We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If travelling to St.Ives DO NOT BOOK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If travelling to St.Ives DO NOT BOOK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location is very good even on a rainy cold day. From the outide impressive,but then you enter!
Staff at reception are helpfull.
On entering the room along some well worn carpets ( wooden floors...that creek on every step), it starts. A piece of soap the size of a 5p coin, and shampoo/shower gel in two little bottles,with the added bonus of a ceramic bath chipped and black mould around the sink.
It gets better when told to book a table for dinner.
The menu is to say limited, and here I have to say the cook must be as well, cold plates with semi warm something on it.
The bar has no local beer,or wine sadly.
If you are travelling from Eastern Europe,you might just get some response.

After finding the main car park the entrance is found at the backthrough a partially rotten door.

This hotel needs some serious changes in Management and money invested in it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cornboy495040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are sorry that we did not live up to your, obviously high, expectations.
We are addressing the carpet and squeaky floor issues that you raised.
We understand that you may have been disappointed but find some of your comments unnecessary and offensive, especially your reference to Eastern Europeans.
Incidentally, the soap is more akin to a £2 coin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    809
    423
    214
    138
See reviews for
579
1,434
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Magham Down
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just checked out of the Hotel after 3 nights.
Very good service and helpful staff have made this stay enjoyable.
Our only gripes are the Bedrooms and en-suites definitely need updating and modernising,
Our bed was a little uncomfortable ( personally)
And most annoying was the very poor shower and its pressure ( which is really a main factor when showering)!!
I am sure that when they get around to addressing these things that the Tregenna will once again be a " Force to be reckoned with"!!!
as the great "Arnie" said...." I'll be back".......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazzaMaghamDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased that the service that you received and our staff made you visit so enjoyable.
We will be addressing the shower and any other issues through a scheduled programme of maintenance.
We are very happy to read that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

the lovely other half suprised me with a meal out at Tregenna's own Brasserie. upon arrival we were greeted almost immediately and shown to our table. the decor was perfect - clean, fresh, crisp linen with modern ornaments dotted around. i had pub style garlic mushrooms to start whilst other half had tempura battered king prawns...both were out of this world!! then we decided to opt for the largest, most expensive steak....think they call it a Cote De Boeuf (or something like that!) and i have to say it was cooked perfectly, and worth every single penny....amazing!!! only complaints, if really any, would be that we went to dinner at approx 6.15pm and there was only us and another 4 people dining...however at approx 7pm (mid way through gigantic steak) the restaurant literally filled up with people....so as you can imagine the staff started to flap a little and we were waiting to choose a dessert for about 22 minutes... apart from that minor thing the food was lovely, and service was good. we both opted for Chocolate brownie in the end for dessert, again it was perfect. well worth a visit! see you in the New Year Tregenna :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leah2378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for such a flattering and complimentary review of our Brasserie restaurant and for rating it with five stars.
We are very glad that you had a pleasant and enjoyable experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed from 23rd-27th December for the Christmas package.

Overall, we enjoyed the trip. The hotel is clean,and the staff helpful and the food was good. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The beds were comfortable, and facilities generally good.

A few minor criticisms/improvements...

1) As mentioned the decor was a bit dated and could do with a lick of paint.
2) Wifi is only available in the reception area and could do with being extended to the bedrooms and lounges
3) The pool was lovely but a bit cool
4) A covered smokers area would be appreciated
5) The floorboards in the halls and bedrooms were very creaky.

Despite this, generally a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and are grateful for your compliments.
With regard to the issues that you raised; we are attending to the areas of the hotel and rooms that require a little TLC through scheduled maintenance. This will include the squeeky floor boards! And we do have plans to extend the WiFi coverage to extend throughout the hotel and areas of the self catering properties.
We wish you a happy and prosperous new year and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We only live four miles from Tregenna Castle Hotel but after having had many delightful meals, pamper days and my parents recent 60th wedding anniversary celebration, we decided to have our Christmas break here. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was huge as was the bed!! All very clean and adequate with all the extras including a gift of a Tregenna wine stopper which was well received!! Our highlight was the staff. We could not have wished for better service. From the moment we arrived we felt looked after with extra towels and milk supplied to all the kind assistance in the restaurant when my Dad and Mum joined us on Boxing Day for the evening. We will defiantly be back to stay. We would recomend this friendly hotel to anyone. It is not ultra modern and could lack certain mod cons for some but for us the comfort, ambience and loving care from the staff far outweighs any amount of extras from a cold modern hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenpengelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review. I appreciate how quickly you acted as I only responded to your comment card on the 27th Dec.
Thank you also, for your lovely, kind compliments and for your loyalty.
We are extremely happy that we could contribute towards the enjoyment of the Christmas festivities and look forward to seeing you again soon.
We all wish you a prosperous and happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went for a weekend just before Christmas as I had been recommended it by a family friend. We stayed in a four poster bed room with sea views and really enjoyed the room - views were gorgeous. The only criticism we would have is the bathrooms aren't as nice as the room. During the evening we used the leisure facilities that although fairly small, were more than enough to accommodate the guests that were using them. We also decided to eat in the brasserie which we were more than happy with. The staff were very attentive, even when it got busy, and were always open to offering suggestions on wine and food from the menu based on our tastes.
Overall, we really enjoyed our weekend there and hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Definately recommend getting a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki_8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review. We are extremely happy that you and your partner enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our facilities and restaurant.
We are also pleased that you wish to visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My fiance and i stayed at Tregenna on the 21st December for one night as a birthday surprise for him. It more than lived up to it's expectations. The grounds are absolutely wonderful even on a grey winter's day, can only imagine how lovely they look in the summer. The walled garden is just beautiful, really like a Secret Garden complete with friendly little watchful robin! We were lucky enough to be given an upgrade and had a fantastic sea view.There was torrential rain that night and the window had leaked a little by the morning but so what, Tregenna has the answer to most things but can't have any control over the weather. The room was spotless and the mattress so comfy that you could have been sleeping on a cloud! After we had returned from our walk in the afternoon we found a complimentary bottle of bubbly in our room for my fiance's birthday! The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful. Our waitress in the brasserie that night was lovely, nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff and they were always smiling. Our meal was delicious and there was a really nice feel good atmosphere over dinner. All in all we had an amazing time and would certainly more than consider Treggenna for our wedding venue in the future. We would like to return every year for my fiance's birthday as it was so special and a nice little tradition to carry on. Thank you everyone at Tregenna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for rating us with five stars. Thank you also, for your lovely compliments.
I am extremely pleased that despite your initial trepidation, we were able to provide you with a pleasant and memorable experience, and that you would like to make your visit a tradional event.
We would be flattered and honoured to be your venue of choice, for your upcoming wedding and are grateful that you would consider using us.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing