We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for my partners birthday in February and whilst you cant fault the setting and the hospitality the hotel does need updating. We got there at 5.00pm and tried to shower at 5.30 to find that there was no hot water, we called maintence , to be told it happens at this time and we would have to shower at another time! There was also no hot water in the morning,but this was the only flaw in the stay. The breakfast was amazing and the food in the restraunt was some of the best we have had. Overall a lovely stay , shame about the hot water!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am extremely sorry to hear about the hot water problem. Sometimes, at high volume times, it runs low. Alternatively, depending on your room's location, it may take longer for the water to reach your tap. The boiler is located deep in the bowels of the hotel.
We sincerely hope that this issue did not cause you too much inconvenience.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,690)
There are newer reviews for Tregenna Castle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,786 - 1,792 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We took a two night break to this Cornish castle hotel. It sounded lovely on the website, but, oh dear, the room was horribly tatty. The bathroom probably hadn't been updated since the 1960's. the bath was losing its enamel, and the shower was a curtain drawn across the bath. The loo was cracked and the seat didn't fit, and there were damp marks on the wall and rust round the base of the towel rail. In the bedroom there were great chips off the paint on the old fashioned radiator. The whole effect was definitely NOT shabby chic, just shabby. Staff were friendly and helpful generally, and the breakfast was good - a buffet, including croissants, pains au chocolat, fresh fruit etc. We had paid £75 in advance for a Valentines dinner dance. There was a red rose on each table for the ladies whic was a nice touch. Food was fine if rather sparse, but we wondered where the 'dance' bit was. There was a man playing country ballads on a guitar during the meal, who packed up and left at 9.30. No dancing! We were disappointed. The position of the hotel is lovely, and we paid extra for a sea view. The grounds are beautiful and I suspect more so in the summer. The swimming pool is a good size and we enjoyed the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Sadly this is not somewhere we would return to, nor would we recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loulou490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your compliments.
We are very sorry that your room did not meet with your approval. We will be addressing the issues that you raised through a programme of systematic maintenance, dealing with a room ata atime, then moving on to the next that requires attention.
I am sorry that you feel as though you will not visit us again, and hope that given time you will reconsider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beautiful setting in lovely grounds, Tregenna is a gem.
Spacious room, well maintained throughout our stay.
Breakfast & dinner excellent each day. Sensible wine prices and friendly staff.
The maitre D' runs the dining room like a military operation.
Thanks Tregenna, see you again soon.

Room Tip: Dont moan about the lack of view if you haven't paid for it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeriGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent and succinct review and for the five stars.
I sincerely do hope that we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We took advantage of the taste of Tregenna, and was pleasantly surprised at value for money.

Bedroom was not one of the better sea facing rooms, but was of a good size and clean - a little bit in need of updating in the bathroom, but no dust, and for the money a good comfortable room with TV, and coffee / Tea facilities.
The old built in wardrobes had there own large and noisy charm, but plenty of space for all your needs.
Rooms were refreshed daily, and if a problem was identified it was fixed quickly.

The breakfast and meal package was very good - breakfast help yourself to as much as you wished and a general good selection, if they did not have something, ie Porridge, we asked and it was provided.
The first evening meal was part of the carvery choices, and the food was superb.

The second noght we paid for the a la carte, and my steak was cooked to absolute perfection, better than some french steaks I have had recently, my only complaint here was the bread roll had to be ordered, and I have never had to order a bread roll before to have with an a la carte meal!!
My wife was vegetarian which had limited choice on the menu (this needs to be reconsidered please chef!!) however a alternative was found to stop my wife having to have the same again on night 2. The free bottle of house red was spanish and just passable!!

One of my only concerns and it is my style, that I understand this is a holidy hotel, but please please introduce a men must wear collared something for evening meal, people turning up in t shirts and hoodies for an evening meal, do not bode well for a pleasurable dining experience.

The swimming pool was a let down, it was cold on the first day, and to find it in the first place was confusing, and whn you get there it is something like out of the flintstones - it had no life or atmosphere, it really needs a facelift, it was somewhat bland!! did not use again as the water was always cold....

So despite a few areas of improvement, a very worthwhile stay - give it a go good value for money

Room Tip: Pay extra for Sea View
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weary-Traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed and objective review, we are extremely pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you as well, for your compliments regarding the food. I am happy that an alternative vegetarian meal was arranged to accommodate your wife. The Executive Chef sends you his thanks.
We understand your sentiments regarding dress in the dining room. However, whilst we request 'smart casual' and do not accept ripped or outright shabby attire, we feel that our guests are here to relax and, in general, would not appreciate being dictated to.
We have plans to modernise the pool area sometime in the not too distant future.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Breakfast was excellent - a very wide selection. Rooms looked a little dated when we arrived but had the best night's sleep for ages - duvet looked thin but was exceptionally warm, we unfortunately had what we think must have been an adjoinging room as there was a locked door between us and the next room - the only down side was that the guest next door were obviously on a 'dirty weekend' and were quite vocal about it LOL. Windows did get condensation but that's the joy of an old building with no double glazing, but the view over St Ives was outstanding. Reception staff and staff in Castle Beauty very friendly and helpful. I would definately return to this hotel - such a beautiful building. You must take the woodland walk down to the town it really is lovely :)

Room Tip: Get a room in the West Wing with a Sea View
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penmain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind compliments.
I am sorry that your neighbours caused some disturbance, we would have asked them to be more considerate, had we been aware.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went on a long weekend to St Ives and stayed in the self catering apartments (plen an dinas) overlooking the golf course.

The accommodation was lovely, clean and spacious. The mezzanine layout with the windows in the roof added to the charm. The kitchen was well equipped and the room warm (we went when it was -3 out and the room felt warm very quickly). A downside was the tv was old, although some of the apartments had flat screens. The stereo was also old and did not have an ipod dock. The sofa transformed into a bed which was uncomfortable and squeaky. Two powerful showers in both the upstairs and downstairs bathrooms. The room is very quiet.

The grounds are beautiful and the walk down to the beach wonderful, passing through waterfalls, palm trees etc.. a word of warning though it is steep !!!

We didn't use the spa whilst we were there because we did not like the look of it, the gym is in a dingy corridor, and you have to go up cold, grey concrete steps to get to the small pool. The steam room and sauna both looked old and uninviting. There is also a charge to hire towels !

Overall it's a great place to stay, we did not use the hotel so can not comment on the actual hotel, but what we did see when checking in looked nice. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If self catering ask for an upstairs apartment.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We are glad that your apartment, in our Plen-an-Dinas complex, met with your approval.
We are in the process of upgrading the televisions throughout our seventy self catering properties, to flat screens.
Thank you very much for posting this review and for the objective comments and the compliments contained within.
We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner and I just returned from another fantastic stay - w/e of 18/2/13 (our 3rd stay)- excellent room, big, warm and very cosy with wonderful views overlooking the grounds and bay of St Ives. Excellent breakfast, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Ideal location with excellent facilities. If I had any complaint that would be that there was only wi-fi available in reception area and the brassiere, which at times was full with people wanting to do the same thing..... use their laptops/i-pads etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We are really, very pleased that you continue to come and visit us, thank you for your loyalty.
We do plan on extending our WiFi coverage to include the entire hotel and many of the self catering properties.
We sincerely hope that you will grace us with visit number four, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
956 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
891 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $135 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing