We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the second year running for a four day new year package & stayed an extra two nights.. We cannot speak highly enough of this hotel...
Fantastic staff, service & food.
New Years gala dinner was exceptional along with the evenings entertainment. Beautiful views from the hotel over Porthminster beach.
Above expectations. We will be returning .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the New Year Package so much and we very much hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    359
    219
    135
    64
See reviews for
212
834
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Harbour Hotel previously, the last time being 2 years ago, but this time were only staying for a single night. We had a room on the 3rd floor with sea view. The Harbour Hotel (previously Porthminster Hotel) has been running a renovation program for what seems like years and this is still ongoing. Certainly we noticed the difference this time. Parking across the road is now in a building rather than a free lot, the reception is renovated and some of the corridors were much more in keeping with the new feel than we'd seen before. Also there was no building work happening during our stay (a first).

It was very comfortable with our room giving us a great view of Porthminster beach. The shower struggled a little but worked in the end and the breakfast was good.

All-in-all this hotel is now coming together. The staff have always been friendly and helpful and there is no replacing the wonderful view. In the past the renovations have been sometimes imposing but we experienced no problems on this trip and were quite content.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliftTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, I am pleased that you can see the improvements that we have made to the hotel over the last few years. We are now on the final leg of the plans and the current works have little or no impact on our guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again and for you to see firsthand the final finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid-week in December. We were greeted by friendly staff and an offer to park our car on an adjacent road as the hotel does not have a car park attached. The hotel lies on a slightly dangerous junction so having to cross it to get to the car is not ideal. Although the public areas are very well presented, our room was very disappointing for the money with old-fashioned furniture and an old bed. We had asked for a sea-view and did get one but through a dirty rather high window. The bathroom was of a much better standard than the room. It would be worth asking for more details than we did if you like a sea-view and for one of the refurbished rooms as some of the other reviews indicate that these are much better.
The location of the hotel is good with an enjoyable 10 min walk to the beach and some good restaurants. The breakfast room is light and contemporary and the food good. Overall, if you get the right room this is a lovely place to stay and explore St. Ives from.

Room Tip: If you like a sea-view ask detailed questions about the window height/width etc!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiraKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcomed and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. In terms of our bedrooms we are in the process of refurbishing them all and very soon all will be completed to a standard commensurate with the rest of the hotel. I very much hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently stayed in the hotel with a friend and our girls. The overview: We had a lovely stay and I would go back. It does though depend what you are looking for. The hotel originally opened in 1893 (I think!) and is one of those wonderful old Victorian type buildings which has been amended and refurbished. Therefore if you're looking for sleek and modern this may not be the place for you (although the spa and a number of areas are now very contemporary).

This also means that some of the floors can be creaky (one of the floorboards in our room was - we learnt to avoid it). It also gives rise to one of the features of the hotel which you may love or hate - the lift. Its an old fashioned lift with an internal concertina door as well as the external door (think of the lifts in the Titanic film is you've watched it) and is a bit scarey when it stops. However I loved it (and it's probably more reliable than modern equivalents).

Reception
Friendly and helpful. We did have a mix up with our booking (and one with our bill) but both sorted quickly and to our satisfaction.
Room
We had a standard room. It was big enough and had everything we wanted. The towels are nice and thick. The beds were comfortable. There was a decent choice of tea and coffee (although only one pack of biscuits). As someone else mentioned - no fridge - but this wasnt an issue for us. There was a good hairdryer. The floorboards creaked in places but this wasnt a problem
Spa
Lovely pleasant spa. As others have said they could do with more loungers/chairs but we were mainly in the pool so it didnt really bother us. The views were lovely too. Steam room is good (plenty of steam). Staff efficient and friendly. Changing rooms not large and got very hot. Childrens swim times (when we visited) were 10-11 and 3.30 - 5
Food
The breakfasts were everything we wanted. A good choice of fruit, yoghurt and cereal to start and then whatever you wanted from a good choice. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and all thoroughly enjoyed it. The risotto wasnt seasoned very well but that was easy to put right. Everything was cooked perfectly and the tastes were excellent other than that. Again the views from the restaurant are fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your feedback, all of which has been taken on board and the appropriate actions have been taken. I very much hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

On the positive; Excellent location, beautiful views - short (though bit steep) walk down to the beach and / or into town. Nice facilities, great to unwind in the pool after a lovely long coastal walk. Breakfasts were good, plenty of variety and nicely cooked - though the stupidly large crockery made it difficult to fit everything onto the table and didn't make the waiting staff's job easy. The valet parking was a nice touch as the parking spaces were a little way from the hotel through steep and narrow roads so nice not to have to lug cases around. The spa was nice and easy to use. I agree with other comments I've seen though about there not being enough loungers - there were only about 6 and they were constantly in use.
On the not so positive; The reception staff were pleasant but didn't always follow through on things; we booked a table for an evening meal but the booking didn't reach the restaurant; they said our car keys would be returned to our room after valet parking but after an hour or so we had to go and track them down. The room was fine but we both found the beds, which were new, (2 single pushed together as a double) uncomfortable. We are usually excellent sleepers but had disturbed sleep on both nights. Nice sea view from the window but the torn curtains made the room look a bit shabby.
Although we booked a double room we were given a family room with a small room with bunk-bed attached - ironic really as it was our first weekend away without our little boy for 3 years....he would have loved it too....some pangs of guilt therefore felt!
We ate in the restaurant the first evening and the meal was good although we did return one starter as it was described as partridge with lentils and red-wine jus but came with a large serving of bacon bits which overpowered the flavour, and the smell, and was no good for someone that doesn't like bacon. They apologised for not mentioning the bacon on the menu and cooked another without the bacon which was delicious. Again attention to detail can make such a difference.
Other little things that niggled......wifi; it said available in all public areas and some rooms. We failed to get any signal in the bar, it was good in the lounge and dropped in and out in our room. Made planning what to do and where to go tricky - especially as we couldn't find any information on local attractions, walks, restaurants in the hotel. Problem made worse by lack of seating in the bar / lounge area. It had a number of large sofa / chair arrangements suitable for 6 or so people but it was all couples in during the weekend we were there and so it was hard to find somewhere to sit and relax without imposing on someone else.
Difficult to get served in the bar as the bar staff seemed to be constantly running in and out of the restaurant.
Wow, this seems a lot of negatives but they are just little niggles and it's such a shame as if only they could get some of the operational stuff up to scratch it would be a really lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room worth the extra money as they other side of the hotel very close to the road.....and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elefreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I completely agree that some of the points you mention make your break more frustrating than relaxing and I am so sorry that this was your experience and I do hope that that you will visit the hotel again so you can see firsthand that we respond to the feedback from our guests. Many thanks again and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay over the weekend 4-6 Jan celebrating a "significant birthday". First class service with a smile from all the staff. We had room 120 which developed a dodgy card access lock and so were moved to room 117 for the second night. (Staff moved all our belongings whilst we were out for the day) Both rooms were excellent, the second having a top floor position with a balcony overlooking the fabulous town of St Ives and Porthminster Beach. Beds were large and very comfortable. Both rooms were extremely spacious and well appointed. This really is a grand looking hotel with a wonderful old seaside charm about it. Evening meals and breakfasts were of an excellent standard and taken in the large main dining room with huge picture window wall overlooking the view to the beach below. Have to say they offered an excellent value weekend package with evening meals and cannot speak highly enough of the helpful attitude of the management and staff alike. Did try the Spa pool and jacuzzi but unfortunately missed out on the Spa treatments as all the appointments were taken.
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to return again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony. Really adds that special touch. Book Spa treatments well in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the St. Ives Harbour Hotel for your recent celebration and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The high-value website & brochure led us to think this was a contemporary styled hotel throughout. In fact the public areas (dining room, lounges, reception, and spa & pool) were indeed decorated to high standards in a contemporary manner; but the bedrooms are still in a twee, genteel 1950s English style.
Positives: superb views across the bay, staff genuinely friendly and helpful, train stops right outside, (will come on train next time), clean throughout, breakfast very good, dinner okay. Comfortable lounges with no TV (hurrah), good value offer on long weekend. Beds dreamily comfortable with thick toppers. I liked the informal reception - no severe bar between you & staff. Town centre is easy walking distance. Beach immmediately below. Very enjoyable swims in spa pool.
Negatives: No parking (but hotel parks car for you & staff help with bags), bedroom balcony was uncared for (slippery, weed infested, loose wires hanging in bundle), floor boards creaked very loudly all over bedroom, service automatically added, no fridge, drinks on expensive side. Steep paths would be a barrier for people with mobility problems.
We will be happy to return.

Room Tip: Get a suite in high season, so that you have somewhere to sit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BewdleyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am so pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with and that you will return to the hotel at some stage in the future. I thank you for bringing some of the shortcomings to my attention and can assure you that they have all been addressed as a matter of urgency and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing