We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Were upgraded to a sea view room and the view over St Ives was spectacular. Food is very good and reasonably priced. The gardens are stunning and definitely worth a stroll about. I didn't think much of the gym, bright yellow and full of posers pumping iron. I didn't venture as far in as the pool.
Comments here state that the hote is dated....it's a 300 year old CASTLE!!!! You aren't going to get modern decor in a castle.

The staff cannot do enough to help, Wendy on reception was a treasure.

A railway trip to Penzance is less than £4 for a return trip and very much worth it for the spectacular views - just remember to get off & change trains at St. Erth, or you'll be heading back to St. Ives.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelineIreland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are glad that the upgrade made you happy, the views definitely are spectacular.
Thank you for the compliments regarding the food, the grounds and our staff. It is unfortunate that you did not get the opportunity to use all of our facilities.
Thank you for your review, we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,985 - 1,991 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our first visit to St Ives and we were overwhelmed with the beauty of the place. It's absolutely gorgeous and we loved the restaurants and all the fabulous shopping!
However we found the Tregenna Castle Hotel disappointing, which is such a shame as we'd been looking forward to our visit for a while and were hoping to stay there next year for a longer period after using this visit to 'check it out'.
The grounds are lovely, the hotel's main building looks very grand as you drive up and the view is superb HOWEVER the self catering apartment that we stayed in was inadequate for a party our size. We booked a deal through dealcloud of a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights for £169. On the phone to Tregenna when booking I made it clear that we had 2 children and 1 infant, however upon checking in they'd only put down that we had one child. As the apartment was advertised as having a bedroom and sofa bed we assumed that the adults would have one, the children the other and the baby in a travel cot and we'd be fine. But the apartments are completely open plan and the bedroom is on a mezzanine floor, the apartment is completely laminated and the noise at night was incredible. We left the apartment a full night early as we just couldn't sleep, the sofa bed was not suitable for adults to sleep on and the noise from the fridge, boiler and even the ticking clock echoed around the unit. On the second night my daughter sneezed which woke everyone up. We've never been anywhere as a family and slept so badly, we actually preferred to leave the beauty of St Ives early as we were so tired, it completely ruined the trip.
The apartment was advertised as a 4* and whilst the facilities may attract such a rating, the quality of the apartment would not. There was no bathroom, only shower rooms which had an awful cheap blue flooring. The shower did not work properly downstairs, which wasn't an issues as we could use the upstairs one, but it was still poor. The apartments were very basic and had clearly been built and designed on the cheap.
My husband and children used the indoor pool on the Saturday morning at 9.30am. My husband was shocked to find that he could just walk into the pool area, there was no checking of entitlement to use the pool and considering there is a walkway into the hotel from the main street, this is a huge security risk.
When we checked out the reception staff were uninterested in why we were leaving early. They did comment that the room was unsuitable for a group of our size due to fire regulations. When we checked in, the issue of fire regulations was not discussed so I am unsure why Tregenna let us stay in an apartment that was considered unsafe for our group size?
We will be back again to beautiful St Ives but we wouldn't consider the Tregenna as an option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatsmydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review.
I have spoken with the staff member who took your booking and she has assured me that you did not mention your two older children. The fact that she is the Reservations Manager tends to add credence to her statements. In fact, our Hotel Booking Management System would not have allowed her to make that booking, if you had mentioned them.
You made it clear, when you checked in that your infant was a 'co-sleeper' (which I imagine means that the child sleeps in the bed with you) and that the sofa bed would be sufficient for your other two children.
If you had mentioned any of your concerns to us, during your stay, we would have moved you.
Those apartments were not 'built and designed on the cheap', they are relatively new properties that ordinarily warrant praise.
To gain access to either of our pools one must pass through; the Leisure Centre reception area (indoor pool) or possess a security code to the security keypad to enter a locked gate (outside pool) The nearest entrance, into the Estate, to the outdoor pool is approximately 400m away through the main gate.
We conform to all European Health and Safety regulations and are regularly checked by independant Fire Safety specialist to ensure that we adhere to all Fire regulations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic position, can it be bettered?
Room ok, clean but a little dated and for these days basic.
Breakfast OK but a bit limited (buffet) 3/4 star hotels in London always far better
Staff very good!
Cream tea outside overlooking St Ives - can I say more!
Atmosphere relaxed and easy. no pomp and ceremony

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your review and for your compliments.
We hope that your stay was pleasant enough to warrant a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A short break as a birthday treat,we only stayed 1 night but would certainly return...upgraded room to 1 with a four poster bed..room was ready even though we arrived early.we ate in the restaurant excellent food,reasonably priced considering a hotel.Loved the jacuzzi..would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baileyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We all hope that you had a great birthday and are very happy that you chose to spend time with us, to celebrate.
Thank you for your kind compliments and for rating us with five stars.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very good hotel and good value.
I would particular recommend the restaurant in the evening. We usually dine in one of the many very good restaurants in the town of St Ives itself. However we chose to give the restaurant in the hotel a try one evening as the weather outside was not to good ! The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly helpful and most welcoming. This dining experience was as good as any restaurant we have tried in the town. We therefore chose to dine there on our last night as well and found the same great food and service.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

We all hope that you had a great birthday and are very happy that you chose to spend time with us, to celebrate.
Thank you for your kind compliments and for rating us with five stars.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wrote a review about this hotel, it was not a good review and the manager contacted me after he had picked up a previous email from me, he laid out a plan of action to rectify the problems that had that led to the poor review, he also offered a night at the hotel FOC, we took the offer and booked a 2nd night as a matter of courtesy for the offer, we were wrong, this is a good hotel that offered us a beautiful room with stunning views(not every room will have this of course) but overall with a different pair of glasses on this time due to the room being faultless we spent some time using the facilities in the hotel and i have to say i was pleasantly surprised, the room was amazing, the breakfast excellent, the bar and service was great and we watched the conclusion of the Ryder cup in there (amazing if you are European, not so if you are from over the pond), the grounds are stunning the location A1, i was wrong and happy to admit this, we are getting married in St Ives and we have recommended our guests consider this hotel !!

Room Tip: West wing sea view, breathtaking views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Wow! Thank you very much for posting this review. You have made me, and others, very happy with your honesty and frankness.
Our intention was to attempt to make amends and provide you with some form of satisfaction. We did not expect such a fantastic additional review. We are extremely grateful and glad that we were able to achieve our aim and enable you to enjoy your time with us.
I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Pole lodges command breathe taking views over St Ives Bay. The accomodation is luxurious with well equiped kitchen and utility room. All three bathrooms are en suite. Better than home from
home!!

A short walk takes you on to Porthminster beach or in to town, where there are a good selection of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliamchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for rating us with five stars.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in one of our Lodges and hope that we will see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
976 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $87 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing