We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay over the weekend 4-6 Jan celebrating a "significant birthday". First class service with a smile from all the staff. We had room 120 which developed a dodgy card access lock and so were moved to room 117 for the second night. (Staff moved all our belongings whilst we were out for the day) Both rooms were excellent, the second having a top floor position with a balcony overlooking the fabulous town of St Ives and Porthminster Beach. Beds were large and very comfortable. Both rooms were extremely spacious and well appointed. This really is a grand looking hotel with a wonderful old seaside charm about it. Evening meals and breakfasts were of an excellent standard and taken in the large main dining room with huge picture window wall overlooking the view to the beach below. Have to say they offered an excellent value weekend package with evening meals and cannot speak highly enough of the helpful attitude of the management and staff alike. Did try the Spa pool and jacuzzi but unfortunately missed out on the Spa treatments as all the appointments were taken.
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to return again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony. Really adds that special touch. Book Spa treatments well in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the St. Ives Harbour Hotel for your recent celebration and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    359
    219
    135
    64
See reviews for
212
834
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The high-value website & brochure led us to think this was a contemporary styled hotel throughout. In fact the public areas (dining room, lounges, reception, and spa & pool) were indeed decorated to high standards in a contemporary manner; but the bedrooms are still in a twee, genteel 1950s English style.
Positives: superb views across the bay, staff genuinely friendly and helpful, train stops right outside, (will come on train next time), clean throughout, breakfast very good, dinner okay. Comfortable lounges with no TV (hurrah), good value offer on long weekend. Beds dreamily comfortable with thick toppers. I liked the informal reception - no severe bar between you & staff. Town centre is easy walking distance. Beach immmediately below. Very enjoyable swims in spa pool.
Negatives: No parking (but hotel parks car for you & staff help with bags), bedroom balcony was uncared for (slippery, weed infested, loose wires hanging in bundle), floor boards creaked very loudly all over bedroom, service automatically added, no fridge, drinks on expensive side. Steep paths would be a barrier for people with mobility problems.
We will be happy to return.

Room Tip: Get a suite in high season, so that you have somewhere to sit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BewdleyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am so pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with and that you will return to the hotel at some stage in the future. I thank you for bringing some of the shortcomings to my attention and can assure you that they have all been addressed as a matter of urgency and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

There are a lot of mixed reviews on here but from my experience of the hotel, it was brilliant. Firstly, arriving, there is a small car park opposite that allows you to dump the car and get some help from reception if there is no one already there. There have been comments about the parking, but in all honesty, St Ives is tiny, it's not a town that was built for lots of cars. The porters were happy to park the car and provide a shuttle service to the over flow if the car park is full - any time, day or night. Our room was large, great big window and a lovely en-suite. Such a comfortable bed. My only comment would be we couldn't open any windows with a huge amount of success. Food was brilliant, lovely evening meal and a wide selection for your brekkie. Our package included a spa treatment which I thoroughly enjoyed, although my partner appeared from his and jokingly said he'd been assaulted - but I think he's just a bit of a wimp. Helpful and friendly staff. Will be returning!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 119LJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you're quite right, St. Ives was not really designed for cars but we try and make the most of the situation and really does make for beautiful scenery. I very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a lovely break between Xmas and new year. The food was fabulous, service a bit slow especially at breakfast, but the view made up for it. the hotel is beautifully decorated. Our room was a bit small especially the bathroom, but overall a really good weekend. Will go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so sorry that you experienced slow service at breakfast. Whilst we do encourage a leisurely breakfast, I can completely understand that this at times can hinder peoples plans for the day ahead. I am so pleased that you will be returning to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent 4 day Christmas break 23-27th December with my husband and mother at the hotel and it was fantastic. From the moment we checked in to the day we left the staff made our stay very special with little touches like a Xmas stocking outside our room and present on Christmas day and they were always cheerful and friendly. The food was amazing and no shortage of champagne, we also found the bar charges resonable. Our room had a balcony looking over the sea and was lovely and bed enormous! Special thanks to Jenny, Gabrielle in the restaurant and Melissa on the bar, you were all lovely, thank you and hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tilucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel over the Christmas period, I know that the team will be motivated by your praise. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too different future (next Christmas at the very latest).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel with beautiful scenery, really helpful staff and a trip to the spa is a must!! On site parking is really handy too. The breakfast was delicious with fantastic views over the bay. One of the most romantic hotels ive sayed at.
We will be returning :) Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebekah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We really do look forward to welcoming back again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very friendly hotel with a fantastic view of Porthminster beach and surrounding coastline .
From beginning to the end of our stay the hotel staff could not do enough for us, hotel and restaurant service was 1st class. The rooms were adequate and clean and having a sea view made the stay extra special.
The 4 day Xmas package was amazing value for the money we paid, food and champagne in abundance and served with a smile. The management team attended the champagne reception and spent time with every guest making sure all was ok.
The hotel management and staff made our Xmas stay a very enjoyable and memorable experience .
Thank You

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that the team here made your Christmas so enjoyable and we hope that we are able to welcome you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing