We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff amazingly friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff amazingly friendly and helpful”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in self-catering in the grounds as the hotel was full for the days we required. This worked out very well. Everything we needed except wifi which was only available in the main hotel lobby. Plenty of room, and lovely and warm, the only bad thing was the wonderful bedroom in the roof had a "skylight" window which was extremely noisy when it rained. We booked the New Years Eve dinner in the hotel - fantastic food, service and atmosphere. The staff in this hotel were exceptionally friendly, helpful and polite and this made our stay extra wonderful. A big thank you to LISA on reception whose friendly and helpful attitude were an absolute credit to the hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are very pleased that the move to a self catering property met your needs and turned out to be a boon. I am sorry about the disturbance from the noisy skylight, but am happy to inform you that wifi is now throughout the hotel and set to be throughout the estate, soon.
Thank you for your review and compliments; Lisa sends you her thanks, too.
Hopefully, we will see you sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    839
    445
    225
    146
See reviews for
611
1,485
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just returned from a short break at Tregenna. This was our second visit and we had a wonderful time. The staff on arrival were welcoming and helpful. On booking I was told we would have to have a sea facing room for £20 extra as a standard room wouldn't be able to accommodate beds for our two little boys. I'm glad we did as the view over St. Ives is beautiful. We stayed in Room 9, which was large, airy and very clean. The beds (double bed and a sofa bed) were very comfortable, and a travel cot was provided for our youngest. We made use of the spa facilities every day. The indoor pool is heated to a comfortable temperature - my 9 month old stayed in for over an hour without getting cold. There's also a lovely children's play area in the grounds and some walks. We ate dinner in the restaurant on the first night. There was a good choice of dishes and the deserts were amazing. Likewise breakfast was very tasty and there was a good selection. The serving staff were friendly and efficient. Enjoyed every minute of our stay and will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_H_T158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your lovely compliments, wonderful review and outstanding rating.
We are very pleased that you regularly took advantage of our facilities and that you enjoyed dining with us.
I am extremely glad that you enjoyed 'every minute' of your time with us and that you will return. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We hadn't stayed at Tregenna since 2001 as we normally stay down in the town but we booked a two night discount break in a sea view room. The room was large, clean and had a great view across the bay. All the staff were pleasant & helpful at all times and pointed out the new wifi access that had recently been extended to cover the rooms. Good selection for breakfast of hot and cold foods and drinks. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MudDazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are pleased that you decided to visit us again after such a long hiatus. I hope that you noticed all of the changes and improvements that have been made since your last visit! And am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your lovely review, compliments and five star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed in Beech Cottage for 10 days from 19th March 2014. The area is beautiful, the cottage well equipped with just a few quibbles; the inventory for the cottage is not up to date, should be checked for each new guest,the main difference was ,stated that there was a vacuum cleaner, There was not. Informed reception who said would get on to housekeeping, No one turned up with a vacuum.
The steps leading down into the cottage from the main driveway were very clogged with dirt, leaves etc. so much that a mat was completely covered, also needs an outside light on the steps side of the building, The entrance doorway outside also had a door mat covered with debris and there was not a mat inside.
Overall the cottage was comfortable and would recommend once these details are corrected.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Twojohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise for there not being a vacuum cleaner available in your property and for wet leaves outside, on the mat. I hope that these issues did not cause you too much inconvenience or distress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for three nights recently which unfortunately coincided with a media festival. The staff were obviously over stretched which showed in the presentation of the food and service. Breakfast was very overlooked except for the toast which was cold and only toasted on one side. There was no menu available and we had to ask for the tea and coffee. The one day we were in the proper restaurant it was a complete buffet even down to the tea/coffee machine. Fish was extra and butter and jams came in little plastic packets. Not what I expected for the price we paid. However our room had a wonderful view across St Ives harbour and was pleasantly large and airy.

The manager did get back to me with the response"we have to make hay while the sun shines" ! ! This made us feel even more under rated as surely we could have been returning guests which we definitely shall not be now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I am very sorry that you took umbrage at my response to your comment card; the quip was meant to be a light hearted aside, not to be taken seriously. I guess that did not work, then!
The film festival contingent paid a commensurate rate to yourselves, and were therefore entitled to avail themselves of the hotel facilities and restaurants as all guests. I am truly sorry that this made you feel 'second rate'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked a family room with no sea view.
Room was 2 rooms together, one room with king size bed and another room with 2 bunk beds.
Room was as expected, very clean and pleasant. But Unfortunately our room had unusual "sweet smell". (? some kind of air freshener)

We did find this a bit too over powering and asked advice from reception. (Otherwise room was faultless, (apart from view from window that was some kind of huge ? tank in front of the window but as said we didn't pay for the view so didn't expect one)

Reception (Rob) was extremely helpful and did absolutely everything to make sure we had great holiday. Due to this smell they offered to move us to a 2 bedroom apartment which was superb! Thank you.

Breakfast was great and hotel it self was magnificent. Grounds and building it self are amazing. Yet it feels very welcoming and family friendly.
Only negative was that leisure facilities were poorly sign posted (as how to get there and slightly on a tired side but still pleasant and nice to use. (with very good opening times)

Had good facilities and activities for kids. All staff extremely helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: family room (87) was slightly dated and corridor had decorating going on. (still pleasant) Only ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, compliments and great rating. I am sorry about the few negative points that you experienced and sincerely hope that they did not inconvenience you too much. I am happy that the apartment met with your approval and that you enjoyed the activities and facilities, though.
We hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from another 3 night break at tregenna , our 6th now and we always really enjoy it. Great staff, breakfast and setting. Would always recommend a sea view in the west wing. I would like to see more wifi coverage in the hotel but I see by the response to other reviews that this is in hand . Keep up the good work tregenna.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudgie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and your review. I am pleased that you keep abreast of our reviews and responses, and are therefore aware of our efforts. Wifi is throughout the hotel now, and will be across the estate in the near future.
Thank you also for your compliments and rating, we look forward to visit number seven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing