We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having loved St Ives since we first went there and stayed in quite a few of the hotels near to the town centre we decided to go again. This time we thought let's spend a bit more and go for a hotel with all the amenities you could wish for .......especially as it was my birthday week!

When we arrived at the harbour Hotel we were treated well at reception and upgraded to a full seaview room. We also checked out the a bar area with fantastic sea views.

+tive - Room immaculate, breakfast very good, service great, location very good, views lovely.

-tive - Nothing

In summary; A lovely stay in a stunning location!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but only when you check in and stick to your original price. the staff at the Har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you had a great stay and I hope you had a great birthday too.
I will forward your review onto my team here.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    375
    242
    147
    75
See reviews for
244
896
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at The Harbour Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed.
Hotel was immaculate, staff very friendly and helpful.
I only ate at the restaurant once (outside of breakfast) and food was ok.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1965davidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for the high rating. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The st Ives harbour hotel has always been one of our favourite places to stop for a drink an to just look out at the view. We decided to treat ourselves and stay at the hotel. We had such an amazing holiday, the staff there are fantastic. The food was delicious and the room was so comfortable, clean and relaxing. We are going to book for next year. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to hear you had an amazing holiday and that the hotel met all of your expectations form your previous visits. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the hotel, staying in the apartments opposite, and we were not disappointed. We took breakfast and dinner in the hotel's restaurant and both were very good, excellent choice and attentive staff who were polite without being overbearing. The hotel is being upgraded and we were shown one of the finished rooms which had a fabulous view over the bay. I used the spa and it was very well appointed.The manager, Mr Holgate seemed to be on hand for any little query, and his friendly attitude is to be commended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay here and it would be great to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my partner arrived at the hotel at the end of June and from the begining to the end we had an amazing stay, the food was fantastic, the views were amazing, the staff were lovely mainly the reception staff they were so warm and welcoming!

The hotel has recentley gone through a refurbishment and it looks stunning, so fresh and clean with a beach chic touch! very modern!

I am already planning my next trip to this hotel at the end of the year and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea view room its worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for rating us 5. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the St Ives Harbour Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived in St Ives a good few hours before check in and the reception was happy to have a porter to assist us with parking our car (which is directly opposite the hotel and more than secure). We checked in and made our way to our room to find somebody hoovering the sink in the bathroom and apologised as they had "just fitted a new shelf". We said we would come back and went to have a drink in the hotel bar. We struggled to find somebody to serve us but eventually someone did appear.

The room itself (Room 103) was a standard room and although very nicely decorated and we were perhaps one of the first guests to use the room we thought the bathroom was tiny and barely enough room to swing a cat in the shower which was a bit disappointing. Plus the bathroom door was sliding so not very private.

The breakfast the next morning was just very average for an establishment like this and the service wasn't great. We chose to have our evening meal (as it was part of a package to have dinner on one of the nights) on the second night and this was very poor. The prawn cocktail was very cheaply made in awful tall glasses so you could barely get to the bottom of what you were eating. The attentive service was non existent and we didn't bother having a dessert but chose to have a cup of tea and one of the biscuits in our room.

Upon checking our and making our way back home I was called on my mobile by a very rude receptionist demanding that I pay my outstanding bill of £127.00 and why hadn't we made ourselves known to the reception that we were checking out. (I think handing our keys back and saying that we were checking out was pretty clear). I challenged the £127.00 bill as I knew it was incorrect and she started to reel off all these items which we had NOT had. I was forward enough to ask her to carry on itemising these and then made it very clear of what the bill should have been. I eventually paid the correct bill of £7.90 ..... bit of a difference of £127. 00. DISGRACEFUL !!!!!! No apology - NOTHING.

To say that we will NOT be staying at this hotel if we ever visit St Ives again is an understatement. The hotel is far too big for its boots and needs to clean up its act if its expecting returning guests.

Go for a lovely guesthouse in St Ives as there are plenty of them !!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzyMP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am extremely disappointed to hear about the issues you had during your stay. I can only apologise for the hotel not delivering the level of service that we should be. I will be taking this further and will be looking into the incorrect billing and the phone call you received, again I am very sorry for this mishap.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

No parking instructions on any information started our few days away very badly. A large car with little space to turn and get it into a small lift, after a long journey not good. Call for instructions before you go. Parking throughout st Ives is awful.

A lovely welcome from mark who was consistently good throughout our stay.

Half of our party had newly refurbished rooms ours was very dated and the curtains were hanging off the rails. Comfy bed but noisy room.

The service was awful.
Breakfast , cheap juice no glass to put it in. A long wait for the glass to arrive.
Order tea, tea arrives, no milk, a long wait for milk.
Cereal, no bowl, a long wait for the bowl.
This happened every day

Surrounded by used bakfast tables as no one cleared them.

Weddings take priority and when finished the place looked a shambles.

Outside... Beware of the seagulls, they are a nightmare. Food left on uncleared tables attracted them and they dive bomb. Not a pleasant experience.

Won't revisit here

Helpful?
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing