We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, relaxing break and what a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Plymouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, relaxing break and what a view!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I cannot praise the staff enough, everyone we had contact with went above and beyond and are all a real credit to the hotel. Special thanks to Sian who served us in the brasserie and made sure we had everything we needed. Our evening meal was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed breakfast as well. We took the walk down the path in the gardens to St Ives which was beautiful albeit a bit of a hike on the way back! I would thoroughly recommend a sea view as it's breathtaking. I had a couple of spa treatments which were very relaxing and again the staff in the beauty room were friendly and helpful. We had a great nights sleep and a huge room (loved the toiletries as well by the way). My only negative comment to the management would be that the decor is a bit dated, however our room was spotlessly clean and the amazing staff more than compensated for this. We had a wonderful relaxing short break and I'm can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessPink75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

It was our pleasure to provide you with your relaxing break and I will pass on your compliments to our staff.

The resort is undergoing an extensive refurbishment and redecoration project at present, hopefully this will be completed on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    822
    429
    216
    140
See reviews for
584
1,456
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Treganna Castle for our wedding anniversary.

It is a beautiful building set in a breathtaking location just a 10 minute walk from the centre of St Ives.

We stayed for dinner in the Brasserie in the evening of our stay and the food was magnificent. The waiting staff were excellent and no one put a foot wrong.

The room was large and spacious and we had a glorious sea view. The bathroom was beautiful with it's Victorian charm.

We also enjoyed a couple of treatments in Castle Beauty. Again the staff were excellent delivering a top quality service.

Overall we would highly recommend a stay at Tregenna Castle and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed a perfect break with us at Tregenna Castle Resort and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I will pass on your compliments to all our staff, notably those in the Brassiere and Castle Beauty.

Thank you for your 5 star rating and we very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit to St Ives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Room was great - spacious and plenty of storage space. And as for the view! It's certainly worth paying extra for a sea view (or you could end up with a view of a brick wall)!

Customer service, especially Reception and Housekeeping, was beyond reproach.

Breakfast was a buffet, and was lovely. But the evening menu is a bit limited and a tad over-priced, which is our only downer on this beautiful hotel.

A word of warning though: the footpath to St Ives is very steep, which is fine on the way there, but can be a killer on the way back! And Wi-Fi isn't available in the rooms, only the public areas.

But it's lovely there, very peaceful, and we'll more than likely be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwt186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
I am very pleased that you had such a lovely stay with us and that the service you received was beyond criticism.

We are working towards making Wi-Fi available in all rooms and self-catering properties and hopefully this will be completed on your return visit.

Thank you for your 5 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Beautiful location for my cousin's wedding - lovely room. However, we gave them 6 month's notice that two vegans required feeding... and then called a week in advance of arrival... both times we were reassured that it wasn't an issue to provide vegan food.... well, it wasn't an issue for this hotel as they completely ignored us.... it's a good thing that we brought our own soya milk and dairy free spread as there were no special provisions made for us... even at the wedding buffet... so we paid nearly £400 for two nights in a hotel where we went hungry... appalling! We went to Spinacio's in St Ives for an amazing three course meal... for a proper, open minded caterer feeding a vegan is not an issue...

Won't visit Tregenna ever again when there's a veggie B&B in the same road...

Room Tip: Sea views are beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza_Dee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
I am sorry for you feeling that we ignored dietary requests at your cousins wedding and I am surprised that nothing was mentioned at the time of the wedding.

Our experienced chef’s and wedding co-ordinators work extensively ensuring that all dietary requirements are catered for and your cousins wedding was no exception.

We are able to cook to order to meet all dietary needs with ingredients that we have in stock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on a few occasions. Great views across St Ives, very clean and tidy. Nice to have use of pool and gum facilities.

Staff have always been very welcoming and so so helpful. Now use as a regular hotel and base when in Cornwall.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brammers_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am very pleased that as a regular guest staying with us on business trips that you are able to enjoy use of our pool and gym facilities.

Thank you for your 5 star rating.

We look forward to offering you further warm and friendly welcomes on your next visits to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I got married here (April 2014) and it was beautiful. I stayed on my own the night before and the staff were great! Even sat with me with a cup of tea and 5am to calm nerves! Lovely big room with stunning views. Lovely hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckiejoe-canter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your beautiful wedding day review you experienced at Tregenna Castle Resort.

Our experienced wedding team work closely with every happy couple to ensure their fairytale day goes as they desire and your comments are greatly appreciated by them.

I was pleased to read that our staff were on hand to calm those last minute nerves.

Thank you for your 5 star rating and we very much hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Booked out stay here through groupon. It was absolutely fantastic.

The staff were pleasant which was nice, as we are a young couple we usually get overlooked while staff attend to older guests. Not this hotel, always happy to help!

The spa was lovely, my partner and I both had facials.

The gardens and view if St Ives is unbeatable!

Will return!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and comments regarding our pleasant staff at Tregenna Castle Resort.

We don’t believe on overlooking any of our guests and I am sure we will continue to demonstrate this to both of you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing