We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed January 5, 2013

There are a lot of mixed reviews on here but from my experience of the hotel, it was brilliant. Firstly, arriving, there is a small car park opposite that allows you to dump the car and get some help from reception if there is no one already there. There have been comments about the parking, but in all honesty, St Ives is tiny, it's not a town that was built for lots of cars. The porters were happy to park the car and provide a shuttle service to the over flow if the car park is full - any time, day or night. Our room was large, great big window and a lovely en-suite. Such a comfortable bed. My only comment would be we couldn't open any windows with a huge amount of success. Food was brilliant, lovely evening meal and a wide selection for your brekkie. Our package included a spa treatment which I thoroughly enjoyed, although my partner appeared from his and jokingly said he'd been assaulted - but I think he's just a bit of a wimp. Helpful and friendly staff. Will be returning!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 119LJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you're quite right, St. Ives was not really designed for cars but we try and make the most of the situation and really does make for beautiful scenery. I very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a lovely break between Xmas and new year. The food was fabulous, service a bit slow especially at breakfast, but the view made up for it. the hotel is beautifully decorated. Our room was a bit small especially the bathroom, but overall a really good weekend. Will go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry that you experienced slow service at breakfast. Whilst we do encourage a leisurely breakfast, I can completely understand that this at times can hinder peoples plans for the day ahead. I am so pleased that you will be returning to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent 4 day Christmas break 23-27th December with my husband and mother at the hotel and it was fantastic. From the moment we checked in to the day we left the staff made our stay very special with little touches like a Xmas stocking outside our room and present on Christmas day and they were always cheerful and friendly. The food was amazing and no shortage of champagne, we also found the bar charges resonable. Our room had a balcony looking over the sea and was lovely and bed enormous! Special thanks to Jenny, Gabrielle in the restaurant and Melissa on the bar, you were all lovely, thank you and hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel over the Christmas period, I know that the team will be motivated by your praise. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too different future (next Christmas at the very latest).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel with beautiful scenery, really helpful staff and a trip to the spa is a must!! On site parking is really handy too. The breakfast was delicious with fantastic views over the bay. One of the most romantic hotels ive sayed at.
We will be returning :) Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We really do look forward to welcoming back again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very friendly hotel with a fantastic view of Porthminster beach and surrounding coastline .
From beginning to the end of our stay the hotel staff could not do enough for us, hotel and restaurant service was 1st class. The rooms were adequate and clean and having a sea view made the stay extra special.
The 4 day Xmas package was amazing value for the money we paid, food and champagne in abundance and served with a smile. The management team attended the champagne reception and spent time with every guest making sure all was ok.
The hotel management and staff made our Xmas stay a very enjoyable and memorable experience .
Thank You

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that the team here made your Christmas so enjoyable and we hope that we are able to welcome you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Perfect Location

Perfect Wedding Team special mention to Elle Goerge

Perfect Accomadation

Perfect Spa

All in all the best day of our lives and this wouldn't have been possible if it wasn't for the efforts of the amazing team at St Ives Harbour Hotel

Room Tip: Sea View is deffo a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you so much, I know the team will be motivated by your praise. A special thank you to you for chosing us to share your special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Recently spent one night at the hotel for my brother's wedding (held there) the whole day was absolutely fantastic. The staff were faultless. We had a family room overlooking the sea - we did not expect this for a family room! Fantastic . There have been very mixed reviews on the web site and yes some rooms do need some finishing touches / updating but with hotels this is an ongoing project - good hotels never have a 'quiet time' The wedding was a success and everyone we spoke to was having a fabulous time. If you're planning a wedding for around 50 guests the room sizes for the event are perfect - enough room not to feel cramped but intimate enough to hear the speeches! all public areas we used were excellent (having a toddler we used lots of the loos and they were all spotless) Car parking - we'd been warned this was not well marked so knew what to look out for however the valet staff were on hand to shift vehicles about as required and gave us a lift back to the car on our departure. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the rooms overlooking the sea - of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kp2012186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and I hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
307 reviews
1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $139 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing