We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff at the Hotel were Superb, nothing was too much trouble. We had a meal on the first evening of our stay in the Brassiere which was Delicious. The Hotel has Spectacular views and we were fortunate in having Room 140 which had a Magnificient view over St Ives. We enjoyed the Full Breakfast each morning which had everything you can wish for (we didn't need to eat again until the Evening!).
I would definitely recommend a stay here and to pay for an upgraded room which we did. The only down side was that the bathroom did need a makeover although it was clean and functional.
Overall the Staff really made our holiday. We paid £99 for 2 nights B&B on a deal and another £40 for the upgrade but what a bargain. Thank you Tregenna.

Room Tip: Pay extra and book a room with a view (Room 140 excellent but Bathroom does need upgrading).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianemackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post a review, we really appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for complimenting our staff and the cuisine and for rating us with five stars.
As you well have read, in previous responses, we will be attending to any bathroom issues as part of a programme of scheduled maintenance.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would recommend us to others.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of another visit from you before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 2,734 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tregenna Castle. An amazing building, which has maintained a classic style within. Food and service was great.

We would definitely recommend a trip to the Minnack Theatre on the coast as well, as it was incredible!

Thank you for a enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We are very glad that you both enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to take in some of the wonderful attractions, in the area.
Thank you for your kind compliments and for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

just come back from tregenna for the weekend what a fab time we had! Had a sea view room, no 140 the room was big. Well the food was a little expesive but well worth it! The hotel itself is really clean, the staff couldnt do enough for you. Wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We hope that your anniversary was a special day and that you had a great time.
Thank you as well, for rating us with five stars and for your lovely compliments.
We hope that we will see you here again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

What could be better than waking up to the view of St Ives out of your huge picture windows! Great location - great big rooms with tea/coffee making facilities and very comfy bed although bathroom could do with a bit of updating. Impressive entrance and elegant bars/restaurants and very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Easy walk through the gardens into St Ives weather permitting. Overall lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much that you rated us with five stars, thank you.
Thank you also, for your kind compliments and for posting this review. We are elated that you would visit us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked via Laterooms.com and saved 50%, we stayed for 2 nights on the 29th & 30th December, leaving on New Years Eve. We changed rooms from 98 to 120 and paid a £20 surcharge as 120 has a sea view. It had a beautiful view over St Ives and on to the sea.

Hotel was very comfortable, excellent buffet style breakfast. The rooms were nice and clean. The bathrooms were a little tired and could have done with repainting. There were several black damp spots coming through in our sea view room and the bath silicone was going discoloured in places. The wifi was only available around the Reception area and dining rooms, we did comment on this and the Hotel responded saying that it is in the pipeline to cover the whole hotel. The beds were a little soft, but I suffer from a bad back, so I do prefer a firm mattress anyway.

Room Tip: A £20 surcharge gave us a sea view room, we stayed in 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

We are pleased that you managed to take advantage of one of the special offers that are presently available, and we hope that you had a pleasant stay
Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to post a review.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a weekend getaway to Tregenna Castle Hotel courtesy of a voucher deal otherwise would not have known about this jewel of a hotel as have just moved from New Zealand to the UK.

Upgraded to a sea view room once we drove up the driveway and saw the stunning views!! And so glad we did. Just wish I had listened to all the reviews saying upgrade to a sea view earlier. Lovely to wake up to those sea views in the morning.

Room was lovely and large with plenty of light with a massive double bed. Bathroom was very clean and tidy. Slightly dated but this is to be expected with an older hotel. Just added to the character and everything worked as it should.

Had a meal and drinks in the hotel resturant and bar. Food was fab and came out quickly, would recommend the mussels!!!

Thank you for a lovely stay, hopefully will be back very soon!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tazzle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Welcome to the U.K. We are very pleased that you discovered us, too!
It makes us extremely happy to know that you had a great visit and are grateful for your wonderful compliments.
Thank you for posting a review and thank you for rating us with five stars, we really appreciate the acknowledgement.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to Tregenna Castle for a Romantic night away and it lived up to all expectations, I have always wanted to spend a night in a Castle and the Views were Fantastic the Facilities were Great, it was family friendly, Couple friendly, and everyone smiled nothing was too much trouble. The Room OMG! It was amazing everyone should stay at least one night in a castle just so they can soak up the history, and we cant wait to go back this time for a longer visit just so we can experience all the things we didn't get time to do. oh and the food wow! I'm a non meat eating gluten and wheat free diner and I didn't even have to ask for anything special as the menu was so varied I could choose freely without worry, as there was such good choice.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking St Ives Bay which was just lovely and if views are a must for you choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison1009894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your rave review, it was an exhilarating read!
We are very happy that we exceeded your expectations and that your 'night in a castle' was as success.
I am particularly pleased that despite your aversion to meat, gluten and wheat, you were still able to select a meal directly from our menu. Our Executive Chef was very happy to read that.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $87 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing