We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lisa on reception saved the day.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lisa on reception saved the day.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Ok. Two friends staying one night for a weekend away from men and children. My birthday too.
Friend had booked a twin room. Both looking forward to a bed each!
On entering the room-it's a double. Back at reception Lisa says no problem and sends us to a new room, a twin.

New room is BAD. Shabby, dark, and NO SHOWER, just a bath.

We call reception. We are polite but firm. This is NOT a nice room, and I cannot remember ever staying in a room without a shower.

Lisa is sympathetic. But they are busy. I mean busy busy: Two weddings, packed to the rafters. She says she'll ring us back.

She rings back. Asks us to come to reception as they have a solution. Off we trot. Lisa then leads us through a beautiful walled garden and we behold before us a self catering HOUSE that is ours for the day and night, at no extra cost of course.

Wow. Our stay was fab. It could have been so awful, if Lisa had chosen to handle it differently. All kudos to her. As she said "if you don't ask, you don't get!".

Very impressive. Thank you Lisa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeppermintPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for you very much for your review and for your high praise of Lisa.
We are pleased that we were able to arrive at a suitable solution and that you were happy.
Hopefully, you will visit us again and things will be perfect from the beginning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    839
    445
    225
    146
See reviews for
611
1,485
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Phoned up to book a last minute family room for 1 night (Saturday) reception was very helpful and explained there was a wedding the same day and the last family room was above the function room and would be to noisy, so we opted for a 1 bed self catering apartment. When we arrived the property is gorgeous, super grounds, super views over St Ives, staff were very friendly and our apartment was clean and welcoming.... Had an evening at St Ives Harbour which was fab. Got back to the apartment for a good nights sleep and unfortunately the beds were probably older than the building, Very uncomfortable and a sleepless / back aching night. Real shame as would of giving 9/10 for the price but would expect comfortable night's sleep. Wouldn't put us off staying again but would defiantly inspect the beds before we settled in. Given the price an average due to the lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Try the beds 1st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P2NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and compliments. I am very sorry that the bed was uncomfortable and disrupted your sleep. I will attempt to deduce which property that you refer to, and have the mattress changed.
I am pleased that otherwise, your stay was enjoyable and that you would visit us again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second visit to the Tregenna Castle Hotel. It sits atop a hill overlooking the picturesque town of St. Ives on the Cornwall coast. Most rooms afford access to the spectacular view but not all, so when you book, ensure you specify a “view room”. The hotel is an old manor house (or perhaps a former castle) and has seen better days, but there is character and charm. Some rooms have been updated while others remain quite dated. The grounds are extensive and feature gardens, a golf course, walking paths and some unique plants. Like all hotels, the Tregenna caters to individuals, groups and large social events. We happened to be three couples staying for 3 nights to see the sights of St. Ives and the Cornwall coast. A stag party the first night and wedding receptions on nights 2 and 3 took place in the hotel. The effect of this was no access to the hotel’s lobby to chat with our friends, no access to the bar (it was packed with the wedding party). Worst of all were the drunken parties that began as the receptions ended around midnight and continued to 3 AM and later. Calls to the front desk had no effect. A request for another room on night two was denied because the hotel was full. Visits to the night manager at 1 AM and 2 AM resulted in sympathy and assurance that he was trying to do something about the noise. It continued. Large social events and individual hotel guests often do not coexist easily. It seems to me that it is the job of hotel management to make it work. The Tregenna management did not get the job done on the three nights of our stay. PS: The wake-up call requested by each of the three parties in our group was not made.

Room Tip: Confirm the room you have booked is a "view room". Avoid the rooms over the lobby and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am extremely sorry that the bacchanal of some our less considerate guests caused you such disruption and chagrin. I am also sorry that our night manager was unable to curtail their revelry, despite his best efforts.
As you mentioned, not all of our rooms have been renovated yet. However, we are moving through the hotel addressing any rooms, bathrooms or common areas that require attention.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that we can impress you, by visiting us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the less favourable reviews of this hotel, I'm left wondering if perhaps some people had unrealistic expectations. It doesn't aspire to be top of the range but it does have some great advantages e.g. the location, the views, and the gardens are stunning by anyone's standards. It also has some great facilities e.g. two pools, a gym and a Spa. Our rooms were huge, comfortable and well appointed, as were the bathrooms. The public areas were well maintained and the staff, without exception, were helpful and friendly. We had one or two minor issues and these were dealt with promptly and to our complete satisfaction. The dining room is huge and therefore doesn't have much atmosphere; that is something the hotel could maybe put on its to do list. That said, the food was always tasty and nicely presented. I would definitely stay at Tregenna Castle Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apt611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your objective and kind review. Thank you also, for your comment regarding realism and for your compliments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would come back and visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a most enjoyable time. Accommodated in most luxurious Lodge, every whim anticipated, so good, convivial, escape from the 'hum drum' of ordinary life. 5 * for sure!

Bit of a difficult time getting back down to our lodge after evening at hotel, due to insufficient lighting of pathway.

Room Tip: Not obvious 'double room' occupancy. Plenty of space, but ingenuity needed to realise potent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your flattering review, kind compliments and outstanding rating. We are extraordinarily glad that you enjoyed the lodge so much and sincerely hope that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in room 60, large comfortable room, clean and above average for a 3 star hotel.
The view over St Ives from our room was beautiful, well worth the few pound upgrade, the grounds and walks superb, and the fact you can walk through the grounds to St Ives itself is a bonus... Beware it is a steep path, so a struggle if not a good walker.
Good value for money, and we found the food and staff all very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and for specifically mentioning our staff, food and value for money.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back, one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were on a 3day deal and were very pleased with having booked the hotel. It is ideally situated for us as we like to walk into the town centre and beach/harbour and the grounds are lovely.
The food was very good. The only comment is that the large room does not have much ambience. We ate in the smaller dining room on the last night as there was a wedding on in the main room and it was a far better experience.
The staff were excellent. When we commented that the food had taken a long time in coming on the first night the deputy manager made sure we were happy the next 2 days and it had certainly improved despite the number of people around.
We would certainly recommend the hotel for a break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCC117a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are very happy that your break was pleasant and that you enjoyed walking through our estate and in to St.Ives.
Thank you for your review and for rating us with five stars and also for complimenting our staff and food.
We would certainly appreciate any recommendations that you may make and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
966 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing