We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently stayed at tregenna castle. My family loved the swimming pool and adored the restaurant. it is in a brilliant location and has fantastic view. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and am sure to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you very much for posting a review. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and facilities, and that you would like to return.
Thank you also, for any potential recommendations and for rating us with five stars.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,037 - 2,043 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Efficient and friendly staff. Fabulous views, beautiful and interesting gardens. My single room was very comfortable and a good size as was the bath room. Loved the building itself, quite spectacular on top of the hill, yet the short cut through the garden soon takes you into the fascinating litle town of St Ives. All dressed up to attend a wedding I really felt like the princess of the castle!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celeste K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you so much for posting your first TripAdisor review about us. We are very flattered.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that everything met with your approval.
I am positive that you looked like a Princess as well as feeling like one!
We sincerely hope that you will visit our castle again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our Daughter chose this venue for her wedding reception, date of wedding 22nd Sept 2012, I have to say that right from the start when meeting with the event team 12 months before the date that their attention to detail is second to none, every little thing that is needed is available and they give you all the time they need including free coffee when you meet with them. At this point I want to especially thank "Alex" for all her hard work in putting the reception and eve buffett together for us and for being their on the day to make sure it all went according to plan.

The Hotel is fantastic and you wont get better views anywhere as it looks right over St Ives bay and porthminster beach, add to that large landscaped grounds ideal for outdoor photo's and a manicured 18 hole golf course what more could you want.

The food on the day was perfect and with 100 plus guests everyone was served piping hot food on time with no complaints at all, I am sorry for not praising you all at the Hotel in my speech, but really thank you all starting with the waiting staff, kitchen staff, reception and of course the bar staff who kept serving until we all went to bed.

The room we had was just fantastic overlooking the harbour and beach with a massive main room, seperate cloak room and a huge en suite, yes it cost a bit more than a standard room but was well worth it. Breakfast in the morning again was to a very high standard again all nice and hot and as much as you can eat.

This Hotel in my opinion has it all whether you stay is for leisure or an event such as ours, you wont be dissapointed.

So once again Thanks Alex, Tregenna, and the whole team for making my daughters special day an absolute perfect day.

Room Tip: If your planning an event, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRsCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is extremely gratifying to know that everything went smoothly and that you all had a great day.
Congratulations to the newlyweds and we wish them good luck for their future together.
Thank you, too, for the very kind compliments regarding our staff, the service and the food. Alex was particularly thrilled that you appreciated her hard work and sends you her thanks.
We hope that you can make the trip down from Camborne and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our New Year visit so much that we decided to have an autumn weekend stay. Once again, we had a great stay. The outstanding think is the staff - they are always busy but seem to have time for a few words and are so friendly and smiley! They do make the difference.

The breakfasts are good but the plates were cold. We had a carvery on the Sunday evening which was OK but the beef was tougher than you often get. The food we had in the Brazery was find. Our room (61) was of medium size but adequate although the bed was rather softer than we like. Our friends across the corridor had a palatial one so it does depend very much on luck.

As others have remarked, it's easy to find things that could be improved (pull back the net curtains and you may well find wooden sash windows in need of a lot of maintenance) but our room was clean and recently decorated and the wonderful location, gardens and the gorgeous town of St Ives makes up for any minor short comings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We are very happy that you enjoyed your New Year's visit so much that it brought you back.
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. It is always a pleasure to read such compliments.
Your comments regarding the beef have been passed on to our Head chef for his attention. He should be made aware of these issues in order to pass this information along to our suppliers.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tregenna again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

OK, the good points: (and they are REALLY good points!) the views, the outdoor pool and the staff!
The not so good points: (but I gather they are being dealt with) it's dated, the dining room chairs are way past their best, the room we stayed in was very comfy but had a horrible bathroom with rusty furniture, cracked tiles and a bath you wouldn't want to bathe in which had a really, really, smelly shower curtain.The gym and the changing rooms are not wonderful but the indoor pool is good.
Breakfast had lots of choice and the carvery meal was good, though one of the waiters raced around so much it made you feel you were being rushed when you wanted to enjoy eating a leisurely evening meal.
A special mention to Andy on reception who is a gem!

Room Tip: Try and get an updated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for your review and the kind compliments regarding our staff, food and facilities. Andy was particularly thrilled to get a special mention and sends his thanks.
We have new dinning room chairs arriving next week and are addressing the bathroom issues as quickly as we can.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the food, but sorry that you felt rushed.
We hope that your visit was enjoyable enough to warrant another visit, we certainly hope so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The apartment was very clean and well equipped. Really lovely setting,great walk into St Ives. The staff were all nice, but a special mention must go to George at the gatehouse, What a lovely bloke. Highly recommended, we cannot wait to get back. Dinner at the Sloop Inn is also a must!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are grateful that you found time to post a review.
George sends his thanks and was very happy to receive your compliments.
We are very pleased that we will see you here again. Soon, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed in the castle. Fabulously large room with superbly comfy bed. crisp white sheets, soft bath sheets - and glorious views. Notices about scarey seagulls amused us. A touch dated in decor - bit 80s maybe - but such a happy place. Lovely lush gardens.Food was great - recommend tregenna high tea with scones, smoked salmon & cucumber sandwiches, lavender shortbread for a extremly reasonable £7.95. Breakfast was hearty too. My daughter did the "ooh I must take a photo of that" thing. Staff were all nice, efficient and smiley.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you very much for posting a review. We are extremely glad that you and your daughter had a good time and that you particularly enjoyed the food.
We are grateful for the compliments that you kindly paid to our staff and sincerely hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $95 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing