We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wow Weekend (well Sunday to Tuesday)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Tregenna Castle has the 'WOW' factor, is it such a wonderful place, stunning building and grounds. The rooms & Hotel were very clean. It's worth paying the extra for a sea view room or a Kingsize bed. The Staff were 'FANTASTIC', so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even when I asked to change rooms from a standard to a Kingsize. Had a lovey treatment at the Beauty Salon, again lovely staff. Breakfast was a wide selection of yummy food and you were never made to feel that you had to rush. A totally relaxing experience, enhanced by the Spa, sauna, steam room and pool. Fantastic location for walking into St Ives. Can't wait to go again, waiting for another fab deal :o)

Room Tip: I was a tad dissapointed with the standard room, the bed seemed really small. However, we changed ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Well, thank you so much for your WOW review! We are delighted that we scored five stars and especially pleased that you found our staff so pleasant, they are a real asset to us. Do keep checking our special offers page so that you can find the right time to come back - and we hope that it's soon. Thank you, again, for your high praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,281 - 2,287 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

Had a one day stay at Tregenna as part of our visit to St Ives and really liked it. The sea view was great, and the view of the seaside town was great! We played a game of golf in the morning and it was a lovely walk. Hole 11 has a fantastic view due to the clear day! The bathroom was large and the rest of the room was a good size and fresh (not a stuff castle by far). And be aware that there is a lift, so you don't really have to drag your luggage up the big flight of steps even though it might be closer to the reception area. Food wise, was a disappointment. Food at the seaside town was much much better!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the sea views and our wonderful location. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed here with my Fiancé (both early 30's) for a two night break. Our only complaint was that it wasn't long enough!!
Lovely warm welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
Breakfast was lovely. Gardens were stunning. We had Wi-Fi in our room (113). Lovely walk into St Ives through the gardens.
There is also a nice Pub on the entrance to the Hotel with a log fire. (Cornish Arms, I think).
If we had to be critical then perhaps the rooms could do with a bit of upgrading.... But then they would lose their character.
It would be very unfair to give this Hotel anything less than 5 stars, as we had a great stay.... It may not suit Lenny Henry with his plastic duck, but it suited us just fine!
Big thanks to the staff and management.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

What a great review, thank you so much for your high praise. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much and I have thanked the staff for making you feel so welcome throughout your time with us. As your only complaint is that it wasn't long enough, hopefully you will come back soon and spend some more time at Tregenna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A group of us stayed here for 3 nights in November. The hotel has terrific views and superbly kept gardens. The rooms are basic by modern standards but at the rate we paid nobody was complaining. It is about 15 minute walk into the town which has loads of good restaurants
There is a small indoor pool, sauna and steam room.

Room Tip: We had a room which was overlooking a flat roof - non seaview. It was cheaper therefore. The seaview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJD091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're delighted that you enjoyed our setting so much, we are very lucky to have such spectacular sea views. Do keep an eye on the website for more of our special offers, it would be lovely to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were offered a 'galleried apartment' when no rooms were available. We had a beautiful, spacious, well-equipped space. Could not fault it - even tea towels and dishwasher tablets provided! We had breakfast included which was plentiful - and lots of variety. Fabulous setting, lovely staff, perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Reaaly depends on your personal requirements - ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Wow, Debby, thank you so much for your wonderful five star review! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tregenna so much. We try to be as accommodating as possible and are so pleased that we got it right for you. Do come back soon to enjoy our fabulous views, we look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We booked a room for a Saturday night stay after a wedding at the Tregenna Castle at a really good price of under £60 including breakfast. We were really impressed by the main building, the grounds and the public areas including reception and bars. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a room with an amazing view of St Ives bay - absolutely fantastic. The staff were all friendly and helpful which is always a good thing. The room itself did have very thin walls so was a little noisy and did feel a little old and tired (especially the bathroom - every time we turned on the taps in the bath or sink or flushed the loo, a really horrible loud noise was made), but for the price we paid I couldn't complain at all. On the Sunday morning we had a delicious breakfast then before leaving we took a short (albeit steep!) walk to the town which took us through the lovely gardens and only took 5 minutes. All in all I would definitely recommend it, although with a little bit of money spent updating the rooms it would be superb and definitely get a 5* rating.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OandRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit. We are glad that you took advantage of a special offer and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I have passed on your comments to the team, we are proud of our staff and are glad that you found them so helpful and friendly. We also accept that we need to continue our renovation work so that every part of your future visit will be perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We've stayed at Tregenna before so there were no surprises. A great hotel that consistently delivers good quality accommodation, fabulous food and all with a view to die for. Can't wait for the next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

What a lovely review, thank you very much. We're delighted that you love our sea views so much, they are stunning, aren't they? We really look forward to welcoming you back again soon, do keep an eye on our special offers page for extra savings. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $105 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing