We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This location of the hotel is amazing. It's perched up on the top of a hill overlooking Saint Ives- the views are fantastic! The grounds of the hotel are really well maintained and there are so many lovely places to sit around. The walk down to Saint Ives is lovely.The hotel looks amazing from the outside, it's a beautiful old castle. Inside is not as impressive and the rooms were just average but I didn't feel let down since the location and outdoor areas made up for it. We got our room for good value though so if I had paid full price I probably wouldn't be quite so happy. Breakfast was very good and the staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are extremely pleased that you took advantage of our beautiful grounds and tranquil setting. We are also pleased that you felt that you received value for money.
Thank you for your review and your compliments. I hope that we will see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,690)
There are newer reviews for Tregenna Castle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,679 - 1,685 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

The views are amazing from the castle and the self catering rooms were clean and roomy and perfect for our stay. Great exercise walking in and out of town! You can walk off your fish and chips no problem! Looked at prices online but then decided to call and got a much better deal. We will come again. Loved it.

Room Tip: Very eclectic mix of accommodations...worth researching for one that suits your needs.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATRIPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are pleased that you managed to maintain your exercise regime during your stay and that your self catering property was ideal for your requirements.
We certainly hope that you will come back and visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Booked for my Wife's birthday as a surprise. Was a little concerned after seeing some reviews but its a large place, and people rarely take the time to compliment so as a law of average it always be the unhappy campers who make the most noise. We had the best experience possible. Staff where lovely from the moment we pulled up. We was early for check in, and was prepared to be turned away and asked to come back but nothing of the sort. Really welcoming, chatty and smiley. Room was a complete delight, really large with lovely views. St Ives does look stunning lit up at night with the room lights off looking over. Very inspirational! We ventured into St Ives that day, got back to a lovely warm room. We had eaten out that night but had a few drinks before bed in the bar. Seemed a good rate for drinks, not over priced, and a decent selection.
Breakfast next morning is a buffet type affair. Was welcomed again, shown to our table and advised how breakfast worked. We was visiting Rick Stein for lunch, so wanted to stay light, but everything we had was perfect for breakfast.
After a day in Padstow returned and was in 2 minds if to eat at the hotel or wonder down to St Ives, Seemed a shame to eat at a hotel when St Ives was so close, but after a hectic and busy day exploring thought it would be nice to stay at the hotel for dinner. Dinner was every bit as nice as you would get in a first class restaurant in St Ives. We had a starter and Pork Belly for a Main. Well cooked and well recommended. Although the dining room is large, it somehow managed to have a intimate feeling. Staff again friendly, attentive and helpful, but without being over bearing.
Another excellent nights sleep and it was time for breakfast and check out. Again, breakfast excellent. Very very small point, me and my wife was up fairly early on the Sunday, and breakfast did not start until 8:30. It would seem a good few others where also up, so a queue quickly formed once 8:30 arrived. It was dealt with well, got seated quickly and another great breakfast. It would have been ideal if breakfast started slightly earlier on a Sunday, but its such a tiny point, it no way bothered us. Gave us chance to walk around the grounds.
We have already decided next time we stay in Cornwall we are staying here. 10/10 from us. Well done guys, and thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 60 was large with great views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottp1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your lovely, kind compliments.
We all hope that your wife's birthday went well and send her belated good wishes.
I am extremely glad that despite reading some of the more defamatory reviews that we have received, you came to your own decision and made the long trip down from Battle to visit us. Thank you.
In general, our reviews are positive, but as the saying goes, 'you can not please all people all of the time.' We do try our hardest, though!
We fervently hope that you will venture down to Cornwall again, as hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in a lovely room - very clean and beautiful views - We enjoyed a meal in the Restaurant which was well presented and enjoyable and breakfast was great - If you are staying get a view over the town and harbour

Room Tip: stay on the west wing
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doberhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, your rating and for your compliments.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Amazing views but this beautiful old lady is tired and unloved inside!! We had booked a premium rate room only to be disappointed by its similarity to an Asylum(with matching bathroom) we were then allocated another room,again with beautiful views but filthy bedding,so upsetting. The receptionist was very helpful but not at all surprised by our disappointment, we evenhad our deposit of many months reimbursed. The owners need to visit The Celtic Manor in Newport South Wales as they pitch it to the Golfing and Spa Clientele !!! Thought we'd booked into the wrong Hotel but sadly not!!!

Room Tip: Don't !!
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Frankly, we are quite disappointed that having spent no more than a hand full of minutes with us, you deigned to rate us with only one star and then shamelessly promoted another establishment.
You were refunded your deposit as a gesture of goodwill. There was no other reason.
Upon your departure you asked us to impart a message to the wedding party that you were here to attend, you were leaving due to 'family problems', this message was duly passed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 2 children last year and our beds turned out to be a double bed and a dirty and uncomfortable sofa bed (we weren't told this). The sofa bed was so uncomfortable, it ruined our holiday. We complained and the lady behind the counter offered a refund which was crazy - everywhere else was fully booked so where else could we stay?
She had clearly heard it all before and was quite terse.

When we went to breakfast in the morning, the man in charge took rudeness to a new level; he basically asked us what we were doing there.

To cap it all, the evening meal in their restaurant was dreadful. My wife had what can only be described as a saucepan full of slop but at a silly price.Go into St. Ives for evening food - there are some good places to eat there.

Lastly, it's noisy - there appeared to be a wedding reception every night.

On the good side, the gardens are nice but that's it. Overall, this is the worst place I have ever stayed when paying that sort of money. I left here with feelings of (a) being ripped off and (b) the staff not giving a monkeys.

Room Tip: Make sure the room doesn't have a sofa bed advertised as a "double bed". Believe me, i...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anonymouse463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We are very sorry that you feel so strongly about your stay, but wonder why, if it was as awful as you claim, you waited almost a year to write a review.
The timing of your review, its similarity to another and the fact that it is your first seems beyond a coincidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The sweeping drive, the grounds, the spectacular hotel front and the panoramic view over St.Ives were amazing in themselves but the west wing sea view room in which we were staying took our breath away. There were two weddings at Tregenna whilst we were there which raised our concerns about possible noise disturbance but we did not hear a thing; what an amazing place to get married! The gym was adequate for a hotel and the two pools looked clean although we did not have time to venture in. Plenty to do at the hotel if you so choose or just sit and watch the world go by. The walk down to St.Ives is steep (seems steeper coming back up funnily enough) but well worth the effort. I can't say enough about how lovely this place is but can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Amazing view from the west wing and very quiet. Maybe worth checking on booking that you are away f...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerensa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your wonderful compliments.
Tregenna Castle is a genuinely fantastic place to get married, so if you are interested, please give us a call!
Thank you for rating us so highly and please do come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
956 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
891 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $135 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing