We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for a week in November 2012 as a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were in room 104, which is a good-sized room with beautiful views over Porthminster Bay. The room is a bit tired as it hasn't been refurbished but the views and the sound of the waves more than compensate. Our only criticism was the cold bathroom with a large sash window where all the heat escaped. A pity because the large walk-in shower was really good.
The kitchen floor was being replaced whilst we were there and consequently the dining room had been moved downstairs to the function room where the chefs worked out of a tiny kitchen. They did amazingly well in the circumstances and we had some very nice meals with fresh fish daily. The service in the restaurant was generally good but occasionally patchy.
The Spa is a relaxing environment although the pool is rather compact. It was lovely to be able to swim each morning before a hearty breakfast.
The staff were very friendly overall and the hotel has a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere.
We travelled by train and the hotel is just a short (steep) walk up the path from the station.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. As you may have read in previous responses we have been undergoing a refurbishment and all of the rooms and bathrooms have been or are being updated.
We hope you will visit us again in the future to see the improvements that have been maid.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    366
    232
    140
    66
See reviews for
220
854
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

On writing this we are still staying in the hotel .we check out tomorrow tue 28th may 2013. I broke my foot down on the rocks on the beach (being action man),on the second day of a four day stay. The staff couldn't do enough. Genuinely nice people that really do care about their jobs. Nothing is too much and you can see it is a vocation and not a job with all members of the harbour hotel staff. Good chat with Alan who is a Liverpool lad like me. He looked after us a few days. Reception staff were brilliant and genuinely caring . Valets and waiting on staff couldn't do enough. Fantastic views from a lovely room. I found absolutely nothing to complain about. If you have a problem I am sure nothing would be too much for these people. A retesting change from meeting staff that do what they have to and just follow a script . Would recommend it to anyone . We will be returning in the future of that there is no doubt. I have read the few bad reviews that have been posted and I really cannot believe these people were talking about this hotel ??
Best advice see for yourself . My wife and me are seasoned travellers having travelled extensively so we speak from experience when we say the harbour is lovely . Try it for yourself you definately won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Wow thank you every so much for your really lovely review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear about your foot and hope that it heals quickly. It is such a pleasure to read reviews like yours and the staff will be so motivated by this. I will make sure your review is forwarded on to the whole team here.
Hope you have a safe trip home and that we see you again in the future, but perhaps with a little less action man stunts?
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, Devon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a three night break at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. It has lovely views from the hotel rooms and the terrace. Our bedroom was on the back so had no views but it was adequate and had a nice bathroom and comfy bed. The food they serve is of good quality and variety and the hotel staff are very friendly and pleasant. You can walk into St Ives through the garden path which takes you direct to the railway station. One disadvantage of the hotel is that there is no car park but you can park on the road to unload and then hand over the keys to one of the hotel staff who then drives your car and parks it up the road on an old garage forecourt. When you want the car you just have to let the staff know and it is brought to you at the hotel. This was no problem for us. I have stayed with Harbour Hotels before at the Salcombe Harbour Hotel, Devon, but this was closed for refurbishment but again a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartonbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for rating us five stars on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you had a great stay and that you have stayed in other harbour hotels. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked a double room on a Sunday night for just 1 night. Wasn't able to check in til 3 which was fine we went and had a drink on the terrace (which wasn't cheap) and was a little dissapointed with the state of the seats outside, there we no cushions on the chairs and brid poop and leaves all over the chairs and tables (wouldn't have taken 2 mins to sweep up). We got the key to the room and was a little disheartened to be honest. The room was TINY and we had lovely veiw of the car park and busy road, and the bathroom door hit the sink when opened. The room was clean and the bed and pillows were really comfortable. I wish we had asked to move room as I'm sure they couldnt have been fully booked on a Sunday night.
Breakfast was gross and not worth the extra money, should have walked 10 mins down the road to a local cafe.
The spa is beautiful and was really relaxing!
I think £160 for a night in a tiny room is a p*ss take and won't return on that basis. Which is shame as everything else ie the staff were lovely espcially Mark the guy who parks the cars :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on Trip Advisor.
I am disappointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your full expectations and can only apologise for this. I will take your comments on board and will look into it further.
I will pass your kind words onto Mark and the team, Thank you.
I hope you will reconsider and visit again in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We.stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. The food is the biggest asset. It was consistently excellent. Some of the best food we've eaten. 3 course set menu is delicious with something different every night. Spa was great. Staff were sometimes slow getting the drinks but very friendly so we didn't mind :-)

The rooms are comfy and very clean and the views.are beautiful.

Only constructive criticism is that they need to be more eco friendl, there are no places to recycle or no instruction if you want to save energy and not have new towels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOPH1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for rating us 5 stars.
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass your review onto the team.
I will look into your further comments.
We hope you will visit again soon.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here over last weekend for my wife's 40th birthday. Lovely hotel, free secure parking with valet service who are excellent. The hotel is going through a refurb, we had a brand new but extremely small room - probably a little overpriced for £150 a night b&b. however the bed was super comfy, the rainfall shower was brilliant too! Food very good, although the cooked breakfast is a little stingy with quantities. Overall a lovely hotel in a great location, 10 minute walk to town and the beach, but note its at the top of a fair hill. Drink in town- a pimms and lemonade was an eye watering £8.50!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattb3781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive review.
I hope you will visit again in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently got married at the St Ives Harbour Hotel, which also included our evening reception. I can't praise the hotel and it's staff enough for their efforts on the day. However even before the day the help and advice from the wedding co-ordinators Rebecca, Elle and Serene was second to none, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We cannot thank them enough for all of their hard work. As for the day itself, the hotel has one of the best views across the bay that we have ever seen and it was the perfect backdrop to not only the wedding but also the wedding breakfast and evening disco. We were both made to feel very special on the day and everything looked so much better that what we had imagined it to look like and everything went like clock work, we couldn't have wished or hoped for a more perfect day. From the start we always had an idea to incorporate bingo into our wedding day and we were a bit anxious about asking if it would be possible, but the wedding co-ordinators said it wouldn't be a problem and it was planned and organised to perfection. Everyone commented on what a lovely hotel it was and also how amazing the food was as well. Helen who looked after us from mid afternoon was also brilliant and no matter where or what she was doing if we needed anything she was right there to provide it, again we can't thank her enough for her help too! It was just a shame the day had to come to an end, but all the staff were really friendly and approachable and were prepared to do anything for anyone. We were upgraded to one of their apartments which was stunning to say the least, I felt like moving in permanently!! My mum had a room in the hotel and she was more than happy with the size of the room and bathroom that it had and couldn't fault the cleanliness in the room. Overall if your planning on getting married at this hotel then you needn't look any further because it is just perfect and you will not be disappointed. We can't wait to come back for our 1 year anniversary!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for rating us 5 stars.
Big Congratulations on your wedding, I am overjoyed to hear your day was perfect and so will the team here.I am glad your guests also agreed and we look forward to seeing you back for your anniversary.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HRS, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing