We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the whole a beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
West Country, England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“On the whole a beautiful hotel.”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Set in wonderful woodland, Tregenna Castle is a beautiful old building which has been tastefully converted into a modern spacious hotel. The public areas are very nice, well lit, clean and comfortable, and the reception staff ( male) were incredibly friendly and very helpful and welcoming.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.The room was large, with a large double bed. One bedside light was not working, and the inside of the heavy brocade curtains had a substantial amount of mould caused by damp. I appreciate this is an old, and damp building, however, at Tregenna's prices I think it would be advantageous to remove curtains in this state. The bathroom was clean, however, the hospitality toiletries were of poor quality and the paint was peeling- again due to damp and the fact that the Expelair did not work and had not been cleaned for a very long time.
Breakfast was well organised, and our server was efficient. The breakfast buffet was dis- organised though, with fuit and cereals in one area of the room, and the hot buffet in another- very confusing! The buffet had good choices, however, the plate was a side plate and was unacceptably small. I would imagine this was to stop guests from overloading with buffet, however, I saw several guests returning more than once as the amount one could fit on the under sized plates was child like.
In summary, I would certainly return to Tregenna, although I feel it would be good for them to note the issues and maybe address them. It seems a shame to spoil what is otherwise an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    826
    437
    218
    141
See reviews for
591
1,467
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel last week and we were very impressed with the hotel. The Hotel staff are extremely helpful and polite and are always willing to help! The facilities were excellent and the swimming pool was lovely. The rooms are a fair size; some people on here obviously expect a 100 sq ft room for a cheap price these days......reality check please!! The gardens were well maintained and clean and the interior was above average. Not quite sure how people can moan about the interior....please correct me if I'm wrong but it’s a CASTLE built in 1774 not a new 2010 build!!! :Oo Breakfast was good and didn’t let us down...plenty of choice and always topped up...! Would Recommend this hotel to anyone...we had a brilliant time and would DEFINATELY go back! Thanks Tregenna! :O)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicagothard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittlehamholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My family and I stayed for a week in one of the lodges, this is the thrid year we have been here and love it! The hotel is great, yes there are areas within the hotel which may not be to everyones taste, but as a holiday destination the interior of the building should not make a difference.

The lodges are absolutely superb; jacuzzis, sauna, balconies and views. They are also very well equipped with washing machine, dishwasher etc - all very handy with a small family.

We had breakfast a few times and weren't disappointed (although there was a shortage of milk one morning!). The buffet was full of choice and plentiful. The outdoor pools are great - our 2 year old had a wail of a time. The walk into town is a little steep but is well worth it, not only for St Ives but also for the views the hotel has.

I would happily recommend this excellent 3-star resort to my family and friends

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JameshemmingHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

On arrival we thought that we were going to be in for a real treat as the grounds of the hotel are superb with a lovely outdoor swimming pool. However, the inside of the hotel is quite dated in parts. Our bedroom was very disappointing, it looked like it hadn't been updated since the late 80's early 90's - the bathroom was equally dated. It is not cheap to stay at this hotel and found it a bit of a let down. We had just left a beautiful guest house in Devon which knocked spots of this hotel. It is such a shame because the hotel has great potential to be wonderful as it is in a good location with great views.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westmalling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Approaching the hotel I was quite excited as it looked very grand and had great views over St Ives, however that's where the positives end.

The hotel is in desperate need of a refurbishment (and not just sloppily repainting over many year's coats of gloss paint as was in progress while we were there). The place has a feel of a nursing home- very old ugly patterned carpets (sticky in the bedroom), terrible lighting and not exactly a fresh smell. We had a non sea view which faced other rooms with no frosting on the bathroom window. The worst part was their 'bird problem' which meant we couldn't leave the window open without the risk of seagulls flying in and we were kept awake by the noise of them. We had a special deal at 75 quid a night (allegedly halfprice) however I still felt ripped off by this.

Location was goodas only anice 10 min walk to town with a lovely view to st ives. Thegrounds are also pretty stunning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I want to be very thorough with this review because there were things both good and bad about Tregenna but in the end the bad outweighed the good.
Firstly, we are a couple in our 20s who usually have one holiday a year and wanted to stay in Britain to keep costs down - we found the deal on Tregenna's website - £150 for 2 nights - so weren't expecting a posh sea view room just a clean and comfortable room where we could get a good nights sleep.
Arriving at the hotel we were struck by the beautiful entrance and the lovely views down to the sea, the outdoor pool looked very inviting and the golf course and grounds were also very impressive.
At check-in we were greeted by a very polite staff member called Monika (who also ended up checking us out). But when we got to our room (number 87 on the first floor of the castle) we were disappointed.
As I said, we didnt expect a sea view but we also didn't expect a view of a generator and constant smell of bacon (not in a good way!), it was extremely hot both in our room and the corridor outside our room which contrasted with other areas of the hotel which were quite cool. There was also a sign saying we couldnt open our window when out 'due to a persistent wild bird problem' which didnt give us much confidence about opening the window very high while we were in! I was impressed by the size of our double bed until I realised it was two singles pushed together, and the size of the bathroom was good, although all the fittings were very tired and shabby (same as in the bedroom). Not that we were watching TV much but when we did it was so tiny I could barely see what was going on (and that was with my glasses on!).
Anyway we settled in for the night and as soon as dawn arrived (about 5.30am) were constantly woken up by the 'persistent wild bird problem' aka the seagulls which were congregtaing on the roof outside our window where the generator was (maybe because it was warm). so after getting woken early my partner went to use the shower - this was another annoyance as it refused to stay on a consistent temperature and kept going boiling hot and freezing cold without us touching it.
We reported the seagull and shower problem to a woman at reception. We were greeted with 'well seagulls nest outside my house too, there's nothing we can do about it' (fair enough sea gulls are wild animals but she could have moved us to a room where there is not a generator and flat roof outside or at least apologised for the problem) - she was very patronising and dismissive and we felt that had we been 50 years older (like most of the people staying at the hotel) we would have been treated differently. We told her about the shower problem and she told us a maintenance man would have a look. When we got back from our day out we were greeted with a note from the maintenance man who cleverly informed us that you can regulate the temperature of the shower by using the hot and cold taps (wow - we hadn't realised!). anyway, the problem continued but as we were only there for another night we didnt bother to report it again.
We had dinner in the brasserie one night which was very nice (I would recommend the chicken quesadillas) but again we felt we were treated rudely by staff. Upon entering we waited to be seated and despite one waitress clearing a table right near us she just ignored us and seemed to be having an ongoing feud with a member of the bar staff which was definitely evident and stopped us from being attended to sufficiently. Likewise at the end of the meal we had to take our bill to the till because we couldnt get the attention of said waitress 20 mins after we'd finished our meal.
As part of the £150 for 2 nights deal we were meant to have a Cornish breakfast. I don't know what was Cornish about it - it was just a fry up. It was buffet service which we didnt mind but there was constantly a long queue and not enough staff. we didnt get offered tea and toast until we had finished our fry up whereas lots of the older couples seated near us were. The plates you are given are very small (to limit how much you can take from the buffet) and most of the food was covered in grease, although it was ok.
On our second day there was some sort of education conference going on and breakfast was in two seperate rooms with staff having to bring food in from another room - again we felt like we were being treated as second class citizens to the people at the conference.
We used the indoor pool which was very warm and the jacuzzi which was nice.
If staying at this hotel we would recommend a short drive to Minack Theatre and St Michael's Mount which were both beautiful. St Ives itself is nice, although quite crowded in the day and all the shops were shut at night. It is a steepish walk downhill through the gardens in the hotel down to the main road but once on the main road it is less of a hill down to st ives. To get to Porthminster beach (which is sandy and very nice) it is a walk through the gardens then quite a steep but short walk down a lane to the beach. Be aware that this is not pedestrianised and cars and vans come down at quite a speed so you need to have your wits about you!
As much as I loved the look of the hotel, the views when outside and the indoor pool, even at the price we paid I don't think I would recommend this hotel. As other reviewers have said it could do with being renovated and updated. The bedroom was a real disappointment and so was the way we were treated by staff.
This is a real shame, as the location, grounds and facilities give this hotel the potential to be something really special, but the attitude of staff and the clear reluctance of the owners to spend a few quid to bring this up to the standards of most modern hotels leave you feeling like you've been short-changed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The warmest welcome ever ,had Seafood Grill in the Brasserie served by Clare,which was delightful .Gardens & Grounds were stunning with a sea view room over looking the St Ives Bay on a sunny summer day .made it the best local holiday treat ever! Got to mention Emma on reception a happy smiling hospitality lady!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benpanesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
921 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing