We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great food, just in need of some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After a weekend break away with the girlfriend, we both came back relaxed, happy and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself has some amazing grounds and great facilities (swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts etc) and the view especially from our room was fantastic. The room itself along with some of the corridors are in need of a bit of TLC but it wasnt enough to put us off our stay.
The two outstanding features of the hotel were the amazing service at dinner especially from Jose, Katie and Cynthia who all took the time to talk to us, save us an amazing dinner table by the window each night (its the little details that make a stay) and just generally were very attentive and the food was spectacular. For a 3 star hotel this is 5 star food. we both highly recommend the st ives scallops, tr26 fishy, umami of seabass and the cod. As a chef with over 12 years experience I can honestly rate this as some of the best food I have ever eaten. It certainly made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenjaminCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and your many compliments. Jose, Katie and Cynthia were thrilled to get a special mention and send you their thanks, too.
I passed your review to our Executive and Head Chefs who were both pleased by your comments.
We have recently begun refurbishing, reflooring and recarpeting the corridors throughout the main building and will continue until the job is complete.
I hope that you will visit us again and see for yourselves the improvements that we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,566 of 2,758 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked a 3 night mid week break in the main hotel. It is in a wonderful setting, standing above St Ives but within a short walk of the town and railway station. Unfortunately had a nice tidy room (although still being repaired as we entered the room!) but without a view of any kind, so can't comment on the rooms overlooking the sea or St Ives.
We were disappointed in the swimming pool/gym facilities - they were certainly in need of modernisation and re-design - after using the facility on the first day, we didn't bother again
On a positive note. the two meals we had in the Brasserie were of top quality and very good value for money. Also, the staff could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: Always book a sea view on the first of second floors if in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your compliments.
We are very pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and the food to be of a high standard.
I am sorry that you were not impressed with our leisure facilities and hope that it would not deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for a long weekend we used a deal from KGB. 2of my friends had ground floor rooms with a sea veiw whilst myself and my other colleague had a room on the 3rd floor of the hotel.Our shower did'nt work that well as the water was just tepid so i resorted to a nice hot bath instead.The ground room was a lot better tha ours with a lovely veiw but did pay extra for that.
We ate in the restaurant on the Friday evening which was'nt that good the starters and desserts were ok but the main course was poor. The staff were not very well trained but nevertheless polite. The Front of House was excellent as she was having to deal with complaints and also explain the menu to the customers as the staff were so inexperienced .we also had another bad experience on out last night as there was some kind of chemical in the jacuzzi which affected our skin and eyes quite badly , I could'nt wait to get into the shower in the changing area to wash although that was cold!. The young lad on the desk said that something had reacted with either a cream of shampoo which i found rather strange...
The breakfast is very good with plenty of choice Staff were very polite and friendly.The grounds and gardens are beautiful and well keeped, but having stayed in the Lodges on a few occasions we do prefer them to the Hotel
We will definitely return to St. Ives but perhaps go for self catering cottage or Lodge in thegrounds of Tregenna or choose tostay at another hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29JayneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

I sincerely hope that despite the issues with the restaurant and jacuzzi, your overall experience was a pleasant one.
I am glad that you were pleased with our staff and the buffet breakfast. Thank you for complimenting them.
I have spoken to our Leisure Manager regarding the jacuzzi issue; he assured me that the chlorine levels are maintained at between 2.3-2.8, on a scale where 10 is still an acceptable level. He also suggested that when the ventilation, in the pool area is restricted, it could lead to irritation of the eyes.
I hope that you will consider staying with us, in either the hotel or self catering, upon your next visit to St.Ives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay in the west wing sea view number 144. We were really disappointed with the condition of the room, particularly the bathroom which smelt extremely strongly of dampness, so much so we had to open the window and shut the door between the room. The shower was virtually useless, it took 5 minutes for warm water to come through and then the pressure was so low, getting soap out of my hair took ages. My husband is a disabled person with a severe heart condition which causes breathing problems. The smell did not help his condition. In the main bedroom, the light fitting contained a spiders web running across each of the 5 lamps. The cupboard under the tv had a door falling off. The wardrobe contained broken shelving and the doors did not close. The duvet on the bed was too small. It's size was only that of the size of the bed, no overhang so when two people in it, it did not fit. The duvet was a summer weight (end of October)! Generally in the west wing the public areas were not clean, I did not want to put my hands on the fire doors along the corridor. This wing needs a lot of TLC. All seems very dated. I understand this is an old building but that is no excuse for cleanliness, workable fittings etc. on a more positive note. The staff were all very pleasant. I am sorry to have stayed at the tregenna in this room/wing and unfortunately I would not recommend this to anyone. What a shame because their website depicts something totally different, the pictures do not show how dated and mucky it really is.

Room Tip: Do not stay in west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and that you would not visit us again.
Thank you for complimenting our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got back from Tregenna Castle Hotel in St Ives (Cornwall) after having a Sunday Carvery Lunch. It was excellent and despite arriving 30 mins early we were shown to our table immediately. The staff were very attentive and the food was great. It was made even better by being half price £13.95 for 2 people to have a 2 course meal. Check out their website and join their news letter for special offers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank thetruth2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments and for reviewing your Sunday Lunch experience with 5 stars! Our Executive Chef and Restaurant staff were very pleased to hear your comments, and they send their wholehearted thanks.
We are glad to see you made use of our special 60 Hour Sale offer for your lunch, which you quite rightly mention is sent via email by signing up on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a splendid place to stay.
It is a rather plush place, but not overly expensive (especially if you lookout for deals on web sites like KGB or Groupon, etc.).
A room that overlooks St Ives harbour is a must. The room we had was very large with a high ceiling, and had a bath that you could almost swim in.
The food was fantastic and very varied (difficult to make a choice).
There is an air of relaxation and calmness about the place.
While we were there there a wedding took place outside in the hotel grounds, it was a great setting; this would be recommended if you have money to spare.
Obviously no problem with parking and a short distance to walk to St Ives centre, although it is a steep walk back, but worth it.
I am looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the harbour is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJHADLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your 5* review and your lovely comments regarding your accommodation. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant, and that you had a relaxing and calm stay with us.
We have to agree with you that we have a great setting for weddings with such stunning views as ours!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked a short break in a self catering apartment a short walk from the main hotel. The apartment was delightful, comfortable and well equipped - not sure I would want to be more than a couple there with an open galleried bedroom but fine for us.

My only comments would be that the shower cubicles were a a bit small (I'm size 10) and the motifs on the cooker had been rubbed away, so turning the correct section on was a bit hit and miss. Not sure why the smoke alarm goes off when you open the oven door.

We had a problem with the door lock but this was fixed within the hour.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service very efficient.

The location gives lovely views and there are several walks through the estate, though the walk back uphill from the town was tough!

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The self catering apartments look over the golf course which is pleasant, quiet and convenient to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dms2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and for your compliments regarding our self-catering apartments. I am pleased to hear the issue with the door lock was quickly rectified for you.
Our Executive Chef and Restaurant team are pleased with your comments regarding the food and service, for which they both send their many thanks.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,032 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $92 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing