We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scolding Hot or Freezing Cold shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scolding Hot or Freezing Cold shower”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights during a recent visit to the area. The room we were allocated was on the first floor and was good size and very clean. The bathroom was in need of an update and it proved impossible to achieve a comfortable water temperature for a shower.Some sort of problem with the design of the taps meant that I had to decide between a freezing cold or scolding hot shower.

The bed was uncomfortable, the mattress was worn out and the bed itself was too small for two people. It was very noisy during the night as well, and it was impossible to get a good nights sleep.

As mentioned by others, the grounds of the hotel are extremely well maintained with stunning views over St Ives, beautiful gardens, great little par 3 golf course and are a joy to walk around, had the weather been better we could well have been tempted by a game of golf and tennis. The gym and swimming pool area was well maintained, and they even have a squash court!

The restaurant was average, the food was good, but the dinner service is letting it down. Enthusiastic staff but with a lack of attention and organisation.

In summary: great location, fantastic grounds and sports facilities, but the rooms are in need of an upgrade.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review Matt, it's very helpful to know if there are any problems so that we can look into them. I'm sorry you were not happy with your room and we will look into the issues that you note. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, grounds and facilities though and I do hope that we will see you again soon to stay in a different part of the hotel or in one of our self-catering properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    828
    440
    219
    143
See reviews for
598
1,473
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Tregenna is a lovely castle-like resort hotel that caters to family holidaymakers, and includes an impressive golf course, tennis courts and spa, gym and function facilities. The rooms are spacious enough and adequately comfortable, service is adequately friendly, and parking is included. We chose this hotel for a number of reasons, the most important being the views and heated indoor pool promised on its own website. Our stay was adequate, but not what the website led us to believe, and therefore, overpriced. When the hotel misrepresents itself like this, it is disappointing, and it is worth reviewing it for other travellers.

This hotel boasts "award-winning" views, and indeed it is situated atop the point overlooking the village of St Ives, its harbour, "The Island" preserve, and Carbis Bay. However, do not expect that you will be able to enjoy these views unless you pay extra for a room with a "sea view" (we were told there were no more available and our view was of a brick wall and some machines), a weekly self-catering cabin, or by playing a round on the golf course or tennis courts. The hotel could make use of their views by having common areas/ lounges overlooking the sea, but it does not. The common areas consist of a lounge overlooking the parking lot, a long groun-floor corridor with no windows at all, and a small upstairs alcove with two windows overlooking the brick walls and air conditioning units. To enjoy the view on the ground floor, you must sit in the bar during its opening times, so during football matches and when it is dark, or pay to have a meal in the Brasserie.

Also disappointing was the pool. Tregenna Hotel's website advertises: "The indoor pool is heated to 29°c and is designed in a conservatory style. Swimmers can enjoy this sub-tropical environment as the climate and humidity is carefully optimised and controlled. The pool is cleaned daily and the water is tested every 4 hours to ensure crystal clear water clarity. A relaxing atmosphere is created by selective floodlighting, comfortable seating and poolside canopies."

Unfortunately, none of this is true. The pool was a cool 17 degrees, the jacuzzi was perhaps one degree warmer. The temperature in the atrium was even lower, the pool itself being allowed to heat the atrium as there was no other heating on, so the "sub-tropical environment" was a cold atrium with plastic plants scattered here and there, and a tepid jacuzzi and pool. The "crystal clear water clarity" was foggy at best, and the chemicals used to make this clarity burned eyes if you just sat in the atrium taking in the cold steam. The "comfortable seating" consists of about six metal cafe chairs. The steam room was warm-ish, not hot, and there was some steam if you stood up very tall, near the ceiling. If you use the mens' changing room, you have to go from the pool through the weight-lifting room (kept at a balmy 12º), but you were not allowed to go through if you were wet, so you have to stand around and catch pneumonia while you dry off enough to cross the weight room and get to the changing room.

Breakfast, included in the hotel stay, is taken in the function room that also serves as a dining room in the evening, and looks onto the atrium pool and the overgrown back roadway. The atmosphere and food is that of a summer camp, not really a hotel - it is not terrible, but could certainly do with some improvement. If you like fat sausages, beans, piles of fried and scrambled eggs, and some stale cornflakes, then you are in for a treat. If you like to have a good cup of coffee, fresh juice, a selection of breads and yoghurt, then you will be disappointed. You can enjoy your fried meal to the morning talk-show radio that is blaring in the background and be escorted to your table gruffly by staff who are so busy rushing about that guests might seem the last thing on their minds.

This was not a bad place, but could surely do with some updating, and certainly cleaning the black, green and red mould from the bathroom showers. It was a disappointment only because it so misrepresented itself in its website summary. Otherwise, it is a little overpriced, but a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G00berz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I am sorry that you feel that we have misrepresented aspects of our Estate, it is certainly not our intention to do so.
However, I feel that some of the issues that you raised were unfair and in some cases untrue.
It is quite clearly stipulated, in our tariff, that sea view rooms are slightly more expensive than non sea view rooms.
Our breakfast fare is of the highest quality, the sausages are just that; sausages, they contain some fat. I disagree that our cereal is stale and that our Restaurant staff disregard our guests.
The pool may be a little cooler than 29c, at times, but is certainly not 17c, the sea is only a couple of degrees cooler than that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked at the last minute so arrived in some trepidation having read some disparaging reviews. We have stayed in the hotel many times but this was our first venture into the self-catering experience at Tregenna. On arrival our cottage was made available to us early when I explained that we had driven overnight. We stayed in New Vow Cottage, a three bedroomed, two bathroomed 'upside down' property. As we went in we were hit by the heat generated by the oil central heating - welcome given the sub-zero temperatures outside ! The cottage was spacious and clean with facilities and equipment for eight people. In a garden location, we had the peace and quiet we were looking for. It was close to the pedestrian gate so made walking to and from St Ives easy. Not so close to the hotel facilities but you can't have everything ! I have read reviews saying that the properties offer 'basic' facilities but I would ask ' what more could you want ?' I certainly don't intend spending time creating in the kitchen when I am on holiday. Having done the self catering option for many years when my children were small I welcome the 'basic' as there is less to worry about. In the winter Vow Cottage is a Cosy, comfortable, warm base to return to at the end of a day exploring. I can only imagine how pleasant it would be in the summer with it's many windows open to the sea breezes and views. We hope to return to take advantage of it's outside areas and gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annarlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. I'm delighted you had such a lovely stay having ventured to our self-catering from our hotel. We have such a range of accommodation that it's great to see guests trying out different ways of staying with us. We hope that you will come back and experience the sea breezes and views for yourself this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

we stayed here on Friday 15th March through to Sunday 17th March.
The grounds in which it stands are stunning and it made for a very good background for wedding snaps.
We enjoyed a lovely evening meal on the Friday evening and met some lovely people who were attending the same wedding as ourselves, the following day.
The breakfast on both mornings was very good with plenty of choice and was buffet style.
The walk into St. Ives is quite steep and would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties.
We enjoyed a lovely wedding on the Saturday and the food was very good.
My only gripe is why, with such a large wedding party, do places like this only put one barmaid on to serve.
The poor girl was even having to fetch her own coins, when she ran out, while leaving disgruntled guests still waiting at the bar.
In the end, most people where leaving the wedding reception to get drinks from the main bar and there was even a queue there because there was only one member of staff working that bar.
it amazes me that they do not invest on more staff, for one, to keep people contented, for two, to maximize profits.
Overall a very good stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.
Did not use the leisure facilities, but had a walk around them and they looked fine.
we paid £99 for a double room for 2 nights through a voucher website, which was excellent value for money, but don't know what the normal cost is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We're pleased that you were able to join us for a wedding - we have a fantastic backdrop with views across the bay, so I hope the happy couple had a wonderful day. I'm sorry you felt that our bars would have benefited from more staff, it's something that we will look into - your feedback is very helpful thank you. I hope that you will visit us again soon, do keep an eye on our website and social media as we often have special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Must be the best location in Cornwall especially from the sea view top floor rooms.The hotel itself is a old castle with a long private driveway with plenty of free secure parking something that too often is a problem in Cornwall.The room we had was large with a queen size bed with all facilities
The breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choices and all fresh local produce it was the best bacon and sausages we have had in a long time.We used the gym and spa facilities whilst there and again they could not be faulted.The clearly marked walkway through the private gardens down into St Ives was most pleasant and easy going although we had a taxi back at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K9Jaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for that lovely review. We think that we have the best location in Cornwall as well - although we may be a bit biased! Do visit again soon, as the walk through the grounds will be full of flowers and our gardens are open all year to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I returned last week from a three night break at Tregenna Castle.
We did not pay full price as I saw it advertised on Groupon and upon phoning the hotel they agreed to match the price ,without me having to purchase the Groupon voucher.We did pay an extra £20 per night for a sea view and it was worth every penny.The room we were allocated was on the second floor of the west wing and the views were absolutely stunning.
Our room was very large and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.The bathroom had not yet been updated but this was not a problem as it was clean and functionable.
Breakfast each morning was superb and the service from all the staff we encountered was exemplary.
On one rainy afternoon we ordered afternoon tea, which was on an offer of buy one get one free and it could not be faulted.The scones were warm and fresh and we were served plenty of jam and cream.
As mentioned by others, the grounds of the hotel are extremely well maintained and are a joy to walk around, had the weather been better my husband could well have been tempted by a game of golf.
All in all we both enjoyed our time at Tregenna and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette_price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for sharing that. I'm delighted that you had such a lovely time and we all hope that we will see you again very soon! Keep an eye on our website and our social media for special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from a few days stay in a self catering lodge at Tregenna Castle. Accommodation was great value bought through Groupon. It was well furnished, clean and even supplied with dish washer tablets. If I was to be highly critical I would say the decor could do with being modernised but apart from that it was very good.

The hotel grounds are beautiful with stunning views over St Ives. Beautiful gardens, great little par 3 golf course and generally well maintained. Looking forward to seeing it again in May when then flowers are out.

I walked through the hotel but didn't actually use any of the facilities but am planning on doing so in May. First impressions are very good.

Great location with a bus route right outside for people who don't like walking up hills, Tesco superstore around the corner and 5 min walk to the St Ives, St Earth Branch line which is a must train journey.

All round good value stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inlineml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
What a helpful review! Thank you for sharing your experience as I think that many other guests will find those tips helpful. I'm so pleased you liked your visit and we're looking forward to seeing you in May when our gardens should be blooming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
942 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing