We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay at Tregenna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Tregenna Castle for 4 nights for a short break. We paid extra for a sea view which was worth it. The bed was very comfortable, on suite well stocked as was the 'tea tray'. The decor was in keeping with the Castle - very clean and maintained. All staff were very obliging and friendly, especially in the restaurant which was always impeccable. Every request was catered for and the food was of a very high standard. A walk of about 10 minutes all down hill brought you into St Ives - if too tired to walk back a no. 13 bus will take you back, we were told, but we took a slow walk. We would definitely stay again if we find ourselves down hat way again. Thank you to the Reception staff for making us welcome and making our arrival and departure so trouble free.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and that everything met with your approval.
I have passed your compliments to on our kitchen and to the reception staff, who send you their thanks.
We all sincerely hope that you will give us the pleasure of visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs serious investment of both cash and sympathetic renovation!
Everything was adequate but a little disappointing, staff were lovely and breakfast was good.
We upgraded to a sea view room, which was small with rattling window and no dressing table.
The bathroom was freezing, again due to rotten window,and the bath was badly scratched.
We had got a half price deal so paid £60 for a sea view room and breakfast-we wouldnt have paid full price!
Its an old fashioned hotel with a lot of charm but in need of some tlc and upgrading.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and for your advice.
We employ are team of variously qualified maintenance staff, who are continually upgrading, renovating and refurbishing throughout the hotel and Estate. Although, there is still work to do, we spend an inordinate amount of money annually, addressing these issues.
There are no windows in any room or self catering property that are 'rotten'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful castle which is accesses through security gates and a long driveway, we stayed in a beautiful room with a four poster bed which was most comfortable with large windows overlooking St Ives Bay. The staff could not do enough for you, so friendly, breakfast was good- self service which I believe they has just switched to, overall experience was good, I cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Sea views as they are the front of the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for your compliments. Thank you as well, for rating us with five stars.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your visit and that you will come and stay with us again.
Just for your information; we ordinarily have a buffet style breakfast although, occasionally, under special circumstances, it is plated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Out to lunch for Mother’s Day.
Decided to book Tregenna Castle in St Ives as Mum had been recently and really enjoyed. Arrived a few minutes late and found parking a bit of a problem, (the rotary club had booked and some sort of car sales was in progress) squeezed into a spot. We were in the Godrevy dining room on table 8, next to the window. I had a good view over the gardens and the bay as far as Godrevy lighthouse. The dining room setting is fabulous and spotless. We all opted for the carvery although the Mother’s Day menu looked so tempting. A choice of turkey, beef, steak and fish with all the appropriate trimmings, very well presented.
We all enjoyed our meals, two had turkey, and three had the beef. We all agreed that the only slight let down was the roast potatoes that felt and tasted like frozen spuds. Desserts were lovely and rounded the meal off just right. I had the crumble and custard and the portion size was perfect
The meal for five came to £ 104.00 including drinks. We will be back. Soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukoneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We all hope that your mother had a fabulous day and are happy that you all enjoyed your dining experience.
I have spoken with our Head Chef, and whilst he apologises for the potatoes, he assured me that they were made fresh on the day.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here for 2 nights in February with my mother and father in law. This was a Groupon deal and was part of my in- laws Christmas present. To be fair it was £99 for 2 nights with breakfast. We had read the reviews on here and decided to go with an open mind. As most reviewers have said the drive up is amazing and it really is a spectacular property. On arrival we parked at the front and stayed in the car whilst my husband went to check in. He came back rather speedily and said there could be a potential problem, on the Saturday night they had a last minute function and were worried about noise in our room and were giving us an alternative option with chalets positioned at the rear of the hotel. After inspection of both room and chalet my mother in-law decided she would rather take the room. The chalets seemed great to us but it was her trip! My husband managed to haggle and we had a complimentary bottle of wine for our inconvenience, we should of been told prior, especially with a young child. Our rooms were positioned at the front of the hotel overlooking the entrance. The interiors were clean and tidy, yes, the bathrooms are completely outdated but did the job. Our room (75) was extremely hot even though we turned the radiator off and kept windows open (curtains shut - birds). On the first night we thought we would try out the pool, again dubious about reviews. I can honestly say, as did everyone else unfortunate enough to to be in there that it is absolutely freezing! There is no way that it has 29 degree temp. We really loved the setting, a big greenhouse effect but it was far, far too cold. Please take this on board Tregenna. yes, we got charged 50p for towels but would happily have paid £1 to be able to swim in some relevance of warmth. We also decided to eat in the restaurant that evening, they have a set menu for £22. What they fail to tell you is that certain items have a supplement (steak-£10+). To me that isn't really a 'set' menu. Had pasta, it was ok. Service was very good and attentive. Breakfast following morning was great, wonderful waitress (Sian?). Function on the Saturday night that was 'last minute' actually had an advertisement on reception, an army boxing match! Obviously a low key event! The breakfast room was quickly turned in to a boxing ring with seating. We went out for dinner and came back at 9.30, hotel was heaving. Turned out not to be a problem as in our room didn't hear a thing. What was a problem was breakfast the following morning, we arrived at 9 and were told we had a long wait for a table as last nights boxing guests had taken so many rooms ( again, not so last minute). We waited with a party of 6 behind us having an even longer wait........ When we did get a table there was no service as the day prior, no waitress taking tea and toast orders and above all, juices empty! After around 15 minutes the guy came out with 3 jugs of juice but these were washed away by the queue, they couldn't keep up with demand. Bad show and they obviously were aware of their boxing bookings and should have staffed accordingly. It was ok, were blessed with beautiful weather and had a lovely walk through the well kept and beautiful grounds to get to St Ives which is a stunning harbour town. Book any harbour side restaurants early as we got caught out. Great art galleries. Tried to work out who the 'Basil Fawlty' is that replies to these Trip Advisor reviews whilst there but not sure if I could pick him out. Sure he will also be as witty to us......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break from Tregenna Castle and had a very enjoyable time.
All the staff were extremely friendly and pleasant and very helpful. Our room was very warm, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and very good service. The walk down to St.Ives through the gardens was very pretty, but coming back not too good if you have bad legs as it is extremely hilly. Our break was very reasonable as we booked through KGB deals and it was very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreenp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for rating us with five stars.
We are pleased that you consider us value for money and that you had a pleasant experience at Tregenna Castle.
We hope that you will visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had two wonderful nights at the hotel last week. Very grand, and comfortable! Our room was very clean and warm, lovely sheets! Fantastic view and gardens. The breakfast is amazing, and our evening dinner was delicious. But what made it for us was the service from all the staff, nothing was too much trouble, and all we met were very efficient and pleasant. I must say the spa facilities are a real letdown and really need updating. Especially considering the competition in the local area. Come on, sort it out! We were in room 165 - please note the curtains don t meet and we could not open the bathroom window as the sash was broken. And yes, the floors do creak but embrace it as part of the character of such an amazing building!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We are extremely pleased that you had a great time and that you enjoyed your meals and the service.
I am sorry that you were disappointed with the leisure facilities, we do have plans to update/renovate the pool area in the future.
Incidentally, we do not have a room 165, but if it is 65 that you are referring to, our maintenance team will address this issue.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $105 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing