We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive building, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive building, great location”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Great atmosphere and plenty to do, the Tregenna provides for all...Best times to go are when the offers make it worthwhile...normal prices in high season make it out-of reach for most and basically are too expensive for a 3* hotel anyway.....Hotels in St Ives are all expensive in the high season due to location, however, the Tregenna has the best views of all if prepared to swallow the cost....Gardens are well stocked with natural and imported flowers and look beautiful......Kitchen staff have been well chosen and frequently prepare their own dishes which are delightfully fresh and inspiring....The hotel rooms vary from dark basement basics to superb sea-view vistas, but linen and towels are clean and fresh at all times....some updating has taken place since some of the rooms had dated bathrooms and showers a bit worse for wear.....When walking the corridors, the creaking wooden floors remind you of times when historic buildings were properly put together by craftsmen, especially in Victorian times and you can therefore be forgiven to expect Hercule Poirot and Captain Hastings to be coming around the corner any minute........The staff are efficient, helpful and knowledgeable of the area to assist any exploring traveller guests.......If you are to experience any sunshine in England it is most likely to occur in Cornwall and especially St Ives, hopefully this combined with the Tregenna Castle will make it an unforgettable holiday.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Management. at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Atlanticman, thanks very much for your review. We are so pleased that you had such a nice break with us. Your comments have been passed onto the Kitchen team who were delighted. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    820
    429
    216
    139
See reviews for
584
1,454
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

It is difficult to put in to word's what a impact Tregenna Castle had on us.
From the moment we approached the hotel we knew we had made the right choice for our wedding venue, the surrounding gardens of Tregenna, and the beautiful views of St Ives sort of clinched it really.
However it was the staff at Tregenna which really made our stay so relaxed, and welcoming.
We opted for Tregennas wedding package which was excellent value, the package includes the wedding co-ordinator, room for the ceremony, red carpet, drinks package, 4 course wedding breakfast ( fantastic food too), toast master, evening buffet, use of gardens for photographs, discount for rooms, and option of grand piano playing during wedding breakfast.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and we had a large number of friends who had travelled down for the wedding to stay at Tregenna, they were very impressed too, food delicious, also as a guest at Tregenna you get free use of the pool, sauna and gym, 18 hole golf was very reasonable price too.
We would not hesitate to stay at Tregenna Castle again, (maybe for our anniversary) and our friends and family have also said they would stay again.
I can truly say hand on heart I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie1972187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Management. at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear natalie1972187047, thanks so much for your wonderful review. It mean the world to us. We are so pleased your wedding day went so well. We really look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Great location but needs refurbishing looking very tired

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Management. at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear truck7, thanks very much for your review. We are constantly improving our facilities as you will notice from other reviewers who have visited Tregenna over the years. We will continue to do so to ensure our customers have a lovely stay with us. Really please you gave us an overall 4 star rating. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have recently spent a wondereful 3 night stay at the Tregenna Castle. We can find no fault with the hotel, staff and facilities as all were 1st rate. The location with views overlooking St Ives could not be bettered, we were fortunate to have a sea view room so I would recommend you request one. The room itself was clean, large and well appointed with all necessary fascilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful and supplied everything we requested, all this whilst dealing with 3 weddings which did not interfer with our pleasure. The grounds surrounding the hotel are a delight to stroll around and unwind though I must be honest the walk back up from St Ives is a little strenuous as it is quite steep (worth getting a taxi).
Apart from breakfast which again was excellent along with the service, we also ate in the Bistro which had a good menu choice and rates up there along with the good quality restaurants for which St Ives is now justifiably famous for.
We would not hesitate to return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Management. at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Pete_Steph, thanks very much for your lovely review. It’s nice to hear that you had a wonderful 3 night stay with us and we are are really pleased you thought our breakfast was excellent. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2010

No towels on arrival I had to go & ask the housekeeper - whilst she was very apologetic its not good enough.Cord on kettle not long enough, had to leave it on the floor when plugged in. Chipped bath were it had been painted & a black hole where the plug was to be stored. Room very noisy , creaky floor boards from above & lots of noise from ajoining rooms - sound proofing required. Bed not up to much. Restaurant very disorganised. Asked for de-caf tea at breakfast which caused a bit of a panic.Took my own on 2nd day & just got hot water. Final bill on departure incorrect.. Grounds & views lovely but this hotel is trying to be something its not. Very glad we hjad a special offer & only paid half price for a superior room!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrst52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Loved the hotel and views across St Ives. Great walking along the trails through the woods and down to St Ives and the beaches.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingscote26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The setting is beautiful and provides a welcome retreat from what I found to be an extremely busy St Ives, but the room we stayed in was well below the standard I would expect. We stayed in the hotel itself although I know they provide other accommodation such as lodges etc and the rooms are clearly in need of refurbishment. Service was ok, but the manager in the bar and grill restaurant specifically was very unhelpful and appeared annoyed when we showed up at the restaurant checking if a table was available without having made a booking. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunndancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing