We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay in your wonderful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay in your wonderful hotel.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

A long weekend away for hubby's 50th birthday (no kids!). Gorgeous accommodation in a lovely, quiet location with stunning views over the golf course. A wonderful meal in the hotel on Thursday night - served in the bar area which was lively and full due to a wedding that weekend in the hotel. We met some great people and truly enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast is always fresh and tasty, buffet style and everything is replenished regularly so it is always fresh. Think i have put on another stone however walking up anx down the hills helps. Thank you to all the staff, hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stiveslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am really, very glad that you enjoyed another visit to our hotel and wish your husband belated birthday congratulations.
Thank you for your fantastic review and excellent compliments.
I do not think that you put on any weight! I hope that you enjoyed your political debate on Saturday. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    839
    445
    225
    146
See reviews for
611
1,485
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a lovely apartment in the grounds lovely staff at hotel eat there a couple of times. Nice outside pool nice indoor pool sauna steam room ect. lovely views Nice walks in the grounds. A great place to go for a break. Could not be better. Our accomadation was not ready so we were given a free cream tea while we waited

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind and flattering review, for your many compliments and for the fantastic rating.
I hope that you enjoyed your cream tea and I hope that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands National Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were booked into the Hotel for two nights but only stayed the one night due to our accommodation not being up to scratch for the price of £175 per night. Also when we tried to check in we had to wait until 3 pm before we could check in despite the two o'clock check in time. Our room number was 61 on the south side of the hotel, the view from our window was a concrete wall thus us having to keep our curtains closed. The bed was not made correctly we had to strip the bed and there was shaving in the sink. Waitress was not trained stacking our plates on top of each other and taking our side plates before we had finished with them/ Breakfast was like a military operation .

Room Tip: Our room on the south side was facing a brick wall shame as the rest of the Hotel was very nice. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am very sorry that your disappointment resulted in you leaving one night early. However, the rooms' aspect is explained when booking, unless the reservation is made on line.
I am also sorry that you did not care for the method with which the plates were removed from your table. Please bear in mind that we do not boast 'Silver Service' Thank you for complimenting our breakfast service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just had a five day stay at the Tregenna Castle which was wonderful at every level.
The hotel grounds were impeccably maintained and the hotel has superb views over the town and to sea. Our West wing rooms (our first night was in a non-sea view room) were warm, well-equipped and comfortable. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean as were all the public areas.
The catering this year was spot on. We ate in the Brasserie Restaurant once and had a very pleasant meal. Breakfast was excellent with well cooked porridge and beautiful smoked haddock with a poached egg as special highlights. My only small gripe is to ask that the management reintroduce pots of tea and coffee at breakfast time rather than the current do-it-yourself arrangement. I know it would need more staff and staff cost money but it would make such a difference to the quality of the breakfast time experience.
One of the real joys of staying at the Tregenna Castle is the quality of the staff team. It feels almost mean to single out individuals but BIG thank yous to Fred who found time to answer my questions about the history of the hotel and share with me fascinating facts I had never known about the past in St Ives; to Fiona in the Brasserie whose quiet, unshowy, friendly efficiency made our morning coffees and afternoon teas so very pleasant and to Illona in Castle Beauty who retains my wife's vote as the very best beauty therapist anywhere.
We only got to Cornwall once this year but we had a wonderful almost magical time at the Tregenna Castle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and flattering review and for rating us with five stars.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and are particularly grateful for your compliments, and for the special mentions. Fred, Fiona and Illona send you their thanks.
Pots of coffee and tea are available at breakfast, and will be served to your tables, upon request.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Tregenna Castle Hotel. The location is wonderful, with lovely views over St. Ives. The hotel has very nice, well kept gardens. We an outdoor and indoor pool. Although its possible to walk into St. Ives from the hotel its an extremely steep climb. We are fairly fit, but did find the climb back to the hotel hard work.
The hotel is in need of some decorating. Our room had a lovley view over the sea, however the bathroom was very old fashioned and in need of updating. Our bed was very uncomfortable.
The reception team were effcient and friendly. But the restaurant service was chaotic and slow with a complicated billing system making it wide open to making errors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your compliments.
We are tackling the decor and maintenance issues throughout the hotel and will continue to do so.
I apologise for any inconvenience that you experienced whilst dining in our restaurant and have passed your comments to our Restaurant Manager.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

we tried a groupon weekend and had the best time, perfectly placed and beautiful, Food was fantastic, everyone was really friendly and helpful

went back in August just used the faciitlies(pool and golf course) perfect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOOTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are really, very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and that it prompted you to return and take advantage of our facilities.
Thank you for your review and the excellent rating. I hope that we will see you here again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went to St Ives for the first time, and stayed in Tregenna Castle. From gardens to views, the set is very impressive, whilst you drive into the hotel and you admire the view, you really cant beat the location. Restaurant - Food and Service were very good indeed, we decided to bring our kids along to the evending meals, and staff couldnt do enough for you. Food Quality was also very good, and not that expensive. We stayed in one of the cottages, which sometimes can be difficult to find, but once we knew our way around, everything was quite easy to gain access to. Walking distance from st Ives, however bare in mind the walk back, which will be up hill for 20min. Would recomend this hotel and will no doubt go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are extremely pleased and grateful that your inaugural visit to St.Ives was spent with us, and that you and your family had a great time.
Thank you very much for your lovely compliments, your review and for rating us with five stars.
We are thankful for any recommendations that you may make and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing