We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Plenty of old world charm here. Hotel is in a historic building overlooking St Ives bay,and the grounds and gardens are stunning, with obvious amounts of money spent on their upkeep. Staff are friendly and helpful, food is fine. But Oh dear when you get to your room, it seems like they were converted in the 50's and not touched since. We stayed on a four night Amazon Local deal and paid extra for a sea view room, and while the view was stunning out of the window, the view around the room was not. Very tired and shabby furniture, grubby carpets and badly in need of redecoration. I'm glad we did not pay full price or our disappointment would have been amplified,as this in no way could be considered a cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Sea views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidays1work0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review about our charming resort.

I don’t honestly believe you think that our rooms have not been updated since the 1950’s especially as all rooms have en-suite, flat-screen colour TV’s, tea/coffee facilities and so much more than a room of that period would offer it’s guests.

We agree some of our rooms need some TLC and we continue to invest in a decoration and refurbishment project.

I hope you decide to visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,761 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have reviewed this before and basically nothing has changed ( the place is almost timeless, although some of the parts HAVE seen better days).
The Sunday dinner is the same very practical, filling and delicious meal that I have had there on past visits.
This visit I had the Mushroom and Brie with Tarragon sauce. It was really nice.
The serve yourself vegetables are also nice and the "afters" ( I had Apple and berry Crumble with Vanilla Ice cream), are delicious.
The staff as usual were friendly, efficient and polite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you continue to enjoy our very popular and filling Sunday Carvery dinner.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

An absolutely amazing venue for our wedding. We couldn't have had a better day, and weekend. From start to finish the staff at Tregenna were very much on the ball, professional throughout and supported us through all the hectic planning. The venue itself is beautiful, well maintained, and clean. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous and there is definitely enough to do on the grounds even if not venturing down into St Ives. The location of Tregenna is perfect, with the sea, harbour and beach views your stay is that much more relaxing. The Accommodation was brilliant both in the hotel (high ceilings, spacious rooms with good views) and also in the self catering lodges around the grounds which were extremely well equipped and not far at all from the Castle itself. Tregenna easily catered for all the needs of us and our guests. We truly couldn't have had a better time. Thank you to all at Tregenna, and especially to the Events team who helped us with our fabulous big day! Mr & Mrs Phillips

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review and five star rating.

I am so pleased that our events team and hotel staff ensured you had a fabulous wedding day.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay and would like to wish you all the happiness for the future as husband and wife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Tregenna Castle whilst on a family weekend break in St Ives in May. The grounds and the views are truly fantastic and we were lucky the weather was beautiful that weekend, so we were able to fully enjoy that aspect. However, the rooms were pretty disappointing - very much in need of modernisation, particularly the bathrooms. Breakfast was good - buffet style, decent quality. Service was also very good in all parts of the hotel, whether at reception, in the restaurant or at breakfast. We ate dinner in the restaurant on both nights of our stay, as we were staying half board - the food was excellent on the first night, but the same standard was, unfortunately, not maintained and on the second night, our meal was just average. This hotel could be phenomenal - the ground and views really are stunning, but the interior needs just needs a bit of TLC to be able to in any way compete with the surroundings in which the building sits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

We are very fortunate with grounds on which our resort is situated and our team of gardeners work extremely hard maintaining them.

As has been mentioned many times recently we are making progress in our room upgrade project on those rooms that require it, not every room needs upgrading.

I hope you will visit us again on your next trip to St Ives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were really disappointed with our stay. We had stayed 27 years ago when our older was a toddler so this was intended as a nostalgic trip. We booked 3 sea view rooms, only 1 of which was ok. The 2 others had apparently not been updated in 27 years at least - the enamel in the baths had huge chips and were horrible. One of the rooms was very small and unacceptable, especially given the cost.
On the positive side the grounds are well kept and the views stunning. The staff in the restaurant were also very good. Also there is a really lovely Tea Shop in the village which serves very good gluten free items.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for you review.

I am sorry your recent stay did not meet your expectations, but I can assure you that it has definitely not been 27 years since we last upgraded our rooms.

If you had mentioned during your stay that you were not happy with your room(s) we would have happily looked to move you and your family to accommodation within our 72 acre site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited Tregenna this weekend just gone as we were attending a friend's Wedding. We decided to stay the night as we have a 3 week old baby and thought it would be nicer than having to make the 45 minute drive home in the dark. We are both glad that we did so as it was so much easier having a room to go back to with the baby when he needed feeding, changing etc.

Overall we both enjoyed our stay. We were greeted by friendly staff who were very helpful and polite, the grounds are beautiful and the food both at the wedding reception and for breakfast next morning was very nice.

The only complaint that I have is about our room. My wife booked the room a few months ago and told me that the price was £165 (approx), which I wasn't too happy about at the time as I felt that it was more than we could afford. However, I calmed down and thought 'oh well, it will be a nice break and for that kind of money the room is sure to be pretty special'. Upon entering the room however I couldn't have been more wrong....Its was much smaller than I had anticipated and in my opinion was not worth anything like the money we had paid for it. Although it was reasonably clean, it was still a little grubby and felt pretty tired and in need of a refurb. The carpet was well worn and there were holes and stains on the bedding. The bathroom was dated with areas of rust in the bath, stains in the toilet and a cheap roller blind that didn't work very well.

I don't like to complain and very rarely do as I am generally pretty laid back about these kind of things but just feel that we did not get value for money on this occasion. I know that it is June and we were in St.Ives but £165 for what was no better than a Travelodge room seems unacceptable. I would suggest lowering your prices or making some improvements.

Room Tip: I'm sure that there are nicer rooms than the one we stayed in but goodness knows how much they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernow_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We always ask guests if everything is satisfactory during their stay to ensure any issues are dealt with and to ensure guests leave having had their expectations met. I am sorry you didn’t feel comfortable mentioning anything and instead have used other ways to raise your concerns.

I hope you decide to stay with us on your next visit to St Ives and see the improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The upsides of Treganna are the location, setting and grounds, all of which are beautiful as well as the staff, all of whom encountered were pleasant, efficient, well turned-out and charming. The rooms and public areas I used beyond the stretch of the lobby area are tired, dated and in need of major refurbishment.

I am struggling to recall a worse outlook in any room I have ever stayed in ... arguably unimportant but it certainly made me feel decidedly 2nd class given the location. Assuming that room 61 (5-night stay) is not untypical, it was kept reasonably clean but the furniture, fittings, bathroom and bed fall significantly short in quality, finish, comfort and overall standard one could reasonably expect for the room rate. The lack of air-con is perhaps understandable but opening the window to cool the unbearably warm room one is drawn to the plentiful warnings against leaving it open when the room is unoccupied because seagulls and magpies have been known to enter via the window. Rather than such a warning, why not spend a little bit on runs of composite spiking on the sills in all rooms prone to such intrusion ?? Birds do NOT fly straight into a room behind a lace curtain, they land on the sill first and such spike units dissuade landing rather than harm the birds.

I was just left with the impressions that Treganna is a wonderful, beautiful but under-valued asset requiring investment in the over-priced, shoddy accommodation and outer fabric of the building (extensive weed growth was clear on the sky-line profile of the building) ... desperately sad given the heritage it symbolises and the beauty of the location.

Room Tip: If Tregenna have any recently refurbished rooms, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigbeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We are limited as to what we can do with regards to windows and placing ‘spikes’ on sills due to the fact our hotel is a grade II listed building. So we have taken the only step available to us and advised our guests of potential issues should they decide to leave windows open.

All our rooms are undergoing refurbishment and although ‘Ivy’ may be regarded as a weed most of our guests remark on how this adds to the beauty of our hotel. One person’s weed is another person’s flower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $92 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing