star. The room we were allocated though, although acceptable was no way near this standard although it was huge and space was no issue.
The only reason I have not given this hotel 4 out of 5 is as I mentioned earlier, sleep quality. My girlfriend and went to bed at midnight and were falling asleep about half an hour later when a tremendous racket started. The noise I can only describe as sounding somewhat like a jet engine with worn out main bearings. The noise carried on for about 10 minutes then stopped.... Few. A few minutes later and it started again. By this time I was out of bed and investigating. It was only when I went into the bathroom and turned on the bath taps that I realised what the noise was. This is a tall building and the pumping system to get the water to the top floor was deafening. I can only assume it as on its way out as I have stayed plenty of tall buildings before and never encountered this before.
The room on one side chose to shower really late and the other side really early meaning only a 5 hour window to sleep. If it was not for this, I would have given 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pootleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I am pleased that you found the Hotel to be of a high standard. Regarding the plumbing I am really sorry that your sleep was disturbed. I can genuinely explain that whilst this is an old building this is not something that has happened before and has since been resolved by our plumber. I hope this doesn't put you off coming back again soon and giving us another try. Kind regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

great place - lovely food stunning views and valet car parking what more can you want. and a spa to - went with daughter and granddaughter - have been there many times but not for many years a great improvement

Room Tip: always have one with a view its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read you had a great stay and that you have been before. I home you will come again soon.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the st ives harbour hotel and have come away with mixed feelings. We are regulars at the south sands hotel in salcombe and were hoping that this hotel would have a similar vibe. While the decor and the location of the hotel is good and the spa is wonderful it is let down in other areas.
While staff were friendly the service was not what you would expect from the kind of hotel this is trying to be ie we went along for the well advertised cocktail happy hour but the bar staff weren't clear on what the happy hour included and were unable to provide a cocktail menu (they hastily photocopied one for us in the end), they never produced the nibbles we requested, and the resulting mojitos were so bad we couldn't drink them. In the restaurant, again the staff were friendly, but were poorly presented ie stained uniforms.
The food in the restaurant was mediocre and if we did stay again we would not opt for the dinner, bed and breakfast tariff as we would chose to eat elsewhere.
The final issue I think that is worth mentioning is the check out process. We had prepaid for our stay and so were expecting a bill on check out of about £80 for a couple of bottles of wine and lunch. However we were presented with a bill of over £150!! We went through this with the lady on reception and she acknowledged numerous items had been incorrectly added to the bill which she removed without quibble. However, this does raise concern about the hotels systems and could result in people being overcharged.
In summary, the recent rebranding and renovation of the hotel shows it is striving for that boutique status but looks aren't everything and the hotel will need to address the above issues before that status is achieved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juicy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I am disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations and can only apologise. I will take all of your comments on board and I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location. Upgraded to a room fit for a queen. Food excellent spa relaxing. Staff very helpfull. Wonderful holiday. Looking forward to returning. Seagulls friendly! Great stay xxx A big Thank you xxx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavenlylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for a fabulous review. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and had a great holiday. Hope to see you again soon. All the very best Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for just a single night, but what a night!

I had been looking for somewhere special to propose to my girlfriend, I decided on a picnic, and had planned to have it on the SW coastal path. Probably not the best idea in March!

The Hotel were lifesavers, I enquired with 24 hours notice and they were able to accommodate me in a beautiful suite at a very good rate (off season, midweek). Staff set-up the picnic in the room prior to our arrival, placing fresh flowers and chocolates around the room as an added extra!

The hotel is in a perfect position, overlooking Porthminster and the sea beyond, our suite was clean and spacious. As other reviews have mentioned, it was a little dated but to us that just added to the charm of the place and perfectly complimented the wrap around sea views from both the bedroom and living area.

Staff really pulled out all the stops to make sure it was a special occasion for both of us. I can't thank them enough, especially Elle and Rebecca who made sure everything was perfect.

Breakfast was had in the room for no extra charge, it was delicious! Salmon, Eggs, Bacon...and champagne! Combined with the view it was truly unforgettable.

The Spa is new and of a very high spec, Guests can use the spa at any time, tip: get in before 10am to avoid the Spa day crowd!

I really can't recommend this hotel enough, it made for a perfect venue for a proposal or similar special occasion.

ps- she said yes!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, plump for a Suite, the views really are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

WOW! Thank you for taking the time to write your review and a huge Congratulations to you. What a lovely proposal and romantic storey to tell. I wish you all the best and enjoy the planning of your wedding. Maybe bare us in mind for the wedding venue?
We hope you will visit again in the future and I will forward your review on to the team here.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel has been renovated very nicely and our room decor was great, with incredible views over Porthminster Beach. The food at breakfast & for room service was very good. The staff were in general pleasant & helpful but seemed over stretched, particularly at breakfast service. Not sure what Harbour Hotels strategy is but from the decor it seems like it's trying to be a boutique hotel yet perhaps still has the old staff from the previous owners so the service doesn't match the slick new decor & still feels like a traditional St Ives holiday hotel. The check out & parking process really was incompetent. Knowing there were issues with parking you'd think at peak check out time front desk would have factored this in and had some kind of process and explanation/ apology ready. Despite asking at 9.20 for our car to be driven down for 10am nothing had been done so we and a number of other guests had to wait 30mins to be driven up to Tregenna Castle to collect the cars. An unnecessary frustration that marred the end of our stay due to incompetence and lack of a basic understanding of customer service from the lady on reception that morning. Shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKCC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, views and your overall stay at the Hotel. I am sorry you experienced difficulties with retrieving your car. Due to circumstances beyond our control (South West Water) we were having to park a limited number of cars at Tregenna as you rightly pointed out. Both myself , my housekeeper and the day porter were doing our best to ensure cars were brought back down as quickly as possible that day and can only apologise that you were kept waiting. I hope this does not deter you from returning to the Hotel again in the future. Kind regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had our wedding at the St Ives Harbour Hotel on 29 June, we had the most amazing day, the staff were brilliant, we left everything to them and they didn't disappoint. Would thoroughly recommend it as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for a fantastic review. I am delighted you had a wonderful Wedding at the Hotel. The feedback is so rewarding for the Events and Food & Beverage Team. See you for your anniversary I hope. Best of luck with married life :) Kind regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
307 reviews
1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $139 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing