We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tregenna Castle Resort
Nearby Hotels
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$393
$303
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Hotel(St Ives)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent(St Ives)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,836)
Filter reviews
2,836 results
Traveler rating
1,074
900
466
239
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,074
900
466
239
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest wingself cateringleisure facilitieslovely groundswoodland walksea viewindoor pooltennis courtssteam roomhotel groundsbuffet stylefull pricereception areaoverlooking st ivesspecial offerthe main hotelbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
1,863 - 1,868 of 2,836 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotels best feature is by far the location.Its a very old grand building so don't expect modern facilities,although the hotel are constantly at work updating areas.We have been visiting for over five years now and always book a west wing sea view room,which are probably the best rooms here.The rooms are a little dated and tired in areas,but are always clean and cosy.The bathrooms are very basic and we have always found clean and serving the purpose for what they are meant for.When we first started coming the break fast wasn't that good but we have noticed an improvement over the last 2years,well cooked and not greasy,always hot and fresh.A fantastic location and pleasant walk down to the town.If you spend your holiday going through every thing with a fine tooth comb then you will probably see small faults such as a bit of peeling paint or a door that's a bit squeaky,but this is a big old building what do you expect,we've never been disappointed such a fab location, clean and comfortable great views don't listen to too much negativity,we always book when they have deals on also so it's a pleasant little break that doesn't cost too much.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderfully objective review.
Thank you also, for your loyalty and your compliments.
We truly appreciate, and are very grateful, that you notice that we constantly strive to improve all areas of our hotel.
We sincerely hope that it will not be too long before you visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

we had a cheap weekend break with Groupon. The stay was lovely and the hotel busy. The food in the restaurant was good and so were the breakfasts.Our only moan is that for some reason our room wasn't serviced the last evening so we had to request someone to come and change the towels , replenish the drinks . The added bonus was that a car club were staying the weekend and on the Sunday there was a display of classic cars which was great.The receptionists were extremely helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubymaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers and that you enjoyed your weekend.
The car club visits us every year, with their collection of classic cars, and is always a delightful treat for any car enthusiast.
Thank you for your review and compliments. We hope that we will see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Absolutely stunning location! The hotel was beautiful, bags of character and charm! Breathtaking views! Outstanding service, we felt totally welcome from beginning to end. Really good value for money, breakfast was included which was perfect and very tasty! Our room was lovely, best nights sleep ive had in a long time! We will be back soon for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gdoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to post a review and for rating us with five stars.
We are all very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and sincerely look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Through the gates and into a wondrous parkland atop the hill looking down over the distant town and harbour. Through the golf course, past the tennis courts and the Castle ahead. Quite superb, until....
Pity about the innards, pretty average if more than a little worn-looking. Still, meals are fine, the golf is OK etc. But the grounds and the view. Well those make the rest pay for the effort of going so far.
And don't get carried away by the walk down the hill to the town and beach. Just remember you've gotta get back again!! (And apart from the dead of winter it's not much fun finding a parking spot in St.Ives.)

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the upper sea view floors...breathtaking over St Ives bay and the hotel golf course running below. Otherwise--forget it even on the seaview ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GenuineJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for posting a review and for complimenting our grounds and food.
We hope that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here previously but didn't eat here and our room although adequate the view was of the back wall. This time we had a sea view double room which was spacious, warm and welcoming.
We ate here two night and the food was excellent as was breakfast, the staff are friendly and obliging. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudgie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review and for rating us with five stars.
We are extremely happy that you were able to have a sea view room, this time, and that it met with your approval.
Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and the food. The Executive Chef sends you his thanks, also.
I am pleased that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews