We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top quality apartments”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have just returned from a week staying in an apartment at the hotel, we had a fantastic time and the apartments really are as good as the website lead you to believe.
We had booked an apartment at the hotel after carefully considering which had the best view/aspect and we were therefore shocked to be informed that the apartment we had booked (No 5) had been sold! We were initially allocated No 7 which looked directly onto the main road into St Ives - completely unacceptable. Fortunately I had a copy of my booking confirmation for No 5 with me and the duty Manager (Des) was extremely helpful and managed to move us to No 1 which had an excellent view and a huge decking area. It seems that many people have booked specific apartments however many have been sold off by the hotel - we were asked if we had been informed which we hadn't. I understand that the hotel are now contacting all who have made bookings for specific apartments - when you are paying the sort of money that the hotel are charging they should have thought this through.
The apartments really are fantastic - very modern with top class furnishings and decor. There is no wi-fi which was a major problem with 2 teenage children and again one of the 'must haves' that the hotel had claimed to provide. Wi-fi is available within the public rooms of the hotel however it meant that our children would often sit in the hotel to 'communicate' rather than being all together - rather against the idea of our family holiday and not what we had planned when booking an apartment with wi-fi!!!
We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and the food and service was first class. The restaurant staff were excellent and the food presentation and quality was top notch.
I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel and apartments as a place to stay in St Ives, apartment allocation and wi-fi aside the hotel was a lovely place to stay with simply fantastic views and just a gentle stroll from the lovely town centre.
I am very grateful for the assistance that Des gave on our arrival, he managed to resolve our problem in a sympathetic and professional manner and his intervention ensured we had a fantastic stay.
We are hoping to return again next year - what more can I say!

Room Tip: Cannot comment on rooms in the hotel - apartments are numbered but I understand that apartments are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samandgary3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Peninsula Apartments, I am so sorry that there were issues with the Apartment you had initially booked and that you were then allocated one which was not suitable for you. I am really please Des was on hand to deal with these issues to your satisfaction and that on the whole you had an excellent stay. I am reliably informed that Wi-Fi will shortly be in place in the Apartments (in the interim period we now have a temporary solution available to the Apartment guests), which will hopefully top off the Apartments to make them the special place they truly are. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    369
    235
    144
    69
See reviews for
230
868
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had an amazing day! Not just because the weather was sunny and hot which enhanced the stunning views but becasue the 'events/wedding team' were incredible.
On the whole the hotel and staff couldn't have done more. The simple but personal touches made a huge difference to us and our guests.
We could not recommend this venue enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the hotel here, and congratulations from us all. I am so pleased you enjiyed your speacial day and we hop to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

very enjoyable stay, wonderful views over Porthminster beach from our sea view room, very comfortable room, slept well,comfy bed, lovely pillows all made for a good nights sleep. suburb airy dinning room ,with lovely sea views for breakfast / evening dining, very good selection of breakfast items, full English breakfast very enjoyable, lovely pastries to finish, . waiting staff were very professional and attentive, which all made for a good start to the day. The new spa facilities were superb, pool and Jacuzzi were very enjoyable, with a lovely sun terrace over looking the beach.
It is quite steep walking from the hotel to the beach or the town.as the hotel is above the main town. car parking was not a problem as they have a new 2 story car park opp`. with concierge parking if you wish.
Although still undergoing a refurb` program there was no disruption or noise to disturb us.
have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for your stay in St ives, we will be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: would deff` rec` a sea view room, a little more money but well worth it, less expensive rooms face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 111Amarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel was nice and my partner and I managed to get a late booking walking off the street. We spent 3 nights. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the bar and lounge area was very comfy and there was a large decking area outside with lots of seating with wonderful views. The room that we had was average but on the whole it was a nice hotel. There is a spa adjacent which has a swimming pool and treatments which looked very good but because the weather was wonderful we did not feel the need to use this facility which was free to guests.Lots of choice for breakfast and recommend if staying there go out of season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eclipse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for the review, we always look forward to receiving feedback from our guests. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was wonderful for you, you really do get to see St. Ives in a different light in gorgeous sunshine. We will shortly be embarking on a complete refurbishment of the bedrooms here at the hotel (start October 2012) which will see them all refurbished in-line with the rest of the hotel. We hole to welcome you back at some point in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was part of a large group of 11 girls (a hen do) who stayed at the hotel for one night. We paid £97 per person based on two people sharing a double room. This
Included dinner, breakfast and use of all leisure facilities. The spa facilities were lovely and a great way to relax. The rooms were good. I had a sea view room which was a little outdated however all the inland rooms were refurbished and the interiors were beautiful. Dinner at the hotel was fantastic. We had a three course meal, each dish tasted lovely and was presented well. We slept well, the beds were very comfy and the sea view room had little exterior noise (except for the sound of the sea which was lovely). However as our room (106) was next to the lobby, any person walking trough the connecting door would cause our door to bang. This was quite disturbing when people walked up the corridor late at night. Breakfast in the morning was great. Hot food was ordered from the waitress, as well as tea/coffee and toast. Cold food, fruit, cereals, pastries, yogurts were all part of a self service buffet.

All in all, a fantastic hotel, great food, breath taking views and situated in the heart of St Ives - we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannahd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we really apprecaite the feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your break, albeit a short one, and am pleased to hear that you will be visiting us again. From October this year we will be embarking on a refurbishment of all of the bedrooms to bring them up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Thank you for mentioning the door banging as this has now been adjusted. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Three friends and I have just had another Spa day at this hotel. Unlike the first time, the pool and spa facilities are really lovely. Problems with ceilings leaking rain etc have obviously been sorted. Treatments again were heavenly and the lunch menu upgraded and first rate. A special thank you to Norbert!! Panoramic views over the bay and a sunny day completed the whole package. Now highly recommended as a Spa venue!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jain O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review following your return visit to the Harbour Spa, I am so pleased that we were able to turn this around for you and we hope to be able to welcome you back time and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Really well appointed public areas and amenities. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the quality of the food was a really pleasant surprise. Restaurant and bar has wonerful sea views. Staff were in the most part helpful and attentive only let down by a reception team that was frosty at times.
Only other downside was our room - 201. Whilst newly refurbished there were stains on the ceiling and also peeling paper, maybe caused by a leak from the room above? Also the room was quite small so why squeeze a super king size be in the space when a king size would have been sufficient? Finally as the room was at the front of the hotel it was really noisy especially first thing in the morning. However as we spent a minimal amount of time in the rooms these were minor negatives in another wise great stay.

Room Tip: 201 - quite small and really noisy. No sea view just the car park and flats opposite the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on this site, we really appreciate the feedback. I know that the team will be motivated by your praise and I taken on board your comments regarding the bedroom and our Maintenance Team will be carrying out some updating very soon. I am so sorry that our Reception Team may have come across as frosty; this is certainly not the image we want to portray to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
921 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HRS, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing